We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Ranked #150 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location - small room”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

For the amount of people in our room there was not much space at all, considering how much it cost to stay there. Saying that though the room was very clean and tidy. Location is very good, near lots of bars, organised bar crawl etc. Breakfast was wildly overpriced, I've found this at other Meininger Hotels also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_Henchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment!

We are glad that you had a good time but we feel sorry that you were not onehundred percent satisfied! You are right about the room sizes. We are offering modern, comfortable and clean accomodations in metropolis for a generally low price. To save a little on square metres is the only way to place value on high standards (faltscreen tv, free wifi...). For guests who need some more space we have a luggage room. Or if you prefer a bigger room we would be happy to show your one of our superiour rooms.

Our continental breakfast buffet for 5,90 Euro includes coffee, tea, bread, rolls, cereals, jam, cheese, ham and much more. We try to keep the costs as low as possible but quality is very important for us. For guests who want to save some money we have a guest kitchen. In the kitchen you can store your own stuff in a fridge and cook for free.

If you have any questions or ideas how to improve our service we would be glad to hear from you again! Thank you for your feedback!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    361
    126
    44
    20
See reviews for
177
133
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hostel belonging to a famous international chain, it is very clean and cosy, with nice and simple twin room and small but clean private bathroom. Position is very goo, close to undergriund and in any case at walking distance from interesting sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etienne_822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much!

We are very happy about your comment and we hope to see you again soon!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here and the place is ideally located for all the key sights within Berlin, close to all the transport links also.

The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was great in the morning and the free wifi a real bonus.

The team on reception very helpful and would recommend this place to people travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrG0ggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your great comment!

We are glad that you liked our rooms and services. We hope to see you again soon!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It’s 30 seconds away from the S1/S7/S25 and 5 mins walk from U-bahn Oranienburger Tor.
Berlin dome and museum island are easily walkable.
Friendly and helpful staffs. I like the design of the rooms. Stayed in female dorm and double room.
The breakfast buffet is a plus. And free wifi accessible in the lobby and rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your rating and your nice comment!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was travelling in a group so was staying in a dormitory-type bedroom, which were surprisingly roomy and very well decorated. There were two bathrooms (though not every room has this) so there could be a person in WC and someone else showing, which made things very easy for us. The beds were comfy and the breakfast room was great - lots of variety and very clean. Staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English. The front desk was very professional and the waiting area was stylish and functional. The location was great - there was an underground station on the doorstep and a tram passing straight past the door. Lots of restaurants in close walking distance and the courtyard was surprisingly peaceful considering how close it was to the street (though not accessible by the street).
Only downside was the lack of air-con. I was there in a heat wave which made the room uncomfortable, especially with the number of people in it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much! We are very happy about your comment!

You are totally right. During last summer it was very hot! In our superior rooms we have air condition but if you prefer to stay in a dormitory we are offering ice cream and cool drinks as well! :-)

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here, with a group of stags, in early August.

The rooms are basic and it's really a hostel type set-up, although a step up in terms of decor and quality. Beds were quite comfy but the lack of air-con was a bit of a killer especially as Berlin was having a heatwave when we stayed.

Front desk is good and the staff were polite and well informed. Numerous fridges for food and drink, which you pay for as you take them, and a little courtyard, ideal for a quiet beer in the afternoon sun.

Location is great - we managed to walk everywhere we needed to go.

I wanted to give it 3.5 stars but couldn't stretch to 4, so 3 it is.

Would I stay again? No, but then I don't normally stay in places like this. if the cheaper, hostel like set-up is your bag, then it's perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment!

We are glad that you had a good time in Berlin! It's true- the last summer was unusual hot!
But we have superior rooms with a nice gallery and air condition. So for you next stay we would be happy to reserve one of those rooms for you!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice hostel in a good location, very accessible to the city centre by foot and also with a station right on the door step. Only downside was our twin room was very small - with two single beds pushed together and not much space for too much luggage. All and all had everything you need and free laundry services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your comment!
You find us in metropolises only, so we thought: The guests are the whole day on tour
anyway, so we can focus on a great location, a comfortable mattress... and save a little on the square metres. But if you need some more space for your bags you can use our luggage rooms for free.

We hope to see you again!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#81 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#170 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Address: Oranienburger Str. 67/68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing