We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Conference Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #27 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Big Conference Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

A big 5 star corporate style hotel approximately 15/20 minute walk from the metro station (Zoo). Located in what was the old ‘West’ Berlin in a quiet area but well served by public transport, the hotel is some distance from the main tourist sights and in the evening there is not a lot nearby in terms of entertainment. Bus stop and taxi stand right outside the hotel.

Rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable with the usual amenities and a well- stocked bathroom/shower area. All towels are provided and changed on a daily basis. Tea / coffee making facilities. There is a minibar but items were a little on the expensive side. The wardrobe was situated in the adjoining bathroom, plenty of hanging space and drawers.

The hotel room rate included free use of the pool and gym but the spa and sauna were payable locally (15 euros each per day). Note: In Deutschland, spa and saunas are naked affairs and this can be a shock to us reserved Brits! Nice touch – a separate lift to the pool/spa area, which is lovely when you are dressed in the ‘one size, fits all’ white bathrobe and slippers!

Breakfast is plentiful if not massive, well presented and very good, catering for all tastes and offers cold meats, cereals, hot breakfast items, fruit, pastries etc. Breakfast was taken in different areas of the hotel due to ‘corporate breakfast’ functions taking place at the same time.

All staff are helpful, polite and courteous and overall the hotel offers good value for money – we loved it but would prefer to be more central to the main attractions if visiting again as choice of restaurants and evening entertainment around the hotel is limited. The hotel bar, Marlene’s, is very nice but drinks are very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear JeanRoger1

thank you for your extensive review which highlights many aspects of the InterContinental Berlin. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Due to the aspects you mentioned I would like to point you to our Club InterContinental. It not only gives you access to our Club Lounge but also includes access to our sauna as well as free snacks, drinks and breakfast. Thus, this additional value at a reasonable price may further improve your future experiences at the InterContinental Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    623
    124
    29
    32
See reviews for
360
732
108
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I didn't like my room. Its half window looked immediately out onto a wasteland which turned out to be the roof over the lower floors. The lights in the room were insufficient even during day time. The controls for the bathroom taps and the lights defied logic. The TV was placed in a bizarre location. Getting in and out of the shower over the bath was hazardous. There was a strange buzzing / humming noise that came on every minute or so that became really annoying once I tuned into it.
Next, the location. A reasonably short walk to a major shopping district, but on a public holiday weekend there was not much choice for other places to eat outside the hotel. The concierge recommended a place 15 minutes away in the Tiergarten which I decided against - as a single 'mature' woman with a disability, all of which were obvious to him.
It's an Intercontinental, it's big, but I still expected a higher standard of room and customer care.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Jill H,

Thank you for bringing your experience to my attention. Referring to our furnishing and bath design I have to mention that we have different room categories. You were accommodated in one of our Superior rooms, which are characterized by a bathtub/shower combination and an open interior design with moving elements like the TV cabinet whereas the Deluxe rooms feature flat screens and a separate shower with level access. Moreover, we provide four barrier free rooms.
Unfortunately, we couldn’t convince you with our services this time, but I hope you will give us a second chance during your next stay in Berlin to create a memorable experience.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend with my family, and we all enjoyed it. The service was top rate, our senior suite room was fabulous, and the pool/ spa area was top rate. Will definitely return the next time I am in Berlin. Easy access to shopping, the zoo, and Tiergarten.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear John A,

Thank you for staying with us in our capital. As you mentioned our hotel is centrally located, close to many sights and at the same time situated quiet next to the Tiergarten. It’s really a pleasure to know that we could ensure maximum comfort for you and your family.
I’m looking forward to your next stay at the InterContinental Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed several nights in a deluxe room and generally enjoyed my stay, pleasant, just not great nor perfect by any means. . The deluxe room was a good size, overlooking the Tiergarten (it is right across the street and right next to the zoo) with a small sitting area, desk and television. Good bed and reading lights over the bed. The bathroom was a little oddly arranged and the shower a little small, but it functioned pretty well with decent bathroom lighting, hair dryer, bath and separate shower. There was a good size closet area and space to put the suitcases. The room was generally clean but showing some wear and tear. Housekeeping also forgot to replace something every day during the cleaning, a towel, a glass, etc, a small drawback. on one day I specifically ask to have my room cleaned early or on time since my husband was arriving from the states and would want to take a nap. At 3:30, the room had still not been cleaned-that is simply not acceptable when the room had ben empty all day, with its make up room light on. And the light switches in the entry, room and bathroom did not seem to work together correctly
The breakfast buffet is busy but with some very nice choices. And if you can eat outside for a meal it is very pleasant. The location is fine, though there are more interesting boutique hotels and more interesting locations in my opinion. The bar area was a pleasant place to meet friends and the service was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Chicago60604,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Berlin. Although you were fairly satisfied with our performance, I see that we still have room for improvement. I forwarded your case to the housekeeping team and want to sincerely apologize in their name for the inconvenience during your stay.
In our hotel we have a lot of different room categories, which differentiate in their size and furnishing. Therefore our reservation team is always willing to advise you and find the appropriate room. If you prefer a more exclusive atmosphere I can recommend our Club InterContinental. With a separate check-in and personal service you are accommodated in the 8th floor in our Club rooms and get access to the lounge with free high speed internet, breakfast and snacks. The entrance for the sauna area and the minibar are also included in this room charge.
I’m looking forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights over Pentecost at Intercontinental Berlin and I must say it was absolutely amazing. Club deluxe room on the 8th floor was spacious, minibar well stocked (and included in room price) and the king bed comfortable. The club lounge is one of the best I've ever visited (and I've visited a lot of them). It is quite large with very nice offerings for breakfast and happy hour. But the best of all is the hotel staff. Everywhere - at the check-in, in the club or in spa - the hotel staff is just outstanding. Very friendly and attentive, you feel very welcomed. Dear ladies from the Club Intercontinental, thanks again for the very pleasant stay!!!

Room Tip: Club rooms are extra money worth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Lucentis,

Thank you for your kind words and the detailed description of our Club InterContinental. It’s always a pleasure to read that we didn’t only match our guests’ expectations but exceeded them. Because of all the benefits and exclusive atmosphere many guests experience our club with its services as a hotel in a hotel - and that’s what we want. I believe this is the reason why you perceived our lounge as the best you’ve ever visited.
With pleasure I will forward your review to our staff and hope to welcome you soon.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

It's a five star hotel so all is good... till you get to the room that is. What is with the bad placement of the TV. They have built the cabinet making it more convenient for you to watch the TV from the bath tub than the bed... come on use your common sense.
Then comes the shower. I have said this before why do hotels complicate the shower systems? It's a shower don't make it an amazing race task .
I was there on business so was booked by the company. On my own I would never choose this hotel again cause they missed the point about the customers comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DyuDCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear DyuDCunha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last experience at the InterContinental Berlin.

From your evaluation I see that you were accommodated in one of our design oriented Superior rooms, which provide moving elements. I’m sorry that this interior doesn’t meet your expectations. We are always endeavored to offer the best comfort to our guests.
Because we know that room design is a matter of taste, our booking assistants are happy to advise you upon your next reservation. For example we also offer Deluxe rooms with no moving elements and bigger TVs, fixed right in front of the bed. Another difference between these two categories is the bathroom. The Superior rooms feature a tub/shower combination whereas the Deluxe rooms are characterized by a separated shower. Even more spacious are the bathrooms in our suites.
Unfortunately we couldn’t convince you with our services this time, but I hope you will give us a chance to create a memorable second stay at the IC Berlin in the future.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I went with my boyfriend and stayed for 6 nights at the Berlin Intercon. Our room was lovely with a very comfy bed and we really liked the layout. It was spacious with a separate little sofa and also a desk area. The bathroom was really cool with sliding doors so you could watch TV from the bath! The complimentary wifi was fast and sufficient for our needs.

The front desk was always happy to help and were very friendly. They provided everything we needed including umbrellas and we were able to use a printer too in the Business Suite.

The Spa was amazing. The pool is so lovely and there is a nice little outside area to relax in the sun. In the evenings they lit candles around the pool area which makes it a lovely place to relax in the hot tub after a day of sight seeing. The sauna is extra to pay for so we didn't use it but we didn't miss it as the hot tub and pool are so nice!

The hotel has quite a good location by the Tiergarten. It is about a 40 minute walk to some of the main tourist attractions like the Brandenberg Gate but the bus 200 goes from right outside the hotel every 10 mins and passes many landmarks. We got travel tickets which was definitely a good idea. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the Zoologischer Garten train station which goes to central Berlin and also the airport. The taxi fares are quite reasonable in Berlin too.

The Marlene bar at the hotel was lovely. It had a cosy atmosphere with comfy sofas and live music every evening until about 1am. The cocktails were great, a tad on the expensive side but what you would expect for the high end Intercon and no more than a bar in central London. You also get complimentary snacks!

All in all we would definitely recommend staying at the Berlin Intercontinental.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Stephanie K,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay in our hotel and for recommending our hotel.
It’s always great to hear that we can exceed our guests’ expectations with our furnishing and service standards.
For your next stay here in Berlin, I would like to recommend our Club InterContinental. Many guests appreciate this service because it gives the impression of a hotel in a hotel: In an exclusive atmosphere with a separate check-in, personal service and the club lounge you can benefit from free breakfast, drinks, a snack buffet, high-speed internet and sauna access.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#25 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#15 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing