We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sample a German bistro in the most elegant City Square” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt

Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #176 of 8,118 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sample a German bistro in the most elegant City Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were looking a typical German food eatery and were not disappointed ! I mixture of tourist and locals with some bar-action. Food was excellent, though menu was VERY limited - the huge knuckle of Pork portion is enough for two very hungry men and their dog.....simply delicious and crispy on the outside and juicy beneath the skin Service, by well seasoned locals, some of whom spoke English, was excellent. and the atmosphere was comfortably casual and tables well spaced out. There are more typical restaurants if you search the side streets of Wilmersdorf , but this is a fine eatery in Gendarmenmarkt .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geomeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    1,525
    452
    131
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good selection of German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recommended in the guidebook and was close to our hotel (the Angleterre). Good choice of meat dishes and reasonable price. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Wine was fine as well as the beer. Definitely worth a visit if you want solid, meaty, German dishes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good German Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The last time that we were in Berlin we stumbled across the Augustiner as we were wandering through the city. This time around we went looking for it as we couldn't remember the address and thankfully we eventually succeeded around lunchtime and went in for a beer. As we knew how popular the restaurant was, we booked a table for that evening and just as well we did as the place was "mobbed". The menu is typically German and the portions are amazing, and of course the beer is very good. The decor is what you would expect in a beer Keller with plenty of tables and plenty of friendly staff and no frills. My wife had Schweinebraten ( pork, potatoes and cabbage ) which she thought was superb, but I made the mistake of ordering the Currywurst without appreciating what it was ......... German sausage in a curry and tomato sauce mixture. Interesting to start with, but I should have went with my wife's choice instead. Anyway you live and learn and did I say that the beer was very good??

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimcrawley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and filling!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We came across this busy, unpretentious German restaurant when looking for somewhere to eat in Gendarmenmarkt area. Fast and friendly service from our English waiter. A great place to sample traditional german cooking. We had beef goulash and mushroom goulash with herb dumplings. Both were delicious - so was the beer. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank monteith330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed typical and traditional German dishes at this casual eatery. Crowded and a little noisy, but fun. I asked the pretty waitress for beer and food recommendations. We shared a pickled herring appetizer that was very good. I had the Nurenberg sausages with mashed potatoes and white cabbage( similar to what we call Sauerkraut in the US). Delicious. My wife ordered a vegetarian Potato and Spinach dumpling dish that she enjoyed.
Definitely recommend this for traditional casual German dining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing