We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot after a long walk!”

Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #182 of 8,447 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect spot after a long walk!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a late lunch/early dinner here after our 4-5 hour walking tour, and the restaurant was close by. We had a party of 7 and no reservation but were seated immediately at a lovely window table. We were semi-exhausted, so the cold beer and wine, prompt service and delicious food were extremely welcome. It was a lovely, traditional German meal in a comfortable setting with a happy crowd. My husband had the cheese noodles and said that they were wonderful; several of us had schnitzel, and it was perfect. Great options for kids, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmom1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,203
    1,649
    514
    139
    173
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lerum, Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not good first time, excellent second and third time”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First visit here wasn't that good. Beer was really nice but food was average, service was not good at all. Paid by credit card and after a while the server came back and just returned my card with the words "funktioniert nicht" (doesn't work). No excuse, nothing. Gave them another card and that worked and still didn't get a thank you... No tip for that!

Being really hungry we decided to try it again for another visit. This time during lunch and now everything was perfect! Good service, still nice beer and excellent food and the lunch time specials are a really good value. A full meal for about €6! Returned a third visit and it was still very good!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwedenDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT, BRILLIANT, BRILLIANT”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

To be honest this restaurant is SO good I can't find words to describe it. The food is great, the service is exceptional, the prices are good especially when you look at what you get served. Be prepared to wait for a table - it's well worth the wait though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rifkaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Classic Bavarian food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The restaurant serves traditional Bavarian dishes and has the decor (and waitresses in Dirndl) to match. Excellent Weisswurst.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltime26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere Beer and Food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We came upon the restaurant by chance and had a great time. The place was packed on a Friday night and it had a great atmosphere. We got about the last table and it is quite a big hall. The beer was excellent - I am told - I thought the G&T very good.
Food was also very good (we both had sausage, mine as a salad and my husband with mash potato) and the guy who served us (from Yeovil England) was so friendly and helpful that I even got a side dish of potato salad that wasn't on the menu. I thought the service very good even though they were so busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avalon880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt also viewed

 

Been to Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing