We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, stylish and educational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berliner Kaffeerosterei

Berliner Kaffeerosterei
Ranked #262 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty, stylish and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful place for coffee-crazies, tea-likers and sweet-tooths. And you could also have nice lunch here. Worth every cent you pay for it

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank olenast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    67
    19
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh classic & good taste.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was simply excellent and fresh. Service was nice too. Breakfast choices were also really healthy and not just bread. Worth the price definitely.

Also by fresh roasted coffee from the store!

Helpful?
Thank annanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent products, poor service: a pity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have been long term customers of the Berliner Kaffeerösterei, I have been a regular since I moved to Berlin in 2005. They have excellent coffee, good cakes, and great chocolate. So the products are really great - except for the breakfasts which are decent, not bad, but not exceptional either. You could always simply order coffee and some cake though. :-)

Unfortunately, the service has been getting worse over the years. This culminated in a really unpleasant experience last Sunday and that did it for us - we won't be coming back again, there are other options in Berlin. We were the first guests (4 people) to enter when they opened at 10am, so it was not too crowded or anything. Nevertheless, we had to wait 25 minutes until we were allowed to order - I would have left already but stayed for my girlfriend's and parents' sake. The heating was turned off and when I asked the waitress to please turn it on - we were freezing and all wearing our jackets, scarfs, and hats - she explained that she doesn't feel that cold. Well, good for you then. And it continued in this vein - long waiting times and strange behavior from the staff. The long waiting times have always been a problem, but as I said, it's been getting worse and worse and 25 minutes is definitely too long on a Sunday morning.

A pity, since this is a really nice place. I have also given them feedback personally a couple of times in the last two years, but no improvements. So I'll spend my euros elsewhere I guess.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank autobotBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“good place for breakfast & coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Likes: nice atmosphere, friendly staff, wider selection of cafe drinks than elsewhere, breakfast's not cheap but freshly prepared and good value for money (we tried the highest priced breakfasts and were happily surprised)
Dislikes: nothing really (the pictures were slanted and don't really seem to fit the atmosphere)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast at great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I had the best breakfast here. There was more than I could eat and everything was so delicious. The prices were very reasonable and the waitress was very sweet and professional. Next to the restaurant theres a very nice shop with coffees, teas and chocolates.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LNM_Cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berliner Kaffeerosterei also viewed

 

Been to Berliner Kaffeerosterei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing