We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Ranked #214 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here to be close to the Schillertheater where I was going to an opera. It's a 5 minute walk away in one direction, in the other you are at the lovely Savigyplatz in 3 minutes. The area used to be the heart of Berlin when the city was divided; Kaethe Kollwitz Platz in Prenzlauer Berg now plays the role Savignyplatz used to. But it's stil a lovely area, and anyone who loves used and collectible books will be delighted by the wealth of antiquariate on these streets. Very close to the U2 as well as the S-bahn. The hotel itself was quiet and clean; high ceilings, drapes that kept out the light, and pleasant staff. Also a real deal, price-wise. I'd definitely stay again. I mean, who can resist a pack of gummi bears on the pillow?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yivory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 702 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with friends. Upon arrival we clearly got wrong room, which was clearly intended for 2 persons only as we were 2 x 3 persons group. We got instead a very nice and large room with high ceilings, of course free of charge. The room itself was quite basic but comfortable. LCD TV with international channels. Bathroom was narrow. Free WiFi which could have been worked better. Breakfast buffet was a bit pricey, but offered sufficient amount of choices. Very good location close to Savignyplats and underground. Some restaurants and small shops nearby. Area itself tidy, safe and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

To be honest, I probably would recommend this hotel & stay at it again if it wasn't for the absolutely appalling service with which we be met during our stay. We had booked a room on Expedia requesting two single beds, and when we arrived and found our room had been provided with one double bed instead of two, we went to reception requesting a room change. However, we were met with the most unforgiving and unsympathetic service possible. We were told that the hotel was fully booked that evening, and the only way we could have a room with two single beds was if we paid an extra €20 for an upgrade.

We asked to speak to the Manager and were told there was no Manager on site and had to instead the offsite manager in Hamburg and he was not only unrelenting, but incredibly rude and condescending. We were told time and time again that there was nothing the hotel could do, and it's was Expedia's mistake and we should speak to Expedia instead. It was quite late at the time, and it was likely that no one else would be occupying the 'upgraded' room that night. It was surprising that they were making us pay €20 for the 'upgrade' to a room with two single beds – an amount that could be easily afforded by such a large hotel chain. We were equally surprised with the poor service with which we were met at the unfriendly Reception and with the cold 'off-site manager' in Hamburg – we felt that Reception could have definitely presented our case better to the Manager in Hamburg, and both could have treated us with much more respect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in early April and choose the hotel due to its value and ease of local transport. We took the airport bus x09 from Tegel Airport to Ernst Reuter Platz and walked less than 10 min, though initially disoriented. Once we knew, was fine. Our first time in Berlin. Compared online, this was the best value for Berlin hotels on our travel dates and the area has shops and restaurants and close enough to train station for ground transport. We took airport bus back to airport and is quite frequent and convenient for quick in and out. Wifi was very weak. Room was clean and basic. We chose not to take the daily breakfast which was additional fee, which was better for us. Overall, recommend for short stay and convenient airport bus and walk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

moderately priced hotel close to attractions via underground or hop on hop off buses. Long narrow room (232) but very clean and and adequate. great shower and spotless bathroom. beds firm and pillows soft. requested extra pillows and they arrived quickly. Staff efficient and helpful if not over friendly. close to Berlin zoo. lovely restaurant along the whole street ending with a nice little park (savignyplatz). Breakfast OK - buffet with a fair choice of cold meat, fruit, cereal, cheeses, fruit juice, yogurts, breads and rolls. 9.5 Euros PP. You may prefer breakfast from restaurants in the street. Courtyard sometimes noisy at night if you leave windows open. small but free safe. small hairdryer. No kettle. no air con. small packets of Haribo left on the bed! Good economy hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ok , this hotel is by far the most historic hotel I have stayed in, The ceiling in my room was so high and the architecture was so old. But it was very clean and the bathroom was fantastic, I didn't want to get out o the shower. I absolutely loved everything in the hotel. The staff was like family. The most fascinating was the old elevator, unless you count the grand staircase, amazing. I will only stay at this hotel when I visit Berlin again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. we had a view of the front street, loved watching the people in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiethetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great friendly hotel, close to metro stop "Ernst-Reuter-Platz", as well as to pubs and restaurants around Savignyplatz in the Charlottenburg borough of Berlin. Fine rooms, clean, very decent continental breakfast, quiet atmosphere. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#118 of 633 in Berlin
770 reviews
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Address: Knesebeckstr. 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $46 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet side street of Kurfurstendamm our innovative traditional hotel is located in the city-west of Berlin. Several times our house has been awarded for its excellent value for money: In this stylish, partially landmarked hotel each of the 107 rooms is equipped with Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gates Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing