We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Ranked #151 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for four nights. The location is great. There is underground station and bus stops just beside, and you can even have a walk to the museum island. There are several good restaurants and cafes within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherriewqh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks a lot for rating us!
Our location is indeed excellent, walking distance to most of the main sights and attractions and many restaurants, bars and cafes down the street.
Why not check out our other MEININGER Hotels around Europe? Maybe Brussels, Munich or Salzburg?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    355
    125
    44
    20
See reviews for
174
132
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Purwokerto, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel for a reasonable price is having clean and spacious (superior single room), bed is uniquely setup upstairs half of the room height with bedsheets clean bright white. Hotel is best located in quite surrounding, in the front of hotel you can easily find tram stop (Oraninenburger-strasse) and subway station (S-bahn Oraninenburger-strasse) and a walk away to U-bahn station (Oraninenburger-tor). Very nice breakfast buffet (not included in room price) and the most of all free and fast internet connection and very helpful staffs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reprabowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks you very much for rating us!
We are glad that you had such a pleasant stay and would love to welcome you again.
Next time you`re traveling around Europe, why not check out MEININGER in London or Vienna?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here whilst at a friends Stag Trip. Rooms were basic but very clean.
We had 3 triple rooms and must say they were small but ideal for what we needed.
They hotel is in a good location with links to public transport.
The reception is more like a small coffee shop which is ideal if you like something 1st thing without having to go find somewhere. Don't think I would bring my wife back here as she prefers a bit more luxury.

Room Tip: Triple rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks a lot for your feedback!
Good to hear that you and your mates enjoyed staying at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte.
We try to offer excellent service for little money right in the heart of Berlin with lots to do around and we would love to welcome you again one day!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The location is great, within walking distance of all the main attractions. The rooms are small but practical, spotlessly clean with an excellent shower room. The reception sells tea, coffee and snacks and there are vending machines. We did not have breakfast in the hotel. There was free wi-fi throughout the hotel which was extremely useful. The hotel is full of young people in small and large groups, we were a group of 7 with ages ranging from 24/67, and we never had any problem with noise. There are lots of bars and restaurants within the vicinity.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review!
We would love to welcome you again at MEININGER, maybe next time in Cologne or Amsterdam?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent location, only 10 minutes walking from the most populars places in Berlin. Very small rooms, you can only sleep and nothing more, though beds comfortable enough. And very cheap price, cheaper than you can expect. And perfect for me when I've just lost my job

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krasnevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for rating us!
Sorry to hear that you`ve just lost your job.
When you`re traveling next time, why not check out our other locations like Amsterdam or London?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location of this hotel was completely perfect, right next to the subway and bus station. For added convenience, there is quite a lot in walking distance. We were travelling on a budget and if it hadn't of been so cold we would have been walking everywhere. The road that it was on had plenty of restaurants and cocktail bars.
Upon arrival we were given early check in which was very helpful and the room was clean and tidy and perfect for what we needed. The only thing more that we could have asked for was a kettle so that we could make our own tea in our room, but there was a small cafe at reception where we could buy both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks for a very reasonable price.
We did get breakfast one morning, but were a bit disappointed. It was very busy and the food was subpar. There were lots of cheap food around the area so it wasn't really a problem.
The staff were extremely helpful. Could not have asked for anything better for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klass03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks a lot for rating us!
We are happy to hear that we were able to help you with the early check in and would love to see you again one day!
Regarding the breakfast we offer a rich all-you-can-eat buffet with several choices ranging from hearty to sweet to healthy options and hope to convince you next time.
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

the hotel is at a great location, in front of a subway and bus station. we were three people and the room was very very small: there was barely any space to walk after putting three luggages on the floor. the shower in the morning (around 9am) was kind of cold and wouldn' t warm up, which was really bad considering it's winter. there were all kinds of people: from groups of teens to families with kids. the hotel is more of a hostel than anything. walking down the street of the hotel, there were a lot of prostitutes too. the breakfast is ok, nothing special, no eggs or fresh and warm breads though. there was a power shortage in our room and the staff only solved the problem hours later and they didn't give us towels so since there's no phone in the room to ask for this kind of stuff, you just have to go down to the front desk yourself for anything.

I would recommend it for travelers on a budget that don't mind these type of problems due to its location mainly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudmilaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ludmila,

Thank you very much for your comment!

We would like to apologize for the inconveneniences. Unfortunately we have no chance to compensate those faults anymore but we would be glad to get a second chance. If you would like to visit us again, please send an email to welcome@meininger-hotels.com in adavance. Your satisfaction is very important for us and we would like to convince you that we can do better.
Thank you very much for your feedback!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#111 of 634 in Berlin
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#90 of 634 in Berlin
440 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Address: Oranienburger Str. 67/68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing