We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tour of the old airport”

Flughafen Tempelhof
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Modern Berlin Bike Tour Including Kreuzberg and Tempelhof Airport
Ranked #48 of 813 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours in the former airport building.In German : Mo - Thu 4 p.m., Fr 1 p.m. and 4 p.m., Sat /Sun 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.In English Sat 3 p.m., Sun 2 p.m.Special Tour "Hidden Places in the Former Airport building" Sat 12 p.m.,Special tour " American Alliied Forces in Tempelhof" Sun 12 p.m.Special arrangements for groups in German, English, French, Spanish, Dutch, Polish, Czech, Russian and Chinese language.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour of the old airport”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Berlin but if you have an interest in architecture, history, are arty, into photography or just like something different you will just love this airport.

I took the tour on Saturday at 3pm in English. It was hard to find the booking office so try to plan ahead and contact the airport so they could email directions and the tour times. Our tour guide was fantastic he put up with a lot from us like setting off alarms and running off to take photos.

This place is huge! I found it is interesting to see the contrast between the 1930s architecture exterior and 60s interior. It’s hard to explain the feeling you get walking into the main airport with a space this size being empty, it’s like time has stood still.

The tour takes you through many empty rooms, a basketball court, an old bowling alley and endless stairways. There is also an upstairs section that has been half completed with all these metal supporting structures poking out of the walls, very cool. During the tour the history is explained starting from the 1920s to post-war and the future plans for the building and surrounding areas.

Just when I thought it was over we went down to the underground bunkers which seemed to go for miles.

My only regret is I didn't have a better camera on the day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikinggirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    131
    37
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“To see and enjoy”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice to see how the airport was in the past (WWII). If at the beginning we fell the emptiness of the space (just one old plane remains in the airfield), even if it is full with people, by the other and, we can enjoy a huge park inside the city, were we can make some ski during the winter snow or just relax in the sun during spring or summer warmer days, seated on the grass. Why not cycling on the runways? Great experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Hugely Impressive”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you have any interest in architecture, WW11, Cold War or aviation this is must see - if you want an unusual excursion this is a must when in Berlin.
It is a huge complex of buildings centred on the main terminal and with the airport being now closed for some years it a quiet almost spooky place to be.
Take the tour - there are english speaking guides and it takes two and a half hours who present the history of the place beautifully - it is time well spent and really brings this sleeping giant to life. It is a really unusual experience - one of the largest buildings in Europe and the World you become unusually engrossed in the place and the outside world fades away and is on the outside as any noise disappears.
For a building built in the 1930's there is so much history here and really is an unusual experience - I completely recommend this place.
Take the U6 to Platz der Luftbrucke and you will be right outside and able to have a look at the
Luftbrückendenkmal being the memorial to the Berlin Airlift.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You really should see this!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Take a trip back in time to this now disused 1930s airport if you have a couple of hours to spare. You don't have to be interested in airports or Nazi-era architecture to get something from a visit to Flughafen Tempelhof. I have never seen such an impressive airport nor had the chance to see behind the scenes as you do on one of these fascinating tours. Even though I wasn't able to visit on a day when an English-speaking guide was conducting the tour it was still one of the highlights of my visit to Berlin.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decidedly weird, and decidedly cool”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Entering former airfield Tempelhof through one of the entrances, you are immediately struck by the emptiness of the place. Walking across the main runway or past the quintessential Albert Speer-designed gigantic building, you get a strange sense of how small you are - which is rare if you're my size ;)

I've found taking a stroll about the area quite relaxing: it's an area of tranquility, nicely contrasting with the hustle and bustle of the Berlin metropolis. In winter it's windy and cold, so dress appropriately. I can well imagine spring or summer here: kick back in the grass with a beer and a bratwurst and enjoy the sun & silence.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dabutcha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flughafen Tempelhof also viewed

 

Been to Flughafen Tempelhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing