We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pro's & con's” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Kastania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kastania
Ranked #229 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pro's & con's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had booked my room online, had pre-payed an extra fee (Euro 35,-) for "guaranteed early check-in", and was looking forward to a nice bath tub (according to room description) after a long international flight.
Upon arrival, the receptionist "welcomed" me by claiming that no rooms are ready yet. Only after some discussion, she suddenly found one nevertheless. Not very professional...
This (tiny) room had a shower only, no bath tub (as advertised on the website). Second disappointment.
Considering their hefty room rates and their attitude as distinguished family-run property, this should not have happened.
To be fair, here are the pro's: location in Westend, a leavy upmarked neighborhood not too far from the centre. Most rooms come with their own balcony, nicely furnished. Wifi is free and works OK. Ample public transport options from nearby Theodor-Heuss-Platz.
Would I stay there again? Considering their unprofessional service at professional rates, probably not.

Room Tip: Insist to get the room you have booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
35
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Although the price for this hotel is similar to other hotels in the direct city center, it has certain its advantages for a vacation spent in Berlin - it is rather small and thus cozy and you get this personal attention from staff, e.g. by day 3 they had learnt how we want our coffee :); it lies in a very quiet area, thus you can be sure to sleep undisturbed by traffic or similar. The spa center is great if you have time to enjoy it. Although the pool is small, there are two type of saunas, thus you can relax very well. Breakfast is delicious and if the weather allows, you can sit outside on the nice terrace. The hotel is localted very close to a metro station, and it only takes a few stops until Zoo or shopping street Kurfurstendamm or Charlottenburg palace.
As the hotel does not have air condition, it can become too hot in a hot summer, thus I wouldnt recommend it in such weather conditions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbelska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My partner and I had the misfortune of booking this hotel for our holiday in Berlin. It was advertised as 4 star and we paid over £130 per night. On arrival there was no welcome, no one to take our bags to the room. We were just handed a key to our room and pointed in a particular direction.

The room had no air conditioning (a 4 star with no airconditioning, go figure, we were told this is standard)... it was small, cramped and had very old furniture. When we complained about how warm the room was, we were told that there is nothing they can do about it and that we can upgrade for an additional 90 euros but that we cannot see the room we will upgrade to before we do so ?!?!

The shower in the bathroom was leaking water on the floor. The mini-bar (a hole in the wall approximately 15 x 15 inches was not working, we complained .. again told sorry engineer not here this week.

The worst part of the stay was that every single morning at 7 am the cleaner would start vaccuming right outside our door and the first night i thought someone was trying to break into the room as she proceeded to put garbage bags full of bottles into a trolley outside the door.

The pool is so tiny it can only accomodate a maximum of 2 people at a time... At the end of our stay when I told the receptionist that we were extremely disappointed and did not enjoy our vacation at all, we were patronised and told that the British standards are just too high !!

Whatever you do please dont waste your money here. This place is absolutely the pits... not 4 star.... and with extremely poor customer service ! AVOID AT ALL COSTS !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is one of the few instances where I've stayed at a hotel I didn't reserve myself. My wife's aunt, whom we were meeting in Berlin, had stayed at the hotel a number of times, booked the room as an early anniversary present for us.

We flew into Berlin and took the train and metro to a stop near the hotel. Although the hotel turned out to be in walking distance to the hotel, the area wasn't particularly pedestrian friendly and the streets entered the area at odd angles making it difficult to navigate on foot to the hotel.

The hotel itself was extremely nice and located in a more quiet area nearby. Our room was quite plush and the bathroom was huge--even by American standards. The only criticism I have is that the day we were there, it was unusually hot for Berlin, and the room had no air conditioning; however, when we arrived in our room, the large windows were open and there was a nice-sized fan set up. It turned out that the evening was much cooler and the fan worked great.

We did have coffee at the restaurant the day we arrived and had a nice breakfast in the morning.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Overall - well worth every penny. Paying for the VIP extra's was so-so worthwhile (including a room upgrade / robes etc). We were so very very happy with this hotel. The most helpful (excellent & English speaking) & knowledgeable reception staff. Its friendly morning & evening restaurant staff. The excellent cleaners who were very quiet until about 0930hrs each day. Everyone within the hotel was just great. Overall - brilliant. Good / excellent clean & spacious rooms at the rear of the hotel were brilliant... There was also a fitness suite & swimming pool .. Would we stay here again = Definitely & likely try another upgrade ... Recommended to all .. & it is also very nearby to Theodor Heuss Platz U-Bahn so it is most easily within close travel of all the city sites. City Travel (inc tours) can be easily arranged via reception ... "Sehr Danke" ...

Room Tip: Buy a VIP upgrade or go for something even better. Well worth it ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue'n'Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

I recently stayed at the hotel on business and I found to be hotel to be very conveniently located to the conference centre and metro. Service was outstanding as was the very comfortable accomdation.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lancellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

This hotel doesn't look much from outside, and indeed walking into the lobby area hardly fills one with confidence, but first appearances can be very deceptive. I was extremely pleased with this hotel.

I chose the hotel because I was going to a conference at the nearby ICC, and it was indeed only a short walk away. It's not the closest hotel to the conference centre (that's probably the Ibis), but it's close enough, and I'm sure it's far more comfortable than the Ibis would have been. If you're there to see the sights of Berlin, however, there are probably many better located hotels.

The staff get top marks for their attitude. Friendly, professional, and helpful. They spoke excellent English, but only if required. I speak reasonably good German (although it's not perfect, and people can generally tell I'm English by the time I've uttered about 3 words), which is more than adequate to cope with the sort of discussions you have with hotel staff, and I find it quite patronising if people speak back to me in English. They didn't. But they did speak to my colleagues, who don't speak German, in flawless English. That's the way it should be.

A nice feature of the hotel is the swimming pool. OK, it's not exactly Olympic sized, but for a hotel this size in a city centre location it was very respectable.

Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, with very nicely kitted out bathrooms. My only quibble is that there was no safe in the bedroom, but this is a minor point. No doubt the hotel would have found somewhere secure to stash valuables if I'd had anything of any great importance.

Breakfast was fine. A rather limited selection of hot food, but an excellent cold buffet. The sausages in the hot food were very good.

The main negative thing to be aware of is that the communual facilities in the hotel are less than you'd usually expect in a 4* hotel. This wasn't a problem for us, because we spend so much time doing things related to the conference we were attending, but if you were expecting to sit in a nice hotel lounge, you'd be disappointed. As far as I could tell, if you wanted to sit with friends or colleagues over a beer, you'd need to do so at a table in the restaurant.

But overall, I was very happy with this place, and would definitely stay there again if I were going to another conference at the ICC.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NautiusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Westend
Michels Apart Hotel Berlin
Michels Apart Hotel Berlin
#333 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Hotel Brandies
#198 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Charlottenburg
Seehof Hotel
Seehof Hotel
#320 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#183 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe
#166 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Westend
Concorde Hotel am Studio
Concorde Hotel am Studio
#262 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kastania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kastania

Property: Hotel Villa Kastania
Address: Kastanienallee 20/ Bayernallee 1, 14052 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Westend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#141 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Kastania 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Villa Kastania, a small but fine private hotel located in the heart of Berlin, not far from Kurfürstendamm, the German Opera and the exhibition grounds.Lovingly furnished rooms, full of personal charm, await you- the kind sought out by those with time to savour.Surrounded by chestnut trees, we will receive you with 47 spacious hotel rooms and luxurious suites, a Mediterranean Wellness area with swimming pool and sauna, the cosy Marron restaurant complete with lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Kastania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastania Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing