We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little metro trip from the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Am Borsigturm
Ranked #193 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Hokksund, Norway
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A little metro trip from the centre”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Best Western Premier Hotel am Borsigturm. It is pretty close to the soon to close Tegel airport and neighbour to several companies and the Hallen am Bursigturm shopping centre. With U6 from the close by U-bahn station it takes 17 minutes to reach Friedrichstrasse station.

The welcome from the reception was very friendly and informing. You get free WiFi connection codes by the recptionist.

The rooms are well equipped and nice.

The buffet brakfast consist of warm and cold dishes. It contains something for everyone.

The bed is good and I liked the mattress very well.

If you like living a little way from the busy city center I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    123
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
62
31
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I chose the Hotel am Borsigturm as I wanted to be fairly close to Tegel airport and, at the same time, near a subway station to get me into Berlin.
The hotel is a very interesting structure being part of an office building taking up very little land yet provides about 100 bedrooms in a semi-circle on 5 floors.
It offered everything and even more as I chose the special summer tariff at Euro 198.00 for 3 nights which includes a welcome cocktail, a bottle of Prosecco and a bottle of mineral water.
The hotel also provides complimentary coffee, tea, soft drinks, hot chocolate on a 24 hour basis and you can enjoy a substantial and varied breakfast every morning until 10.00 am and until 12.00 am on the weekend.
German papers are free and so are bicycles if you fancy a ride along Lake Tegel which is only around the corner.
The service in the hotel is excellent, the staff is friendly and extremely helpful and if you came by car then they even provide a bucket with water, a sponge and a squeeze so you can clean your windscreen before you leave.
Prices in the bar a very reasonably and even cheaper than in the traditional Berlin pubs and the bar stays open until well after midnight.
The U6 station (Borsigwerke) is literally on the door step and the underground runs every 10 minutes right into the centre to Friedrichstrasse without having to change trains.
All rooms have wireless internet and there a two computer and a printer in the lobby, all free of charge and part of the service.
Tegel airport is about 4km away and easily reached by taxi (about 15 Euros) or by subway/bus.
If you fancy to go out and have a traditional German or maybe Italian, Indian, Balkan etc meal then you find all these in Old Tegel which is one subway station away if you don’t want to walk it (15 minutes)
Alternatively you could just walk over the road to the Shopping Centre ‘Borsighallen’ which has numerous eating places including a McDonalds and a large number of shops on 3 floors.
In comparison to the prices charged in the United Kingdom this is a bargain which should not be missed and when I in Berlin next time I will most certainly go back to the Best Western Hotel am Borsigturm.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floors as they tend to be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpumpernickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel is in good condition, the room was spacious, in a good condition and clean. Friendly staff. The breakfast buffet was great.
There are a number of restaurants and shops in a shopping mall near by, but in general the hotel is quite far away from the Berlin center. Recommend to have a car ...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigermaus7978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Very convenient as only walking distance from the hotel to my work place, basic but neat and tidy. Things that I love most is the drinks they provide at common area, the hot chocolate just make my day especially during winter time. The only thing that I don't like is the thin wall as I can hear the next door very clear which I can't bare with...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was a guest here for 11 days on a business trip. Generally the hotel is preferred due its location to my meeting place and there's a subway station just a stone's throw away and a medium-sized shopping mall (with McDonalds) just across the street. I found it clean and the room amenities are well maintained. Found the pillows too soft, and I had neckaches too often as a result. There was also no coffee making facilities and sachets of tea or instant coffee, as well as no hot water kettle was given in the room. Now comes the other parts which I didnt like. The breakfast buffet was pretty below average and the waiting staff were cold, stern-looking and robot-like. Tables have to be shared with strangers due to over-crowding in the morning. Basic breakfast items like fried eggs and bacon & sausages have to be specially ordered and they often forget what you ordered. The quality of the food was rather poor and unpalatable.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the lower floors and closer to the lifts in the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romuluz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is nice, the building is impressive, the rooms are comfortable and spacious and they serve a great room service meal.

The staff are also friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincom_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Was visiting Berlin for a night and wanted a place to stay that had parking, internet and good rates. Two out of three isn't bad, but I didn't realize that until it was too late.

The hotel itself is quite nice and modern in design. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the internet is free and has good flow. As others have written, breakfast here is plentiful with a wide selection and quite good.

The room itself was comfortable and modern. Clean and fresh. Bathroom was nice and spacious and in my room there was a large curtained window that looked down into the courtyard below - which is opportune if you want to give the people down below a show!

The odd thing I thought was the bathroom condiments. I had just come from the Best Western in Bamberg where they offered a wide array of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc, and here I was at a Best Western Premier hotel and all they had were the wall mounted shampoo-slash-body wash dispensers. Kinda disappointing when this is supposed to be amongst the chains best.

Then there was the parking. Parking is available, down the block and across the street in the Borsigturm parking garage. Just drive there and bring your ticket back and it's something like 6,50 euros. Inconvenient at best. You'd think they would have designed this building with parking.

I was a bit irritated by this situation and decided to worry about it after I had returned from my cruise around Berlin. After doing my thing around the city, I returned to the hotel around 11pm and found plenty of street parking that was formerly occupied by the office workers in the surrounding buildings - so parking was then easy and free!

Overall, I liked this hotel and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BmoreTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
0.6 mi away
Central-Hotel Tegel
Central-Hotel Tegel
#515 of 634 in Berlin
63 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Airport Hotel Berlin Tegel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alt - Tegel
Hotel Alt - Tegel
#445 of 634 in Berlin
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Berlin West
Days Inn Berlin West
#257 of 634 in Berlin
385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rheinsberg am SeeHotel
Rheinsberg am SeeHotel
#330 of 634 in Berlin
59 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#321 of 634 in Berlin
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Am Borsigturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Am Borsigturm

Property: Best Western Hotel Am Borsigturm
Address: Am Borsigturm 1 | 13507 Berlin, 13507 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Business Hotel in Berlin
#126 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#146 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Am Borsigturm 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel am Borsigturm, as an architectural masterpiece, impresses through its exclusive furnishings and decor with noble ambience and guaranteed sound-proof windows and doors for a high quality sound sleep. Situated in a quiet area near Tegel Lake with easy access by U-Bahn (underground), S-Bahn (overhead railway), bus or Autobahn (motorway). These advantageous public transport connections enable you to reach the capital cultural highlights comfortably in the shortest time (15 minutes to Friedrichstrasse in the city centre). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Am Borsigturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing