We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky place”
Review of Hotel Morgenland

Hotel Morgenland
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morgenland
Ranked #385 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A quirky place”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel had been converted from a Women's Institute Residence so one of the welcoming features is a huge wooden cross in-between flights of stairs. The history of the place is evoked in the room tags, and it was genuinely interesting to learn of its rich history from a booklet provided in the room.
The hotel is situated in a queit residential area, and some of taxists did not even know where to find it. So I found public transport to be a better option -- there are several bus services running to metro and S-Bahn stations. You have to keep in mind bus timetables, of course.
Two lovely restaurants in the neighbourhood, of Italian and Greek cuisine.
The room was large yet somewhat bare: three single beds, a huge window. The lighting was not enough, though, so in the evening it felt a bit dark. There is no air-con, either. The room was spotlessly clean and cleaned meticulously well. It reminded a little of a nunnery in this aspect.
The continental breakfast was quite a varied display; very substantial, too, yet quite pricey -- 10 euros per person, so I found a nice alternative at a bakery down the street.
You have to request a password for your wi-fi access, and it is valid for 24 hours of actual use.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Tottington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
9
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Morgenland for 4 days during the fall. The hotel itself is OK - not necessarily new, but well maintained and clean. The price seemed good - less than 150 EUR for 3 nights w/o breakfast, but the hotel itself is far from S-bahn stations (15 minute walk, wouldn't recommend it during the winter). Otherwise the stay was OK, but in the end we were glad that we came by car as it would be really uncomfortable to walk a long way with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janusz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

It's more than just a hotel!
If you are looking for simple feel like at home place ... this is the place to go!
The old building still attains its old furniture with hand crafted furniture!
The still to see name tags of the senior residents puts you in the mood of the old days!
The staff who are supposed to be the heritage of the whole idea of the old home shelter for the hearing impared are the best that I have ever seen, with the continous smile on their faces and the body language that proofs that hospitality and warmth have no language ... it's a matter of the heart ...
Whenever you are in Berlin especially want to be located near to the FU Berlin ... please do not hesitate to book there!

Room Tip: roos of the old building are the ones to try
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Thank you Hotel Morganland. We were at a friends wedding and our family was booked into another hotel in Berlin which was appalling and dangerous......we had to leave. Our host in Berlin managed to find The Hotel Morganland who worked hard to accommodate our family of 2 adults and two young children in one apartment and one double room next to each other. Although we had to split up and have one adult and 1 child in one room and the others in the other - it all worked out fine. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was a very comprehensive continental which the children loved. The rooms were very good and was excellent value for money. Thanks to Hotel Morganland, we had a great time with our friends at their wedding knowing we had a nice place to come back to

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinrobe, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed here on business conducting a one week training workshop for international humanitarian workers. All loved the facilities, very good value for money. Excellent conference and training facilities, lovely old charm rooms en suite. Breakfast very good and great variety for every taste. Lunch and dinner ok (catering service). Staff go the extra length to make you feel welcome. Hotel has an excellent approach to integrating staff with disabilities mostly hearing and speech challenged. Location ok n easy access to bus and s-bahn services. Only few shops around, mostly residential (quiet) area. Post nearby, also close German RedCross HQ. Have stayed here twice before and look forward returning.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Pension Dalg
#366 of 634 in Berlin
11 reviews
Miles Hotel Berlin
#429 of 634 in Berlin
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Toscana
#590 of 634 in Berlin
13 reviews
Zehlendorf
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
#494 of 634 in Berlin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morgenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgenland

Property: Hotel Morgenland
Address: Finckensteinallee 23-27, 12205 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morgenland 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HRS, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Morgenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing