We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #27 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not a real heart-breaker, this hotel is very nice overall. Centrally located, it has a very nice breakfast, and it's surrounded by quite a few options for lunch/dinner.

There are a few funny solutions in the room (in my room at least). There's a window between the bath tub and the bedroom, maybe 30 cm high, and strategically positioned so that, if you are there with your partner, you can admire spots usually covered.

The TV is in a pivoting column: to look at the TV from the bed you need to move around part of the furniture, this column, hampering in a sense the access to the bathroom. Whatever.

Overall, not too bad. Not my very favourite in Berlin, but no negative points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear krotas

thank you for your review and for your interesting observations.

The room you stayed in won a design award when we introduced it and therefore has some unusual elements such as the Cubus and the bathroom window.

Nonetheless, I would like to recommend to you our newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms which might address your needs even more and help us achieve the status of your favorite hotel in Berlin. Furthermore, our Club InterContinental provides additional benefits such as free sauna access, separate and included breakfast menu as well as alternating snacks over the day.

Also you may head to our Marlene Bar for evening entertainment which also features a cigar lounge and personal consultation on drinks by our bar manager Alexander Affeldt.

Therefore, I hope that you will join us again here at the InterContinental Berlin.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    609
    123
    29
    31
See reviews for
355
719
106
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a company booking only for one night, lucky me. Entering the room on the first sight, spacious and a marvelous bathroom but with a closer look damaged furniture, dusty, sticky. No roommate has visited this room for at least a week.
It was a very cold month of may this year in Berlin with even snow and the heating system was not working. After heaving two mechanics twice in my room they managed the heating for a minimum of 21 celsius. Not enough for my taste, specially after a bath. I'm still waiting for an excuse.

The breakfast in the L.A. Café was very average and had no highlights, more a like 3 star hotel. I should have stayed in the Club rooms.

Room Tip: 8th floor Club Intercontinental
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariapetraBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Maria Petra,

thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of attention to detail which easily could have improved your stay. Therefore, I will contact you personally to hopefully resolve any remaining issues.

You are right that our Club InterContinental, with the exclusive lounge, separate breakfast and free internet and sauna access, provides you with a comfortable basis for your stay. The breakfast is nonetheless one of the InterContinental Berlin's highlights for many of our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope that in the future you will give us the chance to host you again and to convince you of the qualities of the InterContinental Berlin.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is situated in a quite place and is a big surprise. You can swim, eat and relax at the bar. Rooms, are full of amenities and bath room is complete.Breakfast is full and excellent staff.

You can enjoy every moment in this Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vassiliki_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Vassiliki_11,

thank you for your kind and delightful words. I am pleased that you enjoyed every moment while staying with us.

Therefore, I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Full service doesn't seem adequate to describe this property. The bottom line is that a clean, comfortable room is expected from an InterContinental brand hotel but a staff of friendly and helpful people make this hotel a stand-out. I've had breakfast at other hotels but the quality of the breakfast offered by this hotel exceeded my expectations. Every employee I encountered was pleasant and courteous, and the greeter at breakfast was exceptionally so. The InterContinental is my new favorite hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear AB_Orlando

I am glad that we took the top spot on your hotel list in Berlin and want to thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Berlin in such a pleasant and helpful way.

Our teams make our hotel special and they as well as I are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful and comfortable room, a great spa (much bigger than I first thought), lovely breakfast buffé and above all an amazingly friendly staff - this hotel leaves little to ask for! The only thing we didn't try was the famous restaurant on the 14th floor, maybe next time though, 'cause I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Matilda

the stay you are describing is the stay we try to create for every single guest. So I will gladly forward your review to our teams and thank you very much for sharing your view on your stay here on TripAdvisor.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We checked in to a room on the 10th floor and had to wait 20 mins and call down for our suitcase which they'd forgotten to bring up. Then we find that the electrics in the bathroom weren't working. Another call down to reception and a 20 minute wait for someone to come and fix it (blown fuse). Shame really, as the hotel was lovely and staff very nice.

Breakfast was awesome, so much choice make sure you leave plenty of time to eat it all, bear in mind it's 30euros each, so you wanna be hungry!

Concierge was most helpful in pointing out the places to go which helped a lot given out short stay in the city.

Didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to try kurrywurst.

Tip: don't order the water from room service, go over the road to the Greek restaurant and buy it there. It's less than half price!

Overall, a good hotel let down by a couple of niggles. But we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jeremy

thank you for posting a review on our hotel, the InterContinental Berlin. That you state, that besides the initial challenges upon your arrival, you intend to stay with us again acknowledges our team's effort to make up for this false start.

I promise that upon your next stay you will not face similar difficulties and I look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I liked this hotel quite a lot and can't quite fault it. I especially enjoyed the Spa and pool facilities. Fresh fruit and water is served in the Spa for free. To get to hotel I would recommend a taxi, especially if you carry a lot of luggage. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Sight disappointment about the size of TV and inability to watch TV properly in a twin room ( due to doom design ). Wifi signal is fairly strong. Business centre has not been tried and it is not fee to use the centre.
If you wish to browse Berlin, socially if you are there for a couple of nights - catch a bus 100 or 200 from a nearby bus station (bus 200 stops on the other side of the road and will take you through a touristic route around berlin). Routes 100 and 200 have been specifically designed to suit tourists. The buses are London type double-deckers. Will I stay in this hotel again - yes I definitely will. The Spa and German red wine in the minibar were the highlights of my stay. Enjoy!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear German L,

thank you for this very nice review, accompanied by some impressions of the InterContinental Berlin.

If you like wine, I recommend to you our Michelin star restaurant Hugos which features more than 700 different types of wine, presented by sommelier Michael Köhle.

I am looking forward to your future stays and wish you equally comfortable experiences during your other hotel stays.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#24 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing