We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and Recreation at the Same Place”

Flughafen Tempelhof
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.57*
and up
Modern Berlin Bike Tour Including Kreuzberg and Tempelhof Airport
Ranked #48 of 806 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours in the former airport building.In German : Mo - Thu 4 p.m., Fr 1 p.m. and 4 p.m., Sat /Sun 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.In English Sat 3 p.m., Sun 2 p.m.Special Tour "Hidden Places in the Former Airport building" Sat 12 p.m.,Special tour " American Alliied Forces in Tempelhof" Sun 12 p.m.Special arrangements for groups in German, English, French, Spanish, Dutch, Polish, Czech, Russian and Chinese language.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,026 reviews
450 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
“History and Recreation at the Same Place”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

In the times of National Socialism this was a modern, innovative airport. After the War, it was the terminus of the Air Bridge that supplied West Berlin during the first and longest Soviet Blockade. Since the site is within the city, it is no longer used for commercial travel. Instead, it has been turned over to the citizens as a place for recreational aviation purposes, within the city. History aside, this is also worth seeing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    128
    37
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
225 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Interesting Feeling...”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This may sound stupid, but we were going for a walk around our hotel and we "stumbled" upon this whole area. I thought the "Platz der Luftbrücke" sounded interesting, and wanted to know what it had to do with the Air Bridge. Well, if you turn the right corner you walk right into history.
It's where it happened, and there's the monument and the really cool old airport right in the middle of the busy city. The architecture is very impressive, and I wish we had had more time to hang around and go to where the runways and planes used to be. Hopefully next time. Still, the monument is cool.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaRicaOutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Truly unique place”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

One of my favourite places in the world. When I'm in Berlin I go here for running or just sitting around with my friends, drinking beer. It's also great for watching any weather phenomena (sunsets, storms, moon). Also, the birdlife is cool. You can easily watch birds of prey hunting in the grass.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bambi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fresh Air & Architecture”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Don't miss a tour of Berlin's most famous Nazi-era airport, whose airfield has been repurposed as a community open space. Fascinating architecture and fresh air in one visit! Take a stroll through the community gardens at sunset for a fabulous view of the Feld.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
519 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great Airport”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The fact that this is really the only place in Berlin Germany which was the heart of the Third Reich that still has the Nazi Eagles is astounding. Just for that very reason and the reason the Nazis built this airport for the time they did made this remarkable to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flughafen Tempelhof also viewed

 

Been to Flughafen Tempelhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing