We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Ranked #46 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this hotel due to the reviews on trip advisor, and the fish tank. I found the reception staff pretty cold, and not very warm and inviting, but then again it is a business hotel.

The beds were not nice, they were really small and uncomfortable and they were basically a double bed split into two and pushed apart, I'm 5"2 and my feet sometimes were dangling off the end or the sides and I couldn't really move around without falling off.

We were told at reception we could upgrade our rooms for a view of the Dome and breakfast for 25 euros extra a night. We had booked no breakfast as we wanted to try and eat as many different foods as we can. But the view of the fish tank was nice. There is an extra price to go up the fish tank lift, we didn't as we saw the fish tank everyday.

We had full access to the spa, but no one told us it was a naked spa! We went downstairs and into the sauna in our swimwear and realised there were alot of naked men and women, and saw a sign which simply states you're not allowed to wear swimsuits or towels, so we gathered our things and didn't go back to the spa ever.

The room service was okay, although we did order some teas to our rooms and it did take about an hour to come, and when they came they were cold and the man left before we could say anything.

We had things such as dressing gowns, irons and ironing boards taken out of our room by the cleaners when we were out for the day, although when we booked we were under the impression that all those items would be in the room all the time.

The hotel bar was okay, very expensive though, but we did get the business hotel vibe alot, mainly as it was mostly business men and women in the bar. It's in a great location though, we were right next to the Dome, and a few minutes awya from places such as check point charlie, berlin wall and museum island.

Just dont stay here if you're looking to have a family run hotel or anything as this is strictly just a business hotel. But it is nice, I just didn't like the beds.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomnom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,303 - 2,309 of 5,076 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed in a number of Radisson Blu hotels and it is difficult to fault the room standards. I read with amusement on the reviews commenting on the shower set-up and it is perhaps a little strange; then again, I could count on one hand the number of times I have found a standard hotel plumbing system and sometimes think there needs to be a tertiary degree on working out how not to have the shower head spray you as you first turn on the tap. I also concur that the Heat Restaurant has a reasonably limited menu for a hotel of this size; however, the meals I ate there were very good and the breakfast buffet is certainly up to a high standard. But if location is a key decision in choosing a hotel, you need to think whether this hotel is your best option (and for me it was). If the Museums and nightlife of Mitte are your thing (keeping in mind the many offerings in the Mitte area can get noisy) then the Radisson Blu is located well, being right at the start of Unter Den Linden next to Berliner Dom. But if the Parliament, Checkpoint Charlie, Zoo and Tiergarten rate higher, then closer hotels would be a better option. I was also not aware of the large amount of construction being undertaken along Unter Den Linden for the new subway and around the Hauptbahnhof so transport times (should you be using a taxi) are longer than normal if you are not close to where you want to be. I used the spa facilities and they were of a good standard and the huge cylindrical aquarium in the hotel lobby is certainly visually stunning. I also found most staff to be friendly although service on one or two occasions was a little slower than I would prefer (but thats a personal view). Overall, I have stayed at better hotels but if the Museums are your main interest, you will be hard pressed to find a better location; they are a 10 min easy walk.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank RobT773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Another splendid week spent in Berlin at the Radisson Blu hotel. All the facilities still first class but was slightly disappointed with the Heat restaurant - excellent quality but the menu a bit limited, but plenty of eating places nearby. Will be back!!

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the River Spree and Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The fish tank in the lobby is a great attraction not only for the lobby but as we had an inside view meant that this was continued as you awoke in the morning. The rest of the amenities where good although the restaurant Heat attached to the hotel was disappointing in terms of menu although the quality was ok. I would expect from a 5 star hotel a far better variety of menu.
Only watch out is the spa facilities which where typically German there are a few naked bodies about. So if you are more wet suit than birthday suit then close your eyes.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stussy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Despite the stunning aquarium in the atrium, it can be a bit soulless. Yes, it is orientated to business travellers, but everything is clean, the room is soundproof and it has everything you need (ours was a superior one with a great view to the cathedral), the breakfast if very good, the service is prompt and is located just opposite the museums island and close to a train station.

For us the location could not have been better – it allowed us to explore the museums, walk through the centre of Berlin and travel outside the centre of the town very easily. Next time when we came to Berlin we will like to check again in this hotel.

Room Tip: the 3 days musums card is very useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marininlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here when we visited Berlin for the marathon in September. The hotel is located near Museum Island. The rooms are clean and modern. The bed (which we thought was a queen size) is in fact two double beds pushed together. During the night, they separate, creating a gap. The mattress is also on the hard side. The bathroom door is a problem - hard to shut (you basically have to slam it shut). The bathroom shower is also difficult to operate. When I called to ask how to turn the shower on, they refused to talk me through the process over the phone and insisted they had to show me in person. But the real problem with this hotel is their deceptive practice concerning their daily breakfast. At check-in, we were told that our rate did not include breakfast. Based on that representation, we did not eat the hotel breakfast during our stay. When we checked out our bill showed a breakdown of our nightly rate which included a charge for the daily breakfast. Even after explaining that at check-in we were told breakfast was not included in the room rate and that we did not actually eat the breakfast, the hotel still refused to remove the charge. So they lied to us at check-in and then charged us a daily per-person fee for breakfast that we did not eat. Horrible customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valeri004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Berlin, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry for your inconveniences and would like to invite you to discuss your experience further. Please contact me directly under gm.berza@radissonblu.com and give us a chance to clarify your experience with our entire staff involved. Guest satisfaction is our first priority and daily performance and it would be helpful to share your direct feedback with the immediate Management to improve our levels of service and correct shortcomings as they appear.

Once more we appreciate you take the time to share your experiences with us and thank you again with best regards from Berlin Ralph Goetzmann General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the hotel within walking distance of the Alexanderplatz and Unter den Linden is very convenient for everything. The Fernsehturm (TV tower), Museum Island, and DDR museum are on the doorstep, along with dozens or restaurants and bars. Breakfast buffet in the hotel was outstanding. The restaurant also serves an excellent evening meal. There is a beautiful five-story aquarium in the lobby...a fantastic sight. Service was good...except for one 'misunderstanding'. We had a business suite and the room size was good. Other amenities were also satisfactory. Excellent view of the Spree River and Berliner Dom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tubby82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#66 of 635 in Berlin
4,627 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 635 in Berlin
5,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,883 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#20 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $151 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the most exciting hotels in Berlin-Mitte. It is located in the historic centre directly on the bank of the river Spree and opposite to the Berlin Cathedral. Just a strolls away are restaurants, bars, boutiques, galleries and famous sights, such as Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Boulevard Unter den Linden and the exclusive shops along Friedrichstrasse. Public transport, Berlin airport and the Messe Berlin fairground are within easy reach. A unique attraction is the AquaDom at the hotel lobby. It is the world’s largest cylindrical aquarium with a fascinating underwater world in one million litres of salt-water. 427 non-smoking guest rooms and suites combine timeless elegance with cutting edge comfort. The clear design in the puristic style reflects urban trends. The dark wood and warm tones of the high-class furniture create a homely atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press, laptop-size safe, air-conditioning, minibar, tea and coffee provisions. Wireless-LAN and high-speed Internet access is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Radisson Berlin
Berlin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing