We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location at an unbelievable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte
Ranked #519 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location location location at an unbelievable price”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I feel like to echo what many reviewers here have already said. I stayed at this hotel at the end of May. This hotel locates perfectly in the center of Mitte. It’s within walking distance to many sightseeing places, and the U-Bahn is right around the corner. I mean. It’s only three blocks from Check Point Charles, four blocks from the GendarmenMarkt Square, fifteen minutes walk to the Holocaust Memorial, Brandenburg Gate, and Potsdam Platz.

We got the last minute deal for only 58 Euros including breakfast for a room of two persons. We didn’t have problem with the Wi-Fi. We stayed on the fourth floor facing Leipziger street. We closed the windows when we went to bed so we didn’t hear the street noise. We felt pretty quiet while sleeping. This is not a new hotel by any mean. Unlike many new hotels where you need to insert a card to open the room door, this hotel still uses the traditional keys and features the CRT TV. Who cares! The main point of visiting a new city, at least for me, is NOT to enjoy the hotel room stuff. We didn’t even watch TV at all. We spent most of our times sightseeing and didn’t come back to the hotel until 10 or 11 at night.

One thing I don’t seem to see any reviewer mentioning is that there is a parking fee of 12 Euros per day if you have a car. Fortunately, we were there for a weekend leading to the Monday bank holiday. We did not choose to park at the hotel’s underground garage. We parked our rental car on the street for free. On normal day, it’s probably much harder to find free parking spaces closed to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    48
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
14
39
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

It would be tough to find a better location for a hotel in Berlin. The Kubrat is about a block from Checkpoint Charlie, very close to Friedrichstrasse shopping/dining, about a 10-minute walk from Potsdamerplatz, and within walking distance to the Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. Need to go somewhere farther away? There are U-Bahn stations just outside.

The staff are also among the most friendly you will find anywhere. No matter what time of day/night, the person at the front desk was always engaging and willing to answer any questions. The gentleman at the breakfast room was also attentive.

The rooms were nothing special. I was in 506. The bed was comfortable, but it was a single, and it was not possible to push the two singles together. Even so, I slept well the 6 nights I was there.

The wifi was free, but problematic. Staying signed in was tough, because it constantly required you to login again. Not a big issue, but it was frustrating a few times.

It's far from luxurious, but the Kubrat is a good, low-cost option in an outstanding location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucsonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte, to give it its full name is located, as the “Mitte” bit of the name suggests, pretty much in the centre of Berlin. In fact it is located close to the junction of Leipziger Strasse and Freidrichstrasse, and just around the corner from the world-famous site of Checkpoint Charlie. This part of Berlin was in East Berlin, before the Berlin Wall came down, back in 1989.

Leipziger Strasse runs East/West, parallel to Unter den Linden, which is just 1km North, up Freidrichstrasse, an easy walk of about 10/15 minutes. The Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag building can be easily reached on foot in 30 minutes or in around 10 minutes on Berlin's excellent train system. The Gendarmenmarkt, famous for its restaurants, is just across the road. For location, the hotel could hardly be much better.

The hotel is unspectacular from the outside, victim, undoubtedly, to the unimaginative building style imposed on East Berlin by its Russian masters when Berlin was reconstructed from the devastation of WWII. The addition of a conservatory style extension on the front, extending to the edge of the pavement, is the only distinguishing feature. This houses the hotel's restaurant in which you take breakfast. Alongside is an open-air patio for those who have not yet given up the weed. The hotel is no-smoking.

We were made to feel most welcome; all of the staff with whom we dealt spoke good English. Our room (204) was on the first floor and overlooked the central courtyard, enclosed on all sides by the hotel and other buildings. Here, there was no traffic noise from the busy roads indeed, little noise at all, even with the windows open. The courtyard does contain car parking spaces for those arriving by car.

Our first impressions of our room were mixed. The room was more a suite than a room: the entrance lobby was divided from the sleeping area by another door and where was to be found all of the storage; the bathroom opened off this lobby as well; yet another, a shower room, also opens off of the lobby. This latter is strange: the space is actually larger than the bathroom but contains nothing more than a standard sized shower in the far corner, plus a table for toiletries, and a footstool!

Opening up the clothes storage, a very limited number of hangers were provided and, stranger even than this, most of the shelves were missing! However, there were adequate drawers.

On entering the sleeping area, an unpleasant stale sweat smell was evident. It gave the impression that the room had not been aired for some time. However, after a few hours with the windows open whilst we went out to explore Berlin, the smell had dissipated, not to return during our stay.

Our room was a twin rather than the double, with a large unit between the beds, preventing them being brought together. All of the furniture, save for a sofa, was made from white finished chipboard, even the bed bases, which had clearly seen better days. However, the whole suite was very clean so the issue was really just one of appearance. There was also a free-standing fan though no air-conditioning. Heating was by way of substantial cast-iron radiators with thermostatic valves, but the one in the bathroom didn't work! In the shower room there was just an electric wall heater.

Entertainment was provided by the usual TV but no English language channels were available, not even the ubiquitous CNN! Fortunately we didn't have to rely upon this as the weather, whilst cold, did not prevent us getting out in to Berlin during our stay.

Breakfast is provided in the conservatory at the front of the hotel and consists of the usual continental fare, cereals, cold meats, cheese and salads. Bread consists only of rolls so, no opportunity to have toast. However, you can tear the rolls up and have them with butter, margarine and jams. Fruit juices are available, as well as coffee and tea.

So, how did we enjoy our stay? Well, first of all, let's confirm that for a city-centre hotel, value for money cannot be questioned. The hotel itself was comfortable and the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. However, let's be honest, the atmosphere does seem to reflect its location in what was the former East Berlin. It gives the impression that it is struggling to throw off the influences of the former Russian masters of this part of Germany but has yet to entirely succeed. Having said that, were we to return to Berlin, and that is entirely possible, I would have no qualms about staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms as the back of the hotel are quiet and avoid the inevitable noise from the busy street outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very disappointed in this hotel. By far the worst one we stayed at during our travels.

Pros:
Excellent location
Morning reception staff was very helpful

Cons:
Dingy, ill-maintained apartment "suite"
Overpriced for the poor condition
No wi-fi


We arrived around 5pm-6pm and the elderly woman in charge of the front desk was surly and unhelpful. Questions about the airport were met with a "Sorry I don't know about such things" response and even our request for a restaurant recommendations was met with blank stare.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the apartments that are in the back of the hotel. They are an absolute dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had an exceptionally large, clean and nicely appointed room on the 6th floor, very quiet and with free wifi. This hotel is perfectly placed, right by Mitte underground station, and an easy walk to Museum Island and Potsdamerplatz. And at 80 euros per night for the double room, very reasonable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again, but would probably have breakfast (not included) elsewhere - there is a Starbucks around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed in Kubrat Hotel from 29th October - 31st October 2011. Really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Excellent Location its literally round the corner from check point Charlie, hellium ballon ride and part of berlin wall.

Staff are very friendly at reception, went to restaurant for dinner one night, had a lovely dinner and again staff were friendly.

Hotel is very clean and its a warm comfortable environment. Enjoyed the fact that the room had a heater and also a fan. The mini bar was great and a selection of several drinks


Great Value for Money

Only little problem i had, i was away with my boyfriend for my birthday and i wanted a double room and we were given a twin room and was advised there was no double rooms left which was a dissapointment when i wrote this on request months ago when booking this hotel. Apart from that small problem, GREAT HOTEL, GREAT HOLIDAY, i would recomend this hotel

Thanks for a great time

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The first and foremost, I would like to emphasize about this hotel is that it is settled in an excellent location (at the intersection of the Leipziger and Friedrich Strasse in Mitte district). This location is within 15-20 min. walking distance from several major tourist sites (Brandenburger Tor, Reichstag, Potsdamer Platz, just to name a few). It is well connected with the rest of the city, mainly through the U bahn network (Stadtmitte station is approx. 20 m from the hotel). On top of that, Friedrich Str. is a shopping mecca, with Galeries Lafayette and other stores, carrying all of the major fashion labels.

Second important thing which I want to mention about this hotel is that, in my opinion, it provides excellent value for money relationship.

We booked a double bedroom with breakfast included, and were really satisfied with this hotel. The room was huge, and I mean really huge (almost 50 square meters; I am guessing that this probably was an apartment building in the east Berlin later converted into a Hotel). The room was well furnished, a bit old-fashioned, but very nice and clean. Brakfast was a "standard", swedish-table kind, hotel breakfast, with selection of foods for everyone (vegetarians and not). The staff was very polite and helpful, fluid in English and French. Hotel lobby has free wireless internet access, which works flawlessly. The hotel rooms also have free wifi, but we, unfortunately, could'n make it work?!

I would definitely, highly, recommend this hotel for the Berlin visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel M68
Hotel M68
#554 of 634 in Berlin
68 reviews
Mitte
TopDomizil Apartments Checkpoint Plaza
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
#542 of 634 in Berlin
87 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
#196 of 634 in Berlin
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte

Property: Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte
Address: Leipziger Str. 21, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Kubrat Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing