We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Ranked #45 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have to admit that I booked the Hotel Blu because of it's great rate. When you arrive into the lobby you have to take a step back - the focal point of the lobby is a giant blue fish tank full of tropical fish and sharks. It's a very interesting centerpiece for any hotel, but you sure don't expect to find a fish tank like this in the center of Berlin.
The lobby was really busy. I checked in at the front desk. Check-in was a little like a factory and not overly friendly. I was told the hotel was full and all they had left was a handicapped room. This was actually a blessing as the room was larger and it was on the first floor with a great view of the lobby and this crazy fish tank. The bathroom had a walk in handicapped shower with railings. It wasn't very pretty, but it worked.
My room was huge. I had a fun view of the lobby, overlooking the bar. Although you need to keep your curtains drawn as the whole lobby is also looking into your room! I found the whole room very comfortable in a kind of sparse German way.
The first night I was worried because the bar below was very loud. A loud and late going group kept laughing and shouting. I was really worried I might have to change rooms, but luckily the other three nights were quiet and this loud group was the exception. If you are up or away from the bar I doubt this will be a concern.
The area around the hotel is good, you are in the old East Berlin near the landmark TV tower and walkable to the Brandenberg Tor. There are a lot of good restaurants and shops nearby.
I found the feel of this place to be a little busy. The staff was professional, however not overly friendly. I found the concierge to be business like, but was not helpful with information like finding a quick place to eat.
My one other small complaint was that although I liked my lobby view, I could not see outside. I found this a little disconcerting as I could never tell what the weather was like outside - but I did trade that for a fun view of the fish tank!
Overall I found the location to be good, my room large and comfortable and the price was fantastic for what I was given, I would return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up a little bit if you are on the lobby. The lower rooms near the lobby can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,257 of 5,138 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for recent business trip. Hotel is typical Euro-Biz hotel: anonymous modern architecture, small but well appointed room with Ikea-esque furniture, basically comfortable. Even has free internet, which is nice. The difference is the crazy lobby -- a 6-story atrium with a huge aquarium extending from the floor to the ceiling in an enormous column (with a glass elevator inside). The view from my 5th floor room was of fish going by! Neat!

Location is nice, a (not very picturesque) 10-min walk to Alexanderplatz, the public transpo center of the Berlin Universe, and a (much nicer) 10-min walk to Hackerschermarkt and it's endless shopping, restaurant, and nightlife options.

No complaints, overall very nice hotel for business trip, would also work well for tourist trips due to its great location.

Room Tip: Get an inward-facing room for a view of the fish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Blu for x-mas 2012- the hotel was nicely decorated and of course the fish tank is cool. The location of the hotel was convenient to the museums and the x-mas market. The rooms themselves were normal commercial fair-nothing special. In general I probably would have stayed at a different hotel in the same area and taken the ride through the fish tank and saved a few bucks.

Room Tip: Pick a Tank view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very nice hotel with a perfect location for sight seeing. We were able to walk to most of the sights which is always handy. The aquarium is amazing to look at and is great to sit under when you are at the bar, which has really nice cocktails!
The spa is ideal to go to after a day of walking around Berlin, however there were quite a lot of naked people floating around which was a little uncomfortable. All the brits were in swimsuits though!
After much deliberation we went for a room with an outside view instead of one facing the aquarium. This was better as you woke up to natural light and we spent most evenings in the bar anyway so we got to see the aquarium then. All personal preference I suppose!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

...although I had a weird internal room that faced the amazing fish tank. Depressingly little natural light in the winter months as the atrium room did not let much light in. Check out the photos to see what I mean.

My colleague had a room that faced the cathedral and his experience was much better. Ask for one of these rooms.

The beds were comfortable, the pillows that flat, German style. The bathroom was serviceable and clean - there was a bath that you had to step up into.

The staff were really good as was the quality of the food for breakfast.

All in all, get the right room and you will love its location and unusual lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main entrance or the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kleckerweise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Radisson Blue in Berlin is well located and has an exceptional staff. The to unique element of this hotel is its seven story aquarium which is built around an elevator! Adults and kids alike will find this hotel's aqua elevator stunning and fascinating. I've never ridden inside an aquarium and it is not to be missed.

Our room was spacious and clean and had a nice view of the city. The restaurant and lobby bar are both excellent. It is close to shopping and to site seeing. All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: There are internal facing rooms with balconies overlooking the aquarium as well as external facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaucoupdetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Martin Wolf, one of the hotel's concierges, is the most helpful person we've ever encountered. He made our stay delightful, along with the lovely room and the delicious breakfasts. The huge aquarium in the hotel's center is a plus, as is the location next to many, many restaurants and a city tour bus stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not overlooking the central aquarium, although some people prefer this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mendelsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#67 of 633 in Berlin
4,693 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 633 in Berlin
3,142 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#27 of 633 in Berlin
5,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,924 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#20 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $147 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the most exciting hotels in Berlin-Mitte. It is located in the historic centre directly on the bank of the river Spree and opposite to the Berlin Cathedral. Just a strolls away are restaurants, bars, boutiques, galleries and famous sights, such as Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Boulevard Unter den Linden and the exclusive shops along Friedrichstrasse. Public transport, Berlin airport and the Messe Berlin fairground are within easy reach. A unique attraction is the AquaDom at the hotel lobby. It is the world’s largest cylindrical aquarium with a fascinating underwater world in one million litres of salt-water. 427 non-smoking guest rooms and suites combine timeless elegance with cutting edge comfort. The clear design in the puristic style reflects urban trends. The dark wood and warm tones of the high-class furniture create a homely atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press, laptop-size safe, air-conditioning, minibar, tea and coffee provisions. Wireless-LAN and high-speed Internet access is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Radisson Berlin
Berlin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing