We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good traditional German food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Wiesenstein

Restaurant Wiesenstein
Ranked #1,283 of 8,176 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Schoneberg
EU
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good traditional German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good food and service. Try Elephant ear Schnitzel and chicken soup :-) Also the Tripe is very good

Helpful?
Thank badbeartx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    77
    15
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TLV, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Defiantly worth a visit !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great local food. The stuff is helpful, kind and efficient. Although the restaurant was full all dishes arrived on time, hot as needed and most of all very tasty. A various of dishes to choose from. Recommended with all my heart and mouth full.
The price is surprisingly low for that kind of meal. Reserve ahead, Pay cash, no credit cards.
Do not miss

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW! Changed my mind about some German foods.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pleasant all around (if you have reservatons on the weekend!). I never imagined a knoedel could taste so good. Awesome, friendly, entertaining staff. Very good wines. and then large portions of very good food. If there's something more you want, just ask.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sephuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I ate here immediately after arriving in Berlin for my Erasmus semester abroad (in 2008) and, since then, when I happen to go back to Berlin I always go there once!
Last August I invited there my girlfriend and, even though she normally tends to be skeptical about food she doesn't know, she was enthusiastic. In the summer, you can eat outside, with a nice view over the lovely Viktoria-Luise-Platz. Food is traditional from the German region of Schwaben: however, it is cooked in a pleasant and light way, so, even if you eat the big portions prepared, you don't feel any burden. This time I had Maultaschen (a sort of very big ravioli, with a thicker pasta) with mushrooms (cantharellus cibarius, just very briefly roasted in the pan, with no sauce, cream or anything): simply delicious. My girlfriend went for a roasted trout, with almonds and potatoes as a side-dish: again, perfectly cooked, well-balanced flavours and taste. I drank a freshly made cold drink prepared with elder flowers and lime: refreshing and tasteful! As to the price, you are in the range of some 20 euros per person. The waiter is very kind and smiling, as well as very supportive if you need help in choosing your food.
The restaurant is very much appreciated by the gay community of Schoeneberg and, as a matter of fact, we were the only eterosexual couple in the garden; however, this somehow contributed to the relaxed and relaxing atmosphere of the place.
If you are in Berlin and want to overcome your prejudices on German cuisine, you should definitely go there!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank F2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

For someone who loves great homecooked food without pretentious, this is the place to sit down and enjoy a
Variety of hearty Swabian dishes, best washed down with one of the excellent light reds from Wuerttemberg. Service was very good, but not as good as the Scnitzel with fresh chanterelles I gorged on for main course. Seating is equally comfortable inside and outside but al fresco wins hands down in Summer, with a nice view across one of the nicest squares in Berlin.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Wiesenstein also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Wiesenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing