We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for exploring Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Ranked #84 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent location for exploring Berlin”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The U-bahn is mere steps away from the hotel and we walked to the museums on Museum Island.

The room was very comfortable though there is no air conditioning, just some kind of air circulation device which has no controls. Fortunately it was not too hot while we were there.

Nice to have free bottles of water and beer in the room.

Breakfast was in a rather cramped space on the first floor overlooking the atrium. Fairly average but quite acceptable - cooked eggs on request.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    458
    83
    23
    8
See reviews for
96
428
93
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rome
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We lodged at the Grosser Kurfurst for almost a week. As a family of four we occupied two rooms, both very spacious and nice. The bathroom was also quite good, and contained a bidet, which is quite rare and useful to speed up cleaning operations in the morning.
The hotel is very conveniently located, as the Markishes Museum stop of the U2 line is within 20-30 meters, and the Museum Island is within walking distance (approximately 20 minutes from the hotel). The area is very calm, and nice to walk by. An Edeka supermarket is also quite near, as well as various restaurants and bars.
The personnell and staff is very kind, and helpful for any need. Hotel's standards are quite high, and both common areas and rooms are very clean.
Overall, a very nice discovery, and certainly a place to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luigi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is all about location. It's great for exploring the entire city. The hotel itself is nice. The staff are friendly. However, the housekeeping isn't that great. For us, it was a good choice as the location was excellent. The metro station is couple of feet away but if you like walking, you can cover most of the sites on foot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Our five night break in Berlin was fabulous what a wonderful city . The derag hotel was fabulous just a stones throw from U2 underground station with trains running really frequently we only had to wait a max of 5 mins at any one time . Hotel was clean, with comfortable beds and a great en suite . The decor was a little dated but it was still really nice . Staff were friendly and helpful , we would recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My boyfriend have just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel, this isn't a 4 star hotel, the decor / furniture is tired, the curtains in the rooms had holes, the basin leaked, the shower curtain didn't work and the water went everywhere when you showered but and this is a big but - would I stay again - yes I would. The hotel is in an absolutely great location, we walked everywhere, less than 10 min walk to alexanderplatz, 15 min walk to main attractions and the cool Kreuzberg. It was also next to a tube. the beds were comfy and we were on the street side and did not find it noisy at all and slept fine (and i am a terribly lite sleeper). Free beer and water and more importantly great service from the staff, I found them very personable. Would I say I would have been happy to pay the rate online probably not but I did get a great rate from hotwire and both my boyfriend and I had a very happy stay - the cocktails are also very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diving9773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013, got a great deal through trivago at £45 a night. No complaints. The hotel is clean & friendly. The beds are big & comfy, the bathroom was big with a powerful hot shower. The hotel offer free water & beer in the rooms daily. It's in a great location next to the Märkisches Museum underground station on the U2 line, a short ride from all attractions.

We didn't go for the breakfast option as it was €16 a head on booking & you can get a breakfast buffet for around €6 in one of the many cafes around. Think the hotel realise this is expensive as they had a €10 offer on whilst we were there.

All in all I would recommend this hotel. Good value, good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location: it's very close to the metro station (Märkisches Museum stop), to a Supermarket (Alnatura) and to some other bakery and grocery shops. Moreover, it has a very good price considering its quality. Our room was wide and well furnished, we also had tea/coffee facilities and two free water and beer per day included into the price.

The only negative aspect was the lack of air conditioning or fans into the rooms, we would have liked it since we stayed there in some very hot days and our room was pretty hot at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parelbosav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
#70 of 634 in Berlin
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#76 of 634 in Berlin
1,425 reviews
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#87 of 634 in Berlin
601 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#82 of 634 in Berlin
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Property: Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Address: Neue Rossstr. 11-12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#66 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#102 Family Hotel in Berlin
#158 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing