We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$114
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$183
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$130
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$114
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$59
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$366
$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,368)
Filter reviews
5,368 results
Traveler rating
3,128
1,698
382
103
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,128
1,698
382
103
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish tankhuge aquariummuseum islandheat restauranta business class roomamazing aquariumaquarium viewtv towerroom facingsmall balconybrandenburg gatespree riverhotel lobbyfantastic hotelalexanderplatz stationalexander platzhackescher markt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,815 - 2,820 of 5,368 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I entertained a number of clients at this hotel during my week-long stay. I don't typically scrutinize the bill in front of clients as I feel this can make things awkward - boy, I wish I had. There were so many irregularities in pricing from night to night, it was crazy. It was only when I sat down and looked through the collection of receipts did I realize this. However, once you sign it - it's set in stone. Upon check-out really had to battle with them to correct this.

Also, the mini bar scam is alive and well at this hotel. If you so much as move a drink, you will be charged. That was another battle.

Otherwise, I really like this hotel - except for the smell and the tourists and the sporadic internet.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank pachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We booked the Raddison Blu Berlin based on the central location. It’s smack bang next to the Berliner Dom Cathedral, looking right over the River Spree to the World Heritage Site Museum Island. It is on Karl Leibkneckt Strasse which crosses the Spree and turns into Unter Den Linden, Berlin’s grand boulevard. Walk along this avenue and you find Frederick Strasse crosses it, this is the trendy and upmarket shopping street. Keep wandering and you reach the Brandenberg Gate. Even more interesting are the cool little shops and cafes around Oranienburger strasse in the Mitte district.

The hotel lobby is its drawcard, seen in all the pictures. A million litre fish tank, which forms part of the neighbouring sea life exhibition, can be seen from the lobby and while riding the glass elevators.

Desk staff were helpful and polite. The concierge were helpful and tenacious when tasked with tracking down a lost luggage item.

We checked in to a business class room on the top floor with a fantastic view of the Berliner Dom. Angels and Saints greeted us every time we stepped into the room or woke and threw back the curtains. The spree below and Berliners lured out by the sun made the view well worth the extra money. The single beds pushed together was a bit unexpected. Two single beds do not equal a Queen – the gap makes you very aware you are in a single bed.

The room itself was clean and functional. It was bright and cheerful with good lighting and storage areas for clothes and luggage. The bathroom had a shower in the bath and a strange shared door that swang between the toilet and bathroom.

The climate control system in the room was a considerable problem. The weather turned warm and the room did not cope. Outside in the hall was cool, as was the air outside the French doors. However, we were warned not to open the doors for fear of mosquitoes filing the room, which indeed they did one evening. The climate system seemed to whaft mildly chilled air, but left the room stuffy and uncomfortably warm. Clarify the issue with the hotel before you book in summer as these things are often under the central control of the hotel depending on whether central heating or cooling is engaged.

The breakfast was of an excellent standard. The bread was fresh, the meats appealing and the juices and coffee all of a high standard. Service was crisp, quick and without a hint of arrogance or stand off-ishness.

The hotels fitness area is located in the basement. It is a bit small and gloomy. The gym is small with only two treadmills, two elliptical trainers and one bike. There is a sauna area that is functional, clean but not appealing.
The pool is 13 meters with an awkward set of steps that restrict the real length to about 11 meters. There are swim jets at one end, one of which was broken, which was not acknowledged by the desk staff. The jets are really only adequate for swimming if you are a weak swimmer and rather obese to increase your resistance to the jet stream. If you plan to lap swim it can be done, but prepare to turn a lot and abandon hope if more than two locals get in the pool (they tend to swim a very wide breast stroke and ferociously defend their right to get in your way.

A good hotel, well worth considering if you want a smart, clean and well located place. Even better if you like fish and warm rooms.

Room Tip: Business room with view of Berliner Dom
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed at Radisson Blu Hotel for 4 nights in March for city break. Speedy and efficient check in and offered choice of room. Could opt for one overlooking atrium and aquarium or park. Safe and secure as you need your key pass to activate lift. Room well appointed and very comfortable. Space saving door which doubled as both bathroom and toilet door depending which way you closed it!. slight problem with room safe which was rectified with speed. Very quiet rooms. No noise from corridor or traffic.
Spa facility (which I think was a franchise) was a little disappointing. Staff somewhat dour and curt. Pool very small and not well heated. Ladies might like to note policy of no swimwear in sauna/steam room. Suggest do not go if easily offended as men have tendency to "strut their stuff!!"
Buffet breakfast and absolute delight. staff have clearly been trained to extremely high standard and attention to detail was clearly obvious. Plentiful array of food, regularly replenished and all of high quality. Specialty coffees available at no extra charge.
Hotel well located opposite river from cathedral. Convenient for metro stations and tram stops. Easy walking distance for Brandenburg Gate and other tourist sights. Easy access to sightseeing bus which was great value.
Sensational aquarium from next door sea life centre is an integral part of lobby area.
Only downside of stay was the hassle from Bosnian beggars who are present at all main tourist areas.....best policy is completely ignore them!
All in all a great hotel which enhanced our city break, and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Radisson Blu Berlin is a one of a kind hotel, as is the only hotel that I’ve been that has a giant aquarium on the lobby, which I found very impressive. Don’t get me wrong, the hotel still provides the usual great standards of comfort, cleanliness, that one expects to find in other Radisson hotels, but it’s got something more, it’s not just another boring hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Having read a previous report reagrding "single beds pulled together to make a double" I requested a stand alone "Double". On arrival I was advised it was two singles. When I queried it the the guy looked at me blankly, said nothing and walked off to whisper to a colleague - returned and still said nothing but just produced new papers. I asked had it the same view and was told yes, however it clearly wasn't as it looked out on the side of the adjoing building then unprompted by us the chap with the luggage said this is not a good room and offerred to return to the desk and re-arrange. After about twenty minutes I called reception ( we had been travelling since 4.30am ) to be told "he's in the lift" " in a tone of utter dis-interest. Another example of slightly arch behaviour was on asking the Concierge where the "cloakroom" was which prompted teh response "cloakroom ?" leaving me to say "Toilet". Trivial stuff maybe but this type of pedantic nonsense can be tiresome. Any Concierge of an International hotel chain should be familiar with the numerous labels used for a toilet from Loo through Restroom,Bathroom,Cloakroom etc. In contrast the girl at the breakfast desk was charming and effecient. Leaving all of the above fairly minor stuff aside its a terrific hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carragollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews