We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If location is the key decision, then think twice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Ranked #37 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If location is the key decision, then think twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed in a number of Radisson Blu hotels and it is difficult to fault the room standards. I read with amusement on the reviews commenting on the shower set-up and it is perhaps a little strange; then again, I could count on one hand the number of times I have found a standard hotel plumbing system and sometimes think there needs to be a tertiary degree on working out how not to have the shower head spray you as you first turn on the tap. I also concur that the Heat Restaurant has a reasonably limited menu for a hotel of this size; however, the meals I ate there were very good and the breakfast buffet is certainly up to a high standard. But if location is a key decision in choosing a hotel, you need to think whether this hotel is your best option (and for me it was). If the Museums and nightlife of Mitte are your thing (keeping in mind the many offerings in the Mitte area can get noisy) then the Radisson Blu is located well, being right at the start of Unter Den Linden next to Berliner Dom. But if the Parliament, Checkpoint Charlie, Zoo and Tiergarten rate higher, then closer hotels would be a better option. I was also not aware of the large amount of construction being undertaken along Unter Den Linden for the new subway and around the Hauptbahnhof so transport times (should you be using a taxi) are longer than normal if you are not close to where you want to be. I used the spa facilities and they were of a good standard and the huge cylindrical aquarium in the hotel lobby is certainly visually stunning. I also found most staff to be friendly although service on one or two occasions was a little slower than I would prefer (but thats a personal view). Overall, I have stayed at better hotels but if the Museums are your main interest, you will be hard pressed to find a better location; they are a 10 min easy walk.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RobT773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,506
    1,354
    280
    72
    41
See reviews for
605
1,911
199
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corse Lawn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Another splendid week spent in Berlin at the Radisson Blu hotel. All the facilities still first class but was slightly disappointed with the Heat restaurant - excellent quality but the menu a bit limited, but plenty of eating places nearby. Will be back!!

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the River Spree and Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The fish tank in the lobby is a great attraction not only for the lobby but as we had an inside view meant that this was continued as you awoke in the morning. The rest of the amenities where good although the restaurant Heat attached to the hotel was disappointing in terms of menu although the quality was ok. I would expect from a 5 star hotel a far better variety of menu.
Only watch out is the spa facilities which where typically German there are a few naked bodies about. So if you are more wet suit than birthday suit then close your eyes.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stussy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Despite the stunning aquarium in the atrium, it can be a bit soulless. Yes, it is orientated to business travellers, but everything is clean, the room is soundproof and it has everything you need (ours was a superior one with a great view to the cathedral), the breakfast if very good, the service is prompt and is located just opposite the museums island and close to a train station.

For us the location could not have been better – it allowed us to explore the museums, walk through the centre of Berlin and travel outside the centre of the town very easily. Next time when we came to Berlin we will like to check again in this hotel.

Room Tip: the 3 days musums card is very useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marininlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here when we visited Berlin for the marathon in September. The hotel is located near Museum Island. The rooms are clean and modern. The bed (which we thought was a queen size) is in fact two double beds pushed together. During the night, they separate, creating a gap. The mattress is also on the hard side. The bathroom door is a problem - hard to shut (you basically have to slam it shut). The bathroom shower is also difficult to operate. When I called to ask how to turn the shower on, they refused to talk me through the process over the phone and insisted they had to show me in person. But the real problem with this hotel is their deceptive practice concerning their daily breakfast. At check-in, we were told that our rate did not include breakfast. Based on that representation, we did not eat the hotel breakfast during our stay. When we checked out our bill showed a breakdown of our nightly rate which included a charge for the daily breakfast. Even after explaining that at check-in we were told breakfast was not included in the room rate and that we did not actually eat the breakfast, the hotel still refused to remove the charge. So they lied to us at check-in and then charged us a daily per-person fee for breakfast that we did not eat. Horrible customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valeri004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Berlin, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry for your inconveniences and would like to invite you to discuss your experience further. Please contact me directly under gm.berza@radissonblu.com and give us a chance to clarify your experience with our entire staff involved. Guest satisfaction is our first priority and daily performance and it would be helpful to share your direct feedback with the immediate Management to improve our levels of service and correct shortcomings as they appear.

Once more we appreciate you take the time to share your experiences with us and thank you again with best regards from Berlin Ralph Goetzmann General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the hotel within walking distance of the Alexanderplatz and Unter den Linden is very convenient for everything. The Fernsehturm (TV tower), Museum Island, and DDR museum are on the doorstep, along with dozens or restaurants and bars. Breakfast buffet in the hotel was outstanding. The restaurant also serves an excellent evening meal. There is a beautiful five-story aquarium in the lobby...a fantastic sight. Service was good...except for one 'misunderstanding'. We had a business suite and the room size was good. Other amenities were also satisfactory. Excellent view of the Spree River and Berliner Dom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubby82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Prime location ib Berlin Mitte. Next to Berlin Cathedral.
Buses 100 and 200 a few meters from doorstep.
We had an external room with a little balcony.
Excellent room, spacious and well Equipped.
Great bathroom, clean and good sizeed. Breakfast buffet plentiful and delicious.
Plenty of restaurants around hotel, in a covered passage.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#57 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,856 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#40 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#2 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#20 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#34 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the most exciting hotels in Berlin-Mitte. It is located in the historic centre directly on the bank of the river Spree and opposite to the Berlin Cathedral. Just a strolls away are restaurants, bars, boutiques, galleries and famous sights, such as Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Boulevard Unter den Linden and the exclusive shops along Friedrichstrasse. Public transport, Berlin airport and the Messe Berlin fairground are within easy reach. A unique attraction is the AquaDom at the hotel lobby. It is the world’s largest cylindrical aquarium with a fascinating underwater world in one million litres of salt-water. 427 non-smoking guest rooms and suites combine timeless elegance with cutting edge comfort. The clear design in the puristic style reflects urban trends. The dark wood and warm tones of the high-class furniture create a homely atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press, laptop-size safe, air-conditioning, minibar, tea and coffee provisions. Wireless-LAN and high-speed Internet access is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Rezidor and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Radisson Berlin
Berlin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing