We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #66 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
austria, vienna
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“everything perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

i stayed at motel one berlin hauptbahnhof during a business trip and it's really good value for a fair price. the rooms are decent sized and the bathroom is really new and luxurious for this price. the shower is a treat after a long day in meetings. breakfast is plentyful and served in the stylish. the staff is very nice and helpful. will come back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    329
    72
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
160
89
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here one night as I needed a centrally located hotel close to public transport. A very smooth check-in procedure & friendly staff.

The rooms are clean and simple but are tastefully decorated and offer all you need for a short stay.

Breakfast cost about 7E but it was a generous spread & worth the money.

A good base at a good price in the centre of Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

You're not going to get luxury at Motel One but this location gives you a clean, modern convenient room at a great price. The rooms are tiny by American standards (even the "double" room) was quite small and there are no closets in the room but there is plenty of storage space in next to the bed in shelves. The bathroom is small, functional and modern. Service is efficient and pleasant, adding breakfast and wi-fi to your package will cost you something like 7.50 euros a day -- quite a bargain. It's a short walk to the main train station (make sure you leave the station via the Europlatz exit and go to the left) which is probably this property's main selling point. If you are looking for reasonable, i.e. cheap accommodations in Berlin this would be a good choice, although it seems like Berlin has many cheap hotel options. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinguinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Arrived in Berlin as part of an onward journey to Jena. A little worried about how close it would really be to the station as I had a case and a laptop bag to manhandle and it was freezing.

No need to worry at all. When you came out of the front of the station (near the taxis) and looked left, you could see the hotel. It really was five minutes and that was mostly the wait for the traffic lights to cross the roads.

The hotel was clean, check in was efficient (you pay as you check in) and the clerks spoke great English.

The bar was modern but reasonably priced.

The room was very clean, compact but great for a shortish stay.

Breakfast was fine, pastries, continental and cereals.

In all this was a great place to break a longer trip, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliab571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I debated between Motel One and the nearby Meininger hotel. Both are about a block from the train station and Meininger is a bit less expensive. I was thinking "how different could it be?"

I am very happy that I stayed at Motel One and not Meininger's! I mistakenly walked into Meininger's first. The lobby and outside the front door was packed with teens and 20-somethings. It was a zoo! Noisy and chaotic, and I expect that it was noisy in the rooms as well. In contrast, Motel One was an oasis of calm. Clearly it's not targeted toward that student / backpacker / 20-something "let's explore the world on $10/day" crowd.

Motel One was value-priced and I was very pleased with the accommodations. I stayed for 4 nights. The room isn't big (bed, small chair and tiny table/desk) but it works fine for 1-2 people. It was clean, had a good shower with plenty of hot water and a comfy bed. Flat screen TV on the wall, no frig or coffee/tea service. There isn't a closet but there are built-in shelves and a rod on the wall that serves for hanging clothes. There's little space to lay out your suitcase so best to unpack a bit and put the case in a corner. I found the breakfast buffet to be plentiful - meats, cheeses, rolls, nutella (yum!), yogurt, hard boiled eggs, tomato, cucumber, fruit salad, coffee, juice. All for only 7.50 Euro, which is a good deal. Each day my breakfast filled me up until early evening. There are no restaurants nearby, except for the fast food joints and shops in the train station. However, I was happy to buy a glass of wine at the bar and take it up to my room to relax.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Their WiFi worked well in the room and is complimentary. Obviously very convenient to the train station though I ended up walking almost everywhere - the Reichstag and Brandenburg Gate are a ~10-15 minute walk and the Museum Island (Pergamon, Neues, Bode) is ~20-30 minute walk. Even the Kulturforum is ~20-30 minute walk away, not bad at all.

If you arrive by train, make sure to go out the Europaplatz exit, and not the Washingtonplatz exit, otherwise you'll have to walk around the entire (large) station. Not fun late at night in the cold and dark, lugging a suitcase.

Should I ever return to Berlin, I'll stay at this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: I was on the 11th floor, facing the street. Had a nice view of Berlin except that it was cloudy / fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

So far, I’ve found Motel One hotels to be quite similar in many ways all over the country. Its a fair deal, I sleep well there.

As with other Motel One’s I’ve visited, the room is very clean both visually and olfactoraly. The room isn’t large, but big enough for one person to stay a night or two. The fireplace-video that pops on the TV when you enter the room is a nice twist (the one in Hamburg had an aquarium video).

I’ve stayed at this particular Motel One before, and while I didn’t sign up for the breakfast this time, I did the last time I stayed. Breakfast was completely overrun, like a beehive, at primetime (when, unfortunately, I needed to be down there as well). A number of tables were empty but not cleared away and some of the food items were “sold out” and not replenished.

I’m not sure if that was because of some major event in town or if that is normal for this particular Motel One, but it made it easy for me to make the decision to eat somewhere else this time.

Other than that, the room is fine, as is the bathroom, no complaints. One exception: there isn’t an outlet anywhere near the desk, so if you have an aging laptop battery like I do with the need to plug in, you’ll be doing your work from the bed (which has outlets next to it).

All in all, I would recommend the place and will stay there again - you can’t beat the location, just kitty-corner across from the central train station. Maybe I’ll try breakfast again next time...

Room Tip: I don't think it matters, even if you face the street you don't hear the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDBGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed 5 nights when visiting Berlin for the first time. Room was spotless and comfortable with a terrific power shower;, staff courteous,helpful and English speaking. Love the ground floor layout with ample seating and a welcoming bar to fall into after a long day's sightseeing. Good breakfast buffet with plenty of fresh fruit salad. One of Berlin's great strengths is its public transport system which is accessible just across the road. Very good value for money. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front[Invalidenstrasse] and on the top floors command a view of the city including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterVitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#83 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Bellevue
Motel One Berlin-Bellevue
#186 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof

Property: Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Address: Invalidenstr. 54, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof 2.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing