We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Ranked #49 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Myself and my bf fancied a few nights away in Europe. We found this hotel on secret escapes and the offer was too good too miss. The room was £60 a night bed and breakfast, with a 20% discount when using the bar and restaurant.
We arrived on the Wednesday night at around 7.30pm. On arrival the staff were very nice and helpful and provided us with a complimentary glass of water. My first impressions on looking around whilst checking in we're Wow, this is so cool. Very modern and clean. We were asked if we would like 2 single beds or a king size. We went for the king size (the bed was bigger then that!!)
When we arrived in our room, there were no complaints, the room was a decent size, bathroom was lovely, power shower, underfloor heating, we had a docking station for music and different coloured lights for different sections of the room.we had a control for the temperature in the room so we could ensure the room was always going to be comfortable.
We went down for dinner to the restaurant that night, the waitresses were very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed.
The menu was very good - fine cuisine, I had salmon and a mashed potato with a coleslaw. It was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed it and I can be a fussy eater, although it was maybe a bit over priced.
The breakfast was Amazing-everything you would have for your breakfast was there.
One afternoon we went down and used the pool, sauna and steam room. No complaints there.
The hotel was situated in a very good spot. 15 minute walk from one of the main shopping streets, 10 minute walk to the end of the road and you were at the zoo and aquarium.
Bus stop outside reception where you can jump on the 200 bus route to just about anywhere.
Overall - Excellent stay, thoroughly enjoyed it and would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, which meant we were still able to get receptions free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Louise N, thank you very much for your very kind and detailed review of our Hotel and Service. We were very pleased to read your comments and will share it with the whole team. Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 942 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked this hotel as a based of a mini break in Berlin and it was a brilliant choice! The rooms are comfortable and stylish. Very clean and all staff friendly and helpful. Whilst not being on the S-Bahn it is on 2 major bus routes which are super easy to use. The 200 stops outside the hotel and connects to the Zoogarten S or u-bahn or heads straight into town and the 100 is at the next main road, about a 2 minute walk and this does a lovely route into town showing off some of the major sites. If you were staying here on business I can imagine that the fact they don't have wifi in the rooms would be very frustrating. there is a free comp in the lobby and apparently wifi down in the basement though I never checked this out. Overall though we all enjoyed our stay here thoroughly.

Room Tip: We had room 106 on the end and it had bigger floor space than our friends in 122, though they got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear SarahandRichP, we are pleased to hear that you had a brilliant choice. You know, that we have since one month Wi-Fi in all rooms? See you soon for a mini break. Best regards – Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice design, quiet and with a design touch. Whale song in the elevator and calm, soothing colors adds to the atmosphere, and an infinity pool, sauna and steam bath in the gym makes this a great stay.
The conference rooms and service were also good, even though the service in the restaurant could have been a bit faster and with a bit more joy...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

The Hotel Pestana is pleased about your statement. Thank you! You know, that the elevator sound will reflect the theme ocean? See you soon in the middle of Berlin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel rooms are small but adequate and nice and modern. There is nothing directly around the hotel but you can walk easily enough to shopping and restaurants and public transport. The first room we checked into had no Internet. After trouble shooting on the phone with the Internet company for over 2 hours we were told that the room had Internet problems with the last guests. We switched rooms and got connected but it was a horribly slow connection. If you are a business traveler and require Internet, be advised. The spa was very small but nice. The pool is not large enough to swim laps in. The showers in the spa area had loads of black mold growing, which was a turn off and a health hazard. Overall nice place but would be better with good Internet! Restaurant tip: walk along the main road to the right of the hotel. When you come to the fork in the road look for a Thai restaurant on the corner. Best Thai food we've ever had, even better than Thailand, and reasonable prices!

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are exactly the same as the regular rooms, but they have a bathtub and coffee mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Sarah, thanks for your assessment and your beautiful restaurant tip. Last week we have closed the spa and have tiled the area. We will see us again in Berlin! Best regards from the Hotel Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just returned from a four night break at the Pestana Berlin Tiergarten and can happily recommend it. The hotel is only about eighteen months old and is very clean, modern and comfortable. We found all of the staff friendly, welcoming and helpful. They were happy for my wife to use her rudimentary German, but it was not necessary, as all the staff spoke good English.

The bedrooms are quiet and very comfortable, with excellent bathrooms. The foyer has a small, but pleasant bar, which does very good Gluhwein - just the ticket when returning from a cold day out on the numerous walking tours available in the City.

The hotel is in a quiet location, right next to the extensive Tiergarten park, just under fifteen minutes easy walk from the Zoo Station, where the Tegel Express Bus X9 arrives about every ten minutes. In the other direction, it is about a twenty-five minute walk to the Brandenburg Gate. I believe that buses to the Zoo Station and to Alexandra Platz stop outside the hotel and at least one of the Hop-On-Hop-Off tour buses stops near the hotel.

We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant which we found to be very good and reasonably priced. We paid between E55 and E63 for two courses for two, with two glasses of wine, a beer, water and coffee. (Our booking included a discount on these prices, but I am not sure if that is always available.) The buffet breakfast was good with a continental slant (cheese, cold meats, fish and sausage), but hot bacon, sausage, egg was always available as well, together with juice, fruit,cereal and breads and croissant.

We did not find any restaurants near the hotel, although there is the Europa Shopping Mall about ten minuites away with fast food outlets.

There is free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyager042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Voyager, , thanks for your beautiful feedback and your comment about our staff.
We’re very pleased about your statement and we will praise our team. We will see us again in Berlin. Best regards from the Pestana Berlin Tiergarten!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A medium sized hotel with nice and modern style. Rooms were also newly renovated and clean. Only possible draw back was long waiting for ordered food. They were well informed yet we had to wait.

Ps. How long time do you need to understand how to close/open the curtain in the bath room ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Marcus, thanks for taking the time to share your beautiful statements about the Hotel Pestana Berlin Tiergarten. It`s an magic window ;-) See you soon at the hotel in Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Located close to the KaDeWe (10 mins walk), this new and modern hotel is great. It is good for business but also good for leisure. Staff at reception and restaurant is friendly and accurate, staff at the bar is slow. Rooms are bright and modern, bathroom is nice and comfortable. From the hotel you easy
Ily reach the subway which brings you to every spot in the city quickly. The underground station is a five mins walk. If you have a car, you should reserve a parking lot upfront. The hotel garage is small. The hotel has a small pool (indoor), a gym and sauna. I liked the hotel and will come back.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Pascall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Pascall, thanks for your statement and sorry for the trouble with the slow staff in the bar. We will trainee our service team. You Know, that we have in walking distance the sightseeing – hop on hop off bus station? Best regards from the Hotel Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 633 in Berlin
1,277 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 633 in Berlin
1,983 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Chaussee Berlin
TITANIC Chaussee Berlin
#58 of 633 in Berlin
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Berlin Tiergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Address: Stuelerstr. 6, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#41 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#51 Business Hotel in Berlin
#77 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $88 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pestana Berlin Tiergarten 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin is a truly free, eclectic, and cosmopolitan city, busy yet but unhurried, sophisticated but yet relaxed. And these are the features that you will find during your stay at the Pestana Berlin Tiergarten - a modern, sophisticated, and unique hotel in the heart of Berlin. This 4-star-superior city hotel is situated in a central and quiet area right next to the Tiergarten, Berlin’s central park. It´s only a 10-minute walk to Berlin Zoo, the KaDeWe department store and the Ku’Damm shopping boulevard, also known as the City-West. Pestana Berlin Tiergarten offers 142 bright and spacious contemporary rooms on 6 floors, a wellness area with indoor pool, gym, sauna and steam bath, as well as the Atlantis Restaurant & Aqua Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Berlin Tiergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing