We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service experienced at this great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Ranked #44 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor Service experienced at this great Hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked a family New Year holiday and stayed 3 x nights at the Radisson Blu , paying extra for the New Year party night. After a long drive and a difficult navigation around the centre of Berlin , we were greeted by the most unfriendly receptionist , who provided no Hotel information about our stay , or about the New Year's events.
The rooms are average size , nothing luxurious , very much a Business room for an individual ,not for a couple with a cot and small baby. We were charged extra for a room with a view of the cathedral , coffee machine ( no milk ) and a newspaper ( The Star !! , I asked for the Times).
Breakfast buffet was ok , lots of choices and unlimited supply of fresh coffee . Our real disappointment was the New year party , which closed at 11.30 pm and we were then expected to pay another 40 Euros each to view the fireworks from the top Floor until 2.00am . I am glad we didnt , as we were woken up at 6.30 am by a fire alarm and had to leave the Hotel , whilst the fire service arrived. No information was provided by the staff on duty and no apology .

If you want a business style Hotel with a great location , the Radisson is fine. However at 250+ Euros per night , I expected a lot more customer service and was very disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same size , the choice is either cathedral facing or interior facing into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mowbrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Berlin, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear mowbrab, first of all we would like to say thank you for writing some feedback. On behalf of our entire staff we apologize that you did not enjoy New Years Eve at our property. Your comment is very helpful and as you already mentioned we need to improve the communication after a fire alarm. Thank you for drawing our attention to this point. It would be a plesure to be your host again!

Best regards,
The General Manager`s Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,910
    1,568
    348
    89
    50
See reviews for
733
2,242
226
864
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having had a terrible nights stay at the Sofitel Heathrow T5 before departure, we arrived at this hotel fairly frustrated and tired to be frank.

As soon as we arrived, the reception staff were unbelievably polite and professional. We arrived way ahead of check in time with a view of dropping our bags off and then going for a walk. The staff advised that our room would be ready and we could go straight up. The team kindly upgraded us to a suite.

Stunning room! We only had breakfast at the hotel as had booked restaurants in Berlin that were recommended to us but the breakfasts were lovely and selection was vast.

Not one member of staff at this hotel failed to deliver top service.

We can not recommend this hotel high enough and will definitely be going back.

What a contrast with the experience of the Sofitel Hotel at T5!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed in this hotel attending a conference. The location is great, staff very friendly from bellman to receptionist. Lobby is impressive with its massive aquarium. he one think that I will take away is the staff friendliness. I loved this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mchour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is definitely one of the better in Berlin. The location is OK close to "Unter den Linen" and the Brandeburger Tor. The lobby with bar is quite impressive. It contains a huge aquarium. To clean it they have to use scuba divers...
The staff was very friendly and helpfull (e.g. they called somebody to have my boarding pass printed with their free account) and the checkout was efficient.
The breakfast (one of the things that is most important to me in a hotel) contained everything one needs to get through the day, even to skip lunch. The danish pastries offering was rather limited, but then let's say the total became healtier.
The rooms are standard but clean and with a separate toilet. With an eye for the environment, they offer you the possibility to reuse the towels in the bathroom. A similar offer could be added for the sheets on the bed (but is not available as far as I could see).
The hotel has a huge atrium built around the aquarium and one has the choice to have a room on the inner side or one with the street view. I chose the inner side.
I didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment from experience. It is true that the Berliner hotels are competing with each other with Michelin star resaurants (1st Floor in Palace, Les Solistes in the Waldorf Astoria, Fisher's Fritz in the Regent, etc ...). Something for the management to work on ?
One thing to note, but that is not linked to the hotel, since jan 1st 2014, one has to pay 7% city tax on the hotel rate.

Room Tip: If you take the inner side you have a view of the huge aquarium (and you can keep an eye on your rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Berlin, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Marc V, what a kind review!! We just want to say thank you for your recent stay with and for writing such a great feedback - I will share it with our entire team and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
The General Manager`s Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spend 2 nights here for sightseeing and it all was excellent. the rooms are large and modern, breakfast is really delicious and the central hall with the very large aquarium is really spectacular.
in terms of sight seeing, the location is excellent, you walk out the hotel and it is less than 100 meters to the museum island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed her in the lead up to Christmas - it was a great location with most attractions in walking distance - including three Christmas markets within a five minute walk. The rooms were comfortable and had all the amenities needed and it was a fun experience waking up to see the fish tank out the window!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

An amazing experience with the fish tank out the window/balcony. We've not seen anything like it before and were blown away. We would not stay anywhere else should we go back. Wifi was fantastic and staff delicious. Such an amazing place xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daxieho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#65 of 634 in Berlin
4,521 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 634 in Berlin
5,047 reviews
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#60 of 634 in Berlin
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#20 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the most exciting hotels in Berlin-Mitte. It is located in the historic centre directly on the bank of the river Spree and opposite to the Berlin Cathedral. Just a strolls away are restaurants, bars, boutiques, galleries and famous sights, such as Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Boulevard Unter den Linden and the exclusive shops along Friedrichstrasse. Public transport, Berlin airport and the Messe Berlin fairground are within easy reach. A unique attraction is the AquaDom at the hotel lobby. It is the world’s largest cylindrical aquarium with a fascinating underwater world in one million litres of salt-water. 427 non-smoking guest rooms and suites combine timeless elegance with cutting edge comfort. The clear design in the puristic style reflects urban trends. The dark wood and warm tones of the high-class furniture create a homely atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press, laptop-size safe, air-conditioning, minibar, tea and coffee provisions. Wireless-LAN and high-speed Internet access is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Radisson Berlin
Berlin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing