We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good one, but could be so much better with little effort / No proper cleaning??” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Ranked #48 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
279 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good one, but could be so much better with little effort / No proper cleaning??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The rooms are spacious, modern and look very nice, with some very cool details. The pool area is nice, sauna's are very small and the atmosphere was not the most relaxing but more than great for some sauna and a dip in the pool. Gym was small but I guess just enough for a quick work out while traveling (great jogging options in the park across the street!). The breakfast was good but again, not very enjoyable experience since the breakfast room is too small for that amount of people (when full). Otherwise it was good. Note that you get it for 13e instead of 18e if booked a day in advance. Parking should be also reserved and you can park either inside or outside on the street with a "parking permit" you can buy from the reception.

Negative points were the service in general and cleaning. Firstly, majority of the staff looked quite annoyed most of the time. You don't really feel too welcome there (this occurred with all the staff expect the receptionist at check-out). The room cleaning was ridiculous... They only made the bed and that was it. The trash bins were not emptied, the drinking glasses were not washed and they were still where we left them on the bedside tables ..etc. Also the sauna was not cleaned since on the 1st day we saw a small piece of tile (about the size of the tip of your thumb) on the sauna floor and it was still there on the 2nd day. It was very easy to see so it was obvious it was not cleaned. Also when we went to the pool area on the 1st day the steam bath was not on and we had to walk up to the reception to ask them to turn it on since there's no phone in the pool area. A little tacky detail... you actually have to pay 2.50e for robe and slippers. To us this was quite strange.

To sum it up, a good hotel in a very nice area but don't expect too much from the staff. Hope the management will invest more in the staff, especially the cleaning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Kristiina83,

thank you very much for staying with us at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten. We are pleased to read your review and helpful comments that will be discussed within our management team. With the small fee of the bath robes and slippers we would like to refer to environmental thoughts.
We apologize for the cleaning shortcomings and will make sure to provide an excellent service in all areas of our hotel in future.
Hope, you enjoyed your time in Berlin and will return to visit us again.

Best regards,
The team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    349
    63
    12
    9
See reviews for
103
393
38
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

A nice hotel in a nice quiet area of Berlin but a pleasant walk from the Zoo. The rooms are spacious, clean quiet with good ventilation. Added touches of a heated bathroom floor make a difference.
Transport wise the 200 bus stops next to the hotel and will take you to places of interest in the city in under 15mins. The pool and spa area make a nice touch after a day out in the city, the bar staff were efficient. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chazwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear chazwil,

thank you very much for your nice review on your stay at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten. We very much look forward to seeing you again in Berlin.

Kind regards,
The Team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Upon our arrival and throughout the duration of our trip, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The location of this hotel is amazing, whilst most of the main historic sights are in East Berlin, it is easy enough to walk through the Park or take the U-Bahn or S-Bahn to where you need to be; it is also within walking distance of shops, the zoo and many amenities within West Berlin.The rooms were beautiful, modern and always clean with very comfortable beds! We only stayed at the hotel for 3 nights but would have been happy to have stayed for a lot longer! Would definitely recommend and would look at staying here if we were to make future trips to Berlin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear DKD94,

“Amazing ” the team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten is pleased about your statements!
Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on our hotel.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Berlin Tiergarten.

Kind regards,
The Team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

A very nice clean hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. A little out of the way, maybe but from what i saw of Berlin probably the most attractive part, as it was by the park. The zoo and victory column within 10-15min walk, as well as the main shopping area where the Ka De We is. The hotel has well furnished rooms very comfy and airy. Excellent food in the restaurant and not too expensive , the 2 waiters in the rest/bar very helpful and friendly. The hotel also has a spa and although a little on the small side it was an added bonus. My only criticism of the hotel would be the 1st receptionist we saw on arrival. She was most unwelcoming! needed to brush up on her customer services skills, however the next reception was more helpful offered us a map and directions. There is also a handy bus stop just outside, and an excellent shopping mall which had just opened nearby call Bikini Berlin.

Room Tip: stayed in room 403.. a view of the intercontinental hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ask161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Ask161,

thank you for your lovely statements about our location, hotel and food. We will also forward your nice feedback to all our employees in the bar, restaurant and reception.

We hope to welcome you soon at the Pestana Berlin Tiergarten again.

Kind regards,
The Team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

a hotel as I like it :-)

bright open reception, friendly staff which also may recommend a running route, interesting furnishings, unusual rooms with an interesting placed shower in the middle of the room a great bed with fluffy duvets and pillows!

Everything was fine and I felt very comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmaxde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear drmaxde,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear that everything was fine and that you felt very comfortable at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten.
We look forward to welcoming you again at us.

Best regards,
The team at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for five nights while in Berlin for meetings and I enjoyed my stay at the Pestana Berlin Tiergarten. My room was clean and quite modern in design with more comfortable furniture (e.g. desk chair) than I often find in similar hotels. It also had a large window that opened, which was quite nice as I had a tough time getting the room temperature right. I used the fitness centre several times during the stay, and while it was small, it had all the equipment necessary for a quick work-out and was very tidy. The pool also looked very inviting, even though I wasn't able to find the time to use it. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant or the lounge, although they looked nice enough. Location wise, it is a short taxi ride from Berlin Tegel Airport, but doesn't have much going on immediately nearby. It is right next door to the Tiergarten (as the name suggests), so it is convenient for runners.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippingEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear TrippingEngineer,

thank you for staying with us at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten. We are pleased to read your nice description of our hotel and its neighborhood.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
The team at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

New, modern with very comfortable rooms. Good location, and nice restaurant. Rooms are not huge but practially designed. The only down side it the price of movies. As far I remmeber it was over 12GBP which is way too much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Swanthorn,

We are pleased to read your great statements on our hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back to us.

Kind regards,
The team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#27 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#35 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Berlin Tiergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Property: Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Address: Stuelerstr. 6, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#42 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#51 Business Hotel in Berlin
#77 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pestana Berlin Tiergarten 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel PESTANA Berlin Tiergarten offers the perfect Location for leisure and business!What the Central Park is for New York and the Hyde Park for London, is the Tiergarten for Berlin. Feel the magic of Berlin's largest park and be enchanted by the Neuen See or enjoy the convenience to get to the KaDeWe, Europe's largest department store, to the Kurfurstendamm and also to the Brandenburg Gate.The superior hotel opened in Summer 2011 with its 142 spacious an well appointed rooms with floor heating in all bathrooms, a restaurant, a bar with a generous roofed outside terrace, as well as a SPA area including an indoor pool (10m*3m) and a sauna.In addition, the PESTANA Berlin Tiergarten offers three multifunctional meeting rooms for up to 180 persons, a boardroom for up to 12 persons, as well as breakout rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Berlin Tiergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing