We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but awful beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte
Ranked #563 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had originally booked a room for four nights, but after the first one, we left because the beds were just awful! Too soft, we sank into the mattress, I spent all night trying to find a comfortable position. The breakfast isn't expensive, but the selection isn't great either. On the positive side, the hotel isn't expensive, they let us cancel our booking without any extra fee, and the location is very central: near friedrichtstrasse, check point charlie, a 15 minute walk from alexander platz, the Brandebourg and postdamer platz.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_elena_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you are suggested Room 203 - do not agree, the room is terrible, windows do not safe from noise in the street, it smells badly (smoke). It looks like a camera in a prison. The location of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisha_n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in an apartment in a separate building to hotel. First impressions were very disappointing as lobby and apartment are very dingy and need work. Apartment itself is very spacious, but seriously in need of decoration and updating. Carpets are frayed and stained in parts; walls and doors need to be repainted; bathroom fittings are worn and one armchair in sitting room was unfit for use. "Kitchen" just has a small fridge with a mini-bar- there is no kettle, crockery or cutlery. However, bed linen and towels were clean so we survived! Great location, near to Checkpoint Charlie and Ubahn around the corner. Good option as a central base if you dont expect to spend too time in the apartment and not expecting luxuries!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammylahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Got exactly what we paid for - a place to sleep in a very central location. Rooms are ok, beds give you a good nights sleep and when you leave the Kubrat you're in central Berlin just a few steps from some very interesting historic sites. Will visit again next time in Berlin

Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We selected hotel Kubrat because of its location.  It is in walking distance to many of Berlin's main attractions (Brandenburg gate, checkpoint charlie, shopping at Friedrchsstrasse etc) and the subway (U6 and U2) is around the corner.
We had room 703 which is at the top floor facing the busy street (Leipziger Strasse).  The hotel has no A/C; our room had a room fan.  The hotel has a tiny parking lot with 7 parking spots accessible from the rear.  At check-in I was told that I should have called in advance to reserve a parking spot; luckily 2 spots were still available.  Parking is an extra Euro 12 per day.
The room was clean and large for such a central location and it had a separate entrance way with a large closet and bathroom.  The furniture was white Ikea-style, the room had a small fridge and the TV comparably small with only a few TV stations, none in English.  The furniture was a bit worn and the carpet was a bit stained.
The closed windows block most of the noise from the street.
Breakfast (additional Euro 8 per person per night) was traditional German with breakfast rolls, bread, sliced sausages and cheese.  German style hot dogs, cereal, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, marmalade and yogurt were available, too.
Long story short: the great location and competitive price make up for the deficiencies.  I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have just spent five days at this hotel with a party of three other couples and my wife and I. We stayed in a massive apartment which was comfortable clean and quiet. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty if slightly over priced at 7.5 euros. My only complaint about the hotel was the lack of tea making facilities and a free room safe. I feel that this should always be available in any decent hotel. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: The apartments at the back are much quieter than some of the rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevedavies1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I feel like to echo what many reviewers here have already said. I stayed at this hotel at the end of May. This hotel locates perfectly in the center of Mitte. It’s within walking distance to many sightseeing places, and the U-Bahn is right around the corner. I mean. It’s only three blocks from Check Point Charles, four blocks from the GendarmenMarkt Square, fifteen minutes walk to the Holocaust Memorial, Brandenburg Gate, and Potsdam Platz.

We got the last minute deal for only 58 Euros including breakfast for a room of two persons. We didn’t have problem with the Wi-Fi. We stayed on the fourth floor facing Leipziger street. We closed the windows when we went to bed so we didn’t hear the street noise. We felt pretty quiet while sleeping. This is not a new hotel by any mean. Unlike many new hotels where you need to insert a card to open the room door, this hotel still uses the traditional keys and features the CRT TV. Who cares! The main point of visiting a new city, at least for me, is NOT to enjoy the hotel room stuff. We didn’t even watch TV at all. We spent most of our times sightseeing and didn’t come back to the hotel until 10 or 11 at night.

One thing I don’t seem to see any reviewer mentioning is that there is a parking fee of 12 Euros per day if you have a car. Fortunately, we were there for a weekend leading to the Monday bank holiday. We did not choose to park at the hotel’s underground garage. We parked our rental car on the street for free. On normal day, it’s probably much harder to find free parking spaces closed to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
TopDomizil Apartments Checkpoint Plaza
Mitte
Hotel M68
Hotel M68
#543 of 635 in Berlin
72 reviews
Mitte
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
#516 of 635 in Berlin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#84 of 635 in Berlin
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte

Address: Leipziger Str. 21, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $90 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing