We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice & Centrally located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #28 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice & Centrally located Hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have Stayed at the Interconti Berlin many times mostly during ITB for the past 20 Years. Most of all I enjoy the executive floor rooms and the executive lounge. The service has and is always consistent,that is very good. Food and beverage in the lounge is of good quality and taste, especially breakfast. Overall service is excellent, at times when the bar “Marlene" get busy you need to be a little patient; what the hell you there to enjoy a drink or two and not to moan. The hotel is very close to the city and Ka De We, one of my favourite department stores, especially the food court. That said when in Beautiful Berlin, I will always stay at the InterContinental.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room, it is worth the extra euro.you will enjoy the offerings in the lounge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    628
    126
    28
    34
See reviews for
362
740
109
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nicely located next to the Ku'damm and the zoo this 5 star hotel has a lot to offer.
The front office staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful at any time.

We had a very modern room which was clean. A nice welcome treatment was on the table. The view off the TV tower was very nice. The wardrobe is not as usual in the floor, it is in the first part of the bathroom. A good idea regarding dressing and making ready for a night out or nice dinner. The bathroom was spacious and shower and bath tub were separated. The only problem was that the water from the shower leaked into the bathroom (thats why only 4 stars for the room).

Another feature that some new or refurbished hotels have is a kind of window in bathroom to the living room. No one can see you having a shower or on WC, but if you have a bath it could be disturbing.

There are different options to set the light in the room. The large bed was very comfortable and enough power sockets are available to charge your phones, batteries of cameras etc.

The lobby and the lift of the hotel still have the old charm which don't have an impact on the overall experience. We haven't tried the bar which is very famous or any other food outlets.
The fitness centre is for free, but we haven't had time to use it.

The bus stop is in front of the hotel, the next U-Bahn is in 5-8min walking distance (Wittenbergplatz or Bahnhof Zoo).

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to go for 5* in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y_and_M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although it is a very large, modern palatial hotel, it reminded me of the "Grand Hotel" from the movies. They had a restaurant louge, Dietrich after Marlene Dietrich. The autos outside this hotel were Bentley's, Audies and Mercedes, etc. You felt you were in a movie set. The rooms were very large and all the lobbies and rooms seemed to be made of marble. Beautiful large bathrooms and all amenities, robes, slippers, and amenities. It had an excellent breakfast buffet and the staff was very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fairly close to the elevator as I had a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorilimelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback.

Thank you for the positive comment and the kind reference you made about the “Grand Hotel”.
Indeed, in its 54 years the hotel has been a home to many famous actors and actresses among them Marlene Dietrich, Sean Connery, John Goodman and Sophia Loren.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Berlin.

With best regards,

Robert P. Herr,
General Manager InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great place to stay. Very central and easy to get around. The amenities in our room made this a stand out for us. Having stayed in 4 other hotels across Europe we found this one had the edge. Large spacious and friendly staff.
The double curtains on the windows ensured the room was quiet and kept light our around the edges.

Room Tip: Corner Suite very roomy. Not at all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your positive comments and hope to welcome you back at the InterContinental Berlin soon.

With best regards,

Robert P. Herr,
General Manager InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here Monday 10th Sept - Thursday 13th for a leisure trip to a great city.

I stayed in Room 634, the over bath shower was a bit old fashioned, bed was very comfy and TV had over 95 channels, aircon was a bit hit and miss

I pre purchased breakfast at 20 euro due to late arrival, good quality and very plentiful, staff service was very good and attentive.The pool area looked good, shame i never got time to experience a swim

Marlene bar had a really good singer/pianist playing on Tuesday evening, he was very talented
and passed a pleasant hour away

Hotel has a great location, less than 10 minute walk to the Ka De We shopping area and the Zoo is only 5 minutes away.

Receptionist Jenni was very helpful and friendly

Taxi fare was around 16 euro from Tegel

Room Tip: ask for a room upgrade or for a separate shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olofvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are grateful for the positive comments reflecting the friendly and professional service at the hotel. I will share this with my staff at the reception and will pass on your compliments to our pianist at the Marlene Bar as well.

I hope that there is the possibility that we can welcome you back to the InterContinental Berlin soon.

With best regards,

Robert P. Herr,
General Manager InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This modern hotel is next door to the zoo and it deserves its 5 stars. The reception staff are very helpful indeed, in fact all the staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms are spacious and very quiet, with almost silent air handling. They are also very comfortable, with excellent bathroom facilities. The only complaint I have is that the TV screen was too small.
Smoking rooms are available, but thanks to Berlin's civilised and tolerant approach to smoking there are also public rooms on the ground floor with tables and chairs which are available for smokers. There is even a cigar lounge off the lobby bar, which has deep armchairs, booklined walls and is as comfortable as it sounds.
There are two restaurants, one gourmet one which boasts a Michelin star and is for those with deep pockets, and one regular one, which had an interesting menu, a decent wine list and very friendly staff. However, there are also a varied lot of eating places nearby.
Breakfast was included and was excellent, with just about every kind of breakfast food available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and your warm words.

In our two different hotel wings we offer you rooms differently in style and design. Our rooms in the West Wing all feature a bigger TV. We would be grateful to show you the rooms the next time you visit.

I will share your compliments with my team and we all would like to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,

Robert P. Herr,
General Manager InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#25 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#31 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing