We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very limited collection”

Computerspielemuseum
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.75*
and up
City Sightseeing Berlin Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #75 of 806 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Where Pac Man lives The first ever museum for computer games worldwide was founded in Berlin. You can embark on a magic time travel trip covering six decades of gaming history. Including Giant Joystick and Painstation, Arcade Hall plus the Wall of Hardware. A Berlin highlight in the trendy borough of Friedrichshain Kreuzberg. A mere 5 minutes away from Alexanderplatz (U5 Weberwiese). You can reach our museum very comfortably by cycling here. Whether you come from Alexanderplatz or from Warschauer Straße/Frankfurter Tor, you will find wide lanes for cycling on both sides of Karl-Marx-Allee and traffic lights for crossing. We have a number of cycle stands right next to our entrance. If you wish to start a cycling trip from here, feel free to ask for a free copy of Bike Map, which has a very convenient format to fit into almost any pocket.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Very limited collection”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I play computer games since I was a kid, which was very early 90's, and I expected to see the evolution of computer games, the most popular games of each year with the story behind them, the development of available technology etc. etc. What you can see in the museum is the history of hardware with real life piece of every important computer in the last 30-40 years, which is great, but as to games area, the collection and exhibition is very poor, there is no more than a few tens of games showed and for me it was no journey across the are that is very familiar to me, but barely touching its surface. A waste of time and money :(

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kamczan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    141
    48
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must for any historian and game player”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

For a fan and a collector of retro computer stuff like me, it is like a Holy grail of my hobby. Well laid out and covered every aspect of gaming from the very beginning to the latest 3D stuff. Everything was functional and great, unfortunately not enough time to read all the descriptions. As for playing the games, there should be some time limit for each player and each console, because like someone said, his kids spent 90 minutes of playing there, and maybe someone waited for a queue there. Something like 5 minutes for each item should be sufficient, especially when it is crowded. Also, the museum store could be cheaper (items are way cheaper online :) and more filled with items.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Crowded with kids expecting a free arcade”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This museum is fun and has potential. Unfortunately, many parents confuse it with a kindergarten. Young kids have no way of appreciating the exhibits without an enthusiastic parent playing the tour guide.

The museum holds several vintage arcade machines but you need to visit the museum in special hours (Mondays at 6pm) to play them. They are too precious to be played anytime and without supervision. Apart from them, there are replicas of other machines, you can plan the original Space invaders, Asteroids and others.

It's worth visiting if you're a fan. Just don't take your girlfriend with.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kohutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for kids and teens”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My 10, 13 and 14 year old thought it was the best museum ever. I got to show them the Mac I had in college and my Atari video game that i had at there age and they got to spend 90 minutes playing classic video games like Donkey Kong, Centipede and lots of old Atari games as well as several none of us had ever seen.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nswaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not spectacular”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

As a videogame nerd, a visit to this museum was well worth it. The exhibition is small and compact, but there is lots of information if you care to look for it.

A big plus for many playable games and cabinets!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kvasbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Computerspielemuseum also viewed

 

Been to Computerspielemuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing