We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean hotel. Even w/o a riverside view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Ranked #88 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were a little leery of checking in late due to some warnings we had read about hotels in Germany, but the hotel has a 24/7 staff and it was no problem to come in at 10pm like we did. We spent 5 days here, had a great time, and were always greeted by a clean room and complimentary beverages upon our return. It's right next to a U-Bahn station, so getting around Berlin - even to Potsdam or Dresden - is very convenient. The staff is friendly and were happy to speak English when my German failed.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are $10 more per night, but we enjoyed our streetside room just fine. Breakfast is...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest,

we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.
We are very pleased that everything was to your satisfaction, and you have enjoyed your stay.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Hopefully seeing you soon.

Funda Konak
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
There are newer reviews for Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 976 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while celebrating New Year in Berlin and it was a good decision.

The hotel is centrally located, directly outside the U Bahn station which is really convenient. Trains are regular and only two stops from Alexanderplatz. We had apartments which were very spacious, quiet and comfortable. Reception was efficient in providing irons / ironing boards when we needed them, an extra pillow, booking taxis etc. Our rooms and the public areas were kept very clean and we even had a free beer in the room which was a nice touch. We didn't opt for breakfast which seemed a little expensive at 16 euro per person. There are many great places to get breakfast in Berlin so this wasn't an issue for us. Wi-Fi was slow but worked and as were were there for pleasure - not business, it wasn't a problem.

We have stayed in several hotels across Berlin and this ranks as one of the best. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest,

we are very pleased to hear, that we could afforded you a comfortable stay.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

With kind regards from Berlin
Funda Konak
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location in front of a U Bahn station. Nice rooms with free water and beer every day ...BUT the wifi connection was awful and the spa was out of service all the week we stayed in there. I love the place but the low quality wifi could be a delabreaker

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaumedebarbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.

Regarding your remark of our wifi connection we would like to inform you, that we have already given an optimization in order.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the Spa.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Hopefully seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Funda Konak
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Location is great and good value for money for the hotel (went for new years). Wifi connection was poor if you are in your room but if you sit in the bar area it is strong.

When we went the spa and pool was broken which was a shame and they did not do anything to compensate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

we are very pleased to hear, that we could afforded you a comfortable stay.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with the spa area.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

With kind regards from Berlin

Funda Konak
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've stayed many times in this lovely hotel over the years. But I won't return until they install a wireless network that actually works. During a week's stay last fall I spent many frustrating hours trying just to retrieve my email. The problem, as explained to me by the staff, was that "too many people are watching videos". Well, maybe. But this doesn't really add up: I spent hours in the lobby waiting for the excruciatingly slow connection (never more than than 0.1 Mb/sec and usually far less; see attached photo) to deliver simple text emails. How can anyone be watching videos under these conditions? But whatever the reason, the result is that their internet - although free - simply does not work. Aside from the internet problem, this is a wonderful hotel in all ways.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location once again.
Many thanks that you honored us again.

Therefore, it makes us feel extremely sorry that we could not satisfy you this time.

We thank you that you help us with your constructive criticism to improve our service.

Regarding your remark of our wifi connection we would like to inform you, that we have already given an optimization in order.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

Kind regards

Funda Konak
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We went there for Christmas markets. They are all around. Hotel is situated nicely in walking distance to many of them. Helpfull staff. Rooms are very clean. Close to the metro station. It's the place I will sleep at my next visit in Berlin!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asailor1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

we are very pleased to hear, that we could afforded you a comfortable stay.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

Kind regards

Funda Konak
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed two nights here and would stay again. The room was a good size with comfortable beds and minimum noise levels.

We did have a bit of a misunderstanding with reception over tea bags of all things. There was only herbal tea supplied and we wanted black tea. I rang reception who told me to wait until the minibar was refreshed. We'd been travelling since 5am and wanted a cuppa before we stepped out, but no tea bags. When we got back to the hotel, the minibar had been re-stocked but no tea bags. I went down to reception rather than call and they had a stash there. My advice is to always go to the desk and speak with them face to face.

The other thing is that although you receive 2 bottles of beer and water as part of the tariff, if you don't drink them, you don't get the extras. Take out the ones in the fridge so housekeeping re-stock with the day's supply.

The room was really clean, particularly the bathroom which had plenty of shelf space. Always a good sign. The only disappointment was the stains on the carpet. Not a good look.

Location is good, near the underground and only a couple of stops from Alexanderplatz. We walked everywhere from the hotel including to the Brandenburg Gate for a walking tour (a must do), Potsdamer Platz and the Topography of Terror (where there is the remainder of the Wall).

We didn't eat at the hotel, but noticed room service prices seemed to be OK. Sometimes these can be exorbitant.

All in all a very good stay, but might bring my own teabags next time!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us.
We are very pleased to hear, that we could afforded you a comfortable stay. We would like to express ourselves to a few comments.

Our guest gets two different types of tea and daily two bottles of beer and water. We sincerely apologize that we have not filled up correctly the tea during your stay.

We are happy to inform you that we are on time in a renovation process. Gradually, all rooms are fitted with new carpets, wallpaper and paint.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location.
Thank you very much for your commendation.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

Kind regards from Berlin

Funda Konak
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
#64 of 635 in Berlin
1,020 reviews
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#87 of 635 in Berlin
612 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#76 of 635 in Berlin
1,438 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#81 of 635 in Berlin
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Address: Neue Rossstr. 11-12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#102 Family Hotel in Berlin
#158 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $91 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing