We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Themroc

Themroc
Ranked #5,646 of 8,513 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

An edgy cafe in Berlin Mitte that has a chef who knows what he's doing. Limited seating in a setting that feels a bit more like a squat than a proper cafe, but it has a buzz and eclectic crowd and a queue out the door. I think the common denominator amongst us all is a love of great food. There is no menu - you're offered a starter, main and dessert, and a generous glass of wine from their selection. My companion had the soup, a stunning cauliflower and smoked salmon concoction, and we both had the grilled lamb chops with garlic potatoes, pickled peppers and a bearnaise sauce that was the best I've tasted. Ever. Finished off with a chocolate nut cake with berries. And two meals with wine came in at 50 eruos total. Cash only, so bring your wallet and it's worth twice what they charge. Make a booking as space is limited and we ran a gauntlet of hungry patrons waiting for our table. Yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GDE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Such a good evening! A really lovely warm welcome. Our handsome waiter was attentive and entertaining. The food was fresh, tasty and lovingly prepared by gorgeous chef who clearly cares a great deal about her food. A great start to my 1st Berlin experience. Thanks guys. See you Saturday evening for your fifth anniversary! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertSheraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely lovely”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Basically gorgeous home cooked food by a delightful chef. Served by a really funny guy. Well worth a handshake and a kiss on the cheek to the chef at the end of the night. Really tasty, wholesome and delicious. The minty choc dessert (first time it was made) was mouth watering. The main was a Thai inspired fish stew with chips, sounds weird but tasted fab. Starter was a cream cheese and leek, green bean mix that tasted amazing. Truely a great first meal in Berlin

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bristol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“My best meal in Berlin”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It is not a fancy place. More like a small bistro. And it is not in the middle of a tourist area. Like it is wrote in previous reviews, there is no menu. You have what the chef cook for the day. It was so delicious that we ask for the recipe and they give it to us!! The service is friendly and efficient. A very nice experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albertoV05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simple foodie location - one great menu”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved this little neighborhood spot - need to reserve a table. One appetizer, one main, one dessert, you can pick and choose. Food tasted homemade, like I had just cooked it myself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Themroc also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Themroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing