We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, price, and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hansablick Garni
Ranked #204 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location, price, and clean”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We drove to Berlin and were looking for a hotel that provided parking, and although the parking was on the street, it was free and appeared to be safe. The hotel itself was in a great location, very close to Tiergarten S-Bahn station and nice location for walking. Breakfast was good, room was spotless and nice (bathroom a little small) and we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    82
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
89
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We have stayed at Hansablick twice and find this a very pleasant place! The building itself is a old house with fantastic spaces for breakfast, a drink or just relaxing a bit. It is a perfect place to stay with small children, since it is quiet and rather small. It feels like staying in someones flat. In your imagination you can see the ladies from the 1910-20'ies walking around in their fantastic clothing and feel history coming towards you in this exciting city with it's many sad stories..

The rooms vary a bit in size and especially the singlerooms may seem a bit small, but with the space to the roof it still feels comfortable and spacious.

Breakfast is really really good and fresh and you get all kinds of coffee or tea you like. Everything looks fresh and serving plates are never empty.

Reception personnel may seem a bit strict, but perhaps typically german! They are, however very friendly and help you on whatever matter you may have!

Overall it is a great place to stay since it is quiet but still very close to everything. Ubahn is just around the corner and Tiergarten is right outside the door!

We really enjoy this quiet spot in Berlin and are planning a third visit this summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelisluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Hansablick in May 2010. The service was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good: mostly wurst, bread, and cheese, fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs and sausages. It would be good if they would add oatmeal/porridge, but thats not a big deal. They are very family/children friendly. The location is perfect if you want a quiet spot to stay near the university and just a 5 minute walk to the train depot and tiergarten (that has lots of great playgrounds for kids). My only complaint is that we were promised a room with a view of the river prior to arrival and were given a non-river view, I think because we arrived later in the day. We then moved to another room the next day, but it is inconvienient to move when you have a small child. The second room was recently renovated and much better for us. The new room had hardwood floors and a bigger bathroom. If you have small children, I recommend you request a room without a rug, as they crawl and fall on the rugs and the rugs in the older room was a little dirty (however, you may not get what you are originally promised). Housekeeping was great and did a great cleaning job. I enjoyed my stay here, especially after they moved us to the new room. However, I may not recommend this place if you are disabled, as it may be difficult for you to open the large heavy front door and go up the first step (but if you can get the door open and up the first step, there is an elevator). This is a perfect place for business people that are having meetings at the university.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtngirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We would probably not have gone to Berlin if friends hadn't recommended this hotel so enthusiastically. Without a single local contact, we wanted something small and personal, well situated but quiet, comfortable but not too expensive. This is the kind of place where you feel instantly at home. The area itself is residential -- ivy-covered mostly prewar buildings -- but just 1 1/2 blocks from the Tiergarten S-bahn station, which connects with just about everywhere we wanted to go, from Alexanderplatz to Ku-damm to Potsdam. The staff are all pleasant and friendly, while the manager, Peter Prinz, is like a wonderful host, full of information, insights and advice. He drew us maps, suggested restaurants and helped us discover spots not mentioned in guidebooks. The hotel's great location, so near the center, and his suggestions made the city so accessible. And our room was always so nice to come back to: spacious, silent (we heard no gurglings through the walls or street sounds), the bed was perfect, and the bathroom large and immaculate. Our only complaint: the ceiling light wasn't bright enough for reading in the arm chairs after dark. But the two adjoining breakfast rooms were splendidly bright and cheery, decorated with colorful modern paintings as well as some older prints. We couldn't fault the breakfast either -- lots of fresh fruit in various guises, all sorts of breads, cheese & cold cuts, cereals, eggs, etc -- and a nice touch: a bowl of granny smith apples always on the reception desk. The other guests were mainly German -- families, couples, businessmen and women -- with a smattering of Americans -- all invariably discreet and polite. Some reviewers have commented on the lack of a lift. It was under repair this month. And yes, the street is not brightly lit at night, but we never felt the slightest qualm about walking back from the S-bahn. We can't recommend this hotel more warmly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

This hotel is set in a quiet residential area, so a bit scary if you've never been to Berlin before because it feels very far from anything touristy. The hotel doesn't have a lift, so we had to walk up two flights of stairs with our bags. The hallway carpet is rather grotty, with patches where they have replaced a small section with a newer piece, which rather stands out.

We booked a 'large' double room, which was of reasonable size and obviously used to be just one room when the whole floor was one large apartment. The smaller rooms have partition walls which aren't too soundproof, and really are very small. Our room had twin beds with individual sheets and a really thin duvet each.

The bathroom was on the small side, with just a shower cubicle (none of the rooms have a bath as far as I can tell), sink and WC. The lino flooring was clean but showing some wear and tear. Our room did have a balcony, however, which we didn't pay extra for, shame it never got the sun in March.

For breakfast there is a reasonable selection of cheese, ham, salami, fruit juice, cereal, bread, yoghurt and fruit. There is also a self-service hot breakfast section, offering scrambled egg, sausage, and sausage patties. The hot food wasn't very well stocked when I was there, and the scrambled egg had a very strange consistency, like a yellow savoury Aero bar. Solid with bubbles in.

For a non-touristy Berlin experience I would recommend this though.

  • Liked — The balcony overlooking the river
  • Disliked — No bath, no bar, and no lift!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Sorry to be so late with this review. I stayed at the Hotel Hansablick for 5 days at the beginning of September 2007. I loved this hotel. It is located inside of a still existing apartment complex , so one feels like one is not really a tourist, but lives in a residential neighborhood. This neighborhood is called Tiergarten, which is located between the Tiergarten and the Spree River. A short walk across the street and you are on the banks of the Spree River, where there are lovely trails to walk. The walking trails along the river will lead you all the way to many attractions. The hotel is also convenient to public transportation (the S Bahn and the U-Bahn). The staff is very friendly; after the second day they remembered that I liked two pitchers of coffee instead of one with my breakfast. The coffee they made was very good, by the way. The breakfast buffet was very diverse. Always plenty of food and a large variety of items. My room was huge; I had a balcony with a view of the Spree river. The rooms have high ceilings and original art. Ladies: THEY HAVE A MAKE-UP MIRROR -- big plus. They also have a nice little cart in the bathroom which fit all of your personal items very nicely. The room was cleaned well. They have a computer in the lobby for all guests to use for free. I'm probably forgetting something, but here it is, for now. I would definitely return to this hotel when in Berlin. Berlin is awesome, by the way. Definitely worth a visit (my 5 days were way too short -- will return for more next time.)

Helpful?
2 Thank Kokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I was a little disappointed with my room at the Hansablick Hotel--there was something spare and dormitory-like about it, and one of our beds was pretty uncomfortable--but there were a number of good things about the hotel. The breakfast was lavish, and served in two lovely rooms, with a view over the canal. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms, although plain, had some of those little touches that budget hotels can lack--box of tissue, shower cap, hairdryer. The building is located very near the ubahn (Tiergarten stop; it's just a few blocks walk)--you can see the hotel sign as you go by on the train. The actual street the hotel is on is pretty, and our room had a view over the tree-lined canal, but some of the surrounding blocks are graffittied and don't feel absolutely safe, so I would use caution at night. I got the impression a lot of students live in that area, but it was quiet at night.

The hotel is in a converted apartment house which must have been very fancy at one time--the marbled entryway has the remains of stucco scrollwork all over the ceiling, and the vestigial elevator is charming to look at, although it doesn't work anymore.

Tip: if you want a double bed, and get a room with two twins, you can move them: the bedside table between them is modular. You can pop it out of the wall, push the beds together, and pop the table back in.

  • Liked — pretty breakfast room, and nice staff
  • Disliked — uncomfortable mattress (one bed in our room; the other was fine)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Henri Hotel Berlin
Henri Hotel Berlin
#219 of 634 in Berlin
289 reviews
Moabit
Hotel Tiergarten
Hotel Tiergarten
#177 of 634 in Berlin
270 reviews
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#151 of 634 in Berlin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
ABION Villa
ABION Villa
#236 of 634 in Berlin
89 reviews
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#127 of 634 in Berlin
387 reviews
Moabit
Hotel Les Nations
Hotel Les Nations
#247 of 634 in Berlin
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hansablick Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hansablick Garni

Property: Hotel Hansablick Garni
Address: Flotowstr. 6, 10555 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Berlin
#73 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#111 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hansablick Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hansablick is in a leafy area right on the Spree. Converted from a typical old-Berlin tenement building, the hotel offers individually furnished rooms and a very personal atmosphere No matter which room you choose, in the Hotel Hansablick, you can sleep peacefully, even with the window open. And an extensive breakfast, a fitness room, our car park, WLAN throughout the building, a computer with Internet access in the lobby and a mini-safe in your room are all included in the price. Let the fin de siecle charm of this restored old-Berlin tenement cast its spell on you. Delight in its quiet, leafy position on the River Spree and enjoy our own small hotel art collection. We’re here for you 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Our lift takes you comfortably to your room, we have a fitness room, and in our lounge you have free Internet access. It takes only a few minutes’ walk to get to the Brandenburg Gate, the Victory Column, the Tiergarten and the Ku'damm. Public transport takes you comfortably to the hotel by day or night. You’ll find us quickly by car as well; the city motorway is only a few minutes away. And free parking is available in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hansablick Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansablick Garni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing