We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel, but below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #81 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

In my trip to Berlin, I stayed in 2 hotels close to the Central Station, and this hotel is relatively less preferred. It is new, but room is smaller and with less facilities (such as heater in bathroom), but is more expensive. One of the main entrance auto door was broken down during our stay....The hotel lobby is designed in modern styele, but quite crowded during the breakfast time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIljan D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 809 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

It is a very comfortable place for a short trip to Berlin. I can recommend it to everyone who is on a business trip or short holidays to Berlin. Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated in modern style -not luxury, but very comfortable. Excellent value for money, close to main train station and walking distance to Berlin attraction. Good basic breakfast, helpful staff.
If you expect luxury hotel with fitness centre and room service - it is not for you, but for me and my friends it was absolutely great - especially for the money we paid.
I like to stay in places which are not "basic" - I like the ambience, the style. So, this hotel, even if it provides quite simple service, was perfect for me - I enjoyed having a drink with a lobby, I enjoyed my room, I enjoyed breakfast.
Definitely I want to stay there again when in Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagdaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Motel One Hauptbahnhof is located excellently directly next to the main train station. Rooms are rather small but well equipped, beds are excellent. Bar is open 24h and breakfast is served in the lobby / bar with a good choice. Staff is really friendly. Only negative aspect I could see is that I could not use the desk in my room for working as there is no plug.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepe-Lorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

the major advantage is the excellent location of the hotel ,very close to Berlin Hauptbahnhof station, from where you can reach all places in Berlin and other cities, using the several transportation options available. The staff is very helpful and kind. The breakfast is excellent, and the cleaness and nice design are also points to be highlighted.
The negative aspect is the fact that there is no phone service in the rooms, due to the management policy of the hotel. This sometimes creates some difficulties of communication with hotel staff, specially when you need some assistance from the room.

Room Tip: any room available is comfortable since the acoustic treatment is successfull to avoid noise inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulo_fernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stay in Motel one all over and have always enjoyed knowing what I get (with the exception of one experience in Dusseldorf Motel One Hauptbahnhof) when I check in, I accepted the normally friendly serve, no room service, no phones in the rooms and lack of internet connection due to problems that seem common, but in Berlin I was greeted friendlier as ever from a Motel One, anything I needed was taken care of and I had the feeling they actually cared for what I needed, personally cared, that was pretty impressive...especially for Berlin!
Any room to the inside courtyard is a problem due to the people sitting outside drinking until 01.00 or later, out to the front is louder during the day but is fine at night, the other side where the parking garage is would have been quieter.
All in all a great location for anything at all, your right at the hub of Berlin!

Room Tip: Any room to the inside courtyard is a problem due to the people sitting outside drinking until 01.00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

staff is friendly. location is very close to the Hauptbahnhof - very practical. berlin tegel airport is approx. 20 min cabride away (costs € 17). rooms are very small. mattresses are very firm and hard. if you're not used to that you might end up like me. having to get up after less than 6 hours of sleep because of a backache. breakfast looked nice but you find better and nicer places in berlin than a hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoparoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful location - just across the street from the main station and a nice short walk to Reichstag and Unter den Linden. Very convinient when travelling - but also wonderful for sightseeing. A nice and very comfortable room - not too spacious, but not too small. Extremely comfy bed. Clean and stylish. Free WiFi. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast. I stayed there twice and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_only_olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
Motel One Berlin Spittelmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof

Address: Invalidenstr. 54, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $86 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof 2.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing