We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and interactive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deutsche Kinemathek Museum fur Film und Fernsehen

Deutsche Kinemathek Museum fur Film und Fernsehen
Ranked #92 of 798 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting and interactive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was glad I spent time at the Film and Ferhnsehen (TV) museum. The special exhibits about Martin Scorsese and Marlene Dietrich were particularly good. I'd recommend getting an audioguide (it's free - just requires a deposit) and allow a good few hours to get through all the exibits, although you need to show your ticket to get into each section so you may be able to come back later if you want to break it up. The only negatives were the grumpy staff, but that's not all that uncommon in Berlin anyway.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melrog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    74
    21
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
411 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Saved by Scorsese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A mixed bag, in my opinion. The weakest part of this museum, which is spread out over several floors of its building in the Sony Center, are the exhibits relating to television. There are a few descriptions in English, but not everything is translated. I speak a little German, but I had a hard time getting through everything. As a result, I feel like I missed out on a lot. I am a major television fan, and in fact it's related to what I do for a living. I really wanted to like the TV section, but I feel like I could have learned just as much from Wikipedia. The saving grace was the current special exhibit on the works of Martin Scorsese. There were considerable items on exhibit from his films, from private photos to letters to scripts to props. The high point was a dark room with four screens that played scenes from various Scorsese films with contrasting shots or angles of the actors. Fascinating. By the way, it's cash only. I thought that was odd, but it could be good for some folks to know so they can plan accordingly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank freutmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For History and Film buffs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The great thing about this museum us that it takes you through the history of Germany and relates it to the films being released at the time. There were plenty of props, costumes, documents, and film clips to see throughout the tour. The only issue I had with the museum was its lack of information about the meanings behind the films and the importance of their releases at certain times throughout history. I also feel like it's too small for all of the information it has to share. But Ur's still worth a trip.

Helpful?
Thank livpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Aims especially at a German audience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Very well-designed, as everybody says. Points of focus are German silent movies, the career of Marlene Dietrich and the cleansing of Jews from the movie business after 33. Modern German cinema is given cursory attention, being presented in bulk through some posters and memorabilia. Then there's a whole section about German television that we haven't even visited.

Helpful?
Thank PickyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Must for Every Film Buff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A comprehensive overview of German cinema and television from its inception to now. There´s some really great stuff to see in the museum such as the exhibits on Ernst Lubich and early silent film. A highlight is their Marlene Dietrich exhibition which truely highlights her iconic status. Comming soon is a temporary exhibit on Martin Scorsese which, unfortunantly I could not see, but if the quality of the permanent exhibit is anything to go by, it will be fantastic!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deutsche Kinemathek Museum fur Film und Fernsehen also viewed

 

Been to Deutsche Kinemathek Museum fur Film und Fernsehen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing