We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fish are the Stars of the Show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Ranked #45 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The Fish are the Stars of the Show”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was treated to a night here by my boyfriend on our last night in Berlin. We are both mid 20s with good jobs but this isn't the kind of thing we would be able to afford all the time.

We'd come from an eco hotel in Charlottenberg and I must say we were pretty unimpressed with the hotel in general in comparison to the one we'd just left.

There was a nice blonde lady on the desk, and she gave us some good recommendations for breakfast in the area (the hotel breakfast is 25 euros). However, the service was no better than other places I've been to. We asked the concierge girl about maybe booking a late night trip up the tv tower but she just told us it's too busy right now.

The room was just average, and we said that our 30 euro a night eco hotel actually had the better bed and shower.

What saved this hotel is of course the fish tank in the middle. I could have sat there watching them all night long (so it was perhaps a good thing that they turned off their light at 9pm). There is a lift going up through the middle of the tank but sadly this is not for hotel guests but for people visiting the aquarium. If they'd let guests on the lift as well it would add an extra star for the hotel for me.

Although the hotel is massive, we didn't see many other guests. It's hard to tell who is who in the lobby where some people are guests, some just come in for a photo, and some come in for a coffee. I'm guessing they get a large amount of people like my boyfriend and I who go for a treat. I'd probably say to people like that reading this that you're better off buying an aquarium ticket and staying at another hotel. Sure, the location is good but with all the road works, it's not that pretty outside anyway and the restaurants nearby are mainly tourist trap types anyway. Save your money and go to one a little further out.

Room Tip: If you are keen on staying here then be sure to get a room facing the fish. There's no point sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_igirisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,798
    1,510
    335
    82
    46
See reviews for
696
2,149
219
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently stayed in the radisson blu berlin and liked the location but found it was expensive for what you get.

The rooms were satisfactory but think that soon the decor will need updating.

The breakfast was outstanding but it should be based on the room price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 4 nights early October. Great location, well appointed rooms and a superb breakfast buffet. Must compliment the staff on their friendly yet professional approach. Plenty of restaurants in immediate vicinity and most attractions within a 20-25 minute walk. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am not staying at the Radisson Blu while in a Berlin, but I should be. The staff assisted me with a terrifying problem earlier today. My husband has early stage Alzheimer's Disease and we managed to become separated on the very busy intersection near this hotel. I walked back and forth searching for him for over an hour before deciding to approach the doorman with my problem. He was immediately responsive and got me to the desk so that a police officer could be called. Do not underestimate this act of concern and kindness by the doorman, who is in fact, the gate keeper for a hotel. Before calling the police, the staff called my hotel only to discover that my husband had not returned. He is 75 and some days are fine and other, not so. The correct police division could not be reached at that time so I left to sear more on the streets, promising to return for another attempt at reaching the police. After another 20 minutes I was exhausted, afraid, worried all rolled into one. As I entered the hotel a number of staff were smiling at me and motioning me over. My husband had returned to our hotel (he has the address in his wallet and he remembered to use it for a taxi). The staff seemed as relieved as I and I also took a taxi home.

Now I know that some would expect this type of assistance for a guest at the hotel, and yes, staff at other hotels might have been as responsive and concerned. But THIS staff actually did it. They came through for me and I want other trip advisor users to know this. Last year I completed 6 months of weekly chemo and still do not have red cells in the normal range. I want to thank this staff for making my difficult afternoon a bit easier. I was not alone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Walking in, your eyes simply wander up to the impressive aquarium that dominates the lobby. The hotel centers around this aquarium and it‘s quite the nice view if you have an inward-facing room. Staff is very friendly and their service impeccable. The hotel is located right across the river Spree from the Berlin Cathedral & Museumsinsel and within walking distance from Alexander Platz, Brandenburger Tor, Reichstag and Nikolaiviertel. A great spot to start exploring the city.

Make sure you take the time to enjoy the sumptuous breakfast buffet or have a cup of coffee on their terrace facing the Spree.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Radisson Blu for 2 nights. Eric the barman made us very welcome :-) Hotel is within walking distance of all the main attractions of Berlin. Turn left & left again when you leave the hotel & walk through the train station to get to some great restaurants & shops. Suggest trying Olivia's Italian restaurant as the food is excellent with hugh portions. (Accross the street from the train station)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilfdlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

In the middle of Berlin, next to the Alexanderplatz, good service, good rooms and an amazing huge aquarium in the lobby which you can see from the glass elevators. Under the hotel there is the DDR museum and in the same complex the Berlin Sea world. There are several restaurants also in the building. Good connections to the tram, local trains and the bus line to the Berlin Tegel TXL airport goes from the front of the hotel. HDTV televisions in the rooms are also nice to have. Some of the rooms have also a good view with a balcony towards the TV tower, Rotes Rathaus and Museuminsel. The breakfast was also very nice and the spa area too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ata_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#54 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#34 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Berlin
#20 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the most exciting hotels in Berlin-Mitte. It is located in the historic centre directly on the bank of the river Spree and opposite to the Berlin Cathedral. Just a strolls away are restaurants, bars, boutiques, galleries and famous sights, such as Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Boulevard Unter den Linden and the exclusive shops along Friedrichstrasse. Public transport, Berlin airport and the Messe Berlin fairground are within easy reach. A unique attraction is the AquaDom at the hotel lobby. It is the world’s largest cylindrical aquarium with a fascinating underwater world in one million litres of salt-water. 427 non-smoking guest rooms and suites combine timeless elegance with cutting edge comfort. The clear design in the puristic style reflects urban trends. The dark wood and warm tones of the high-class furniture create a homely atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press, laptop-size safe, air-conditioning, minibar, tea and coffee provisions. Wireless-LAN and high-speed Internet access is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Radisson Berlin
Berlin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing