We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its reputation”
Review of Hotel Tiergarten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tiergarten
Ranked #177 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Fantastic location just a few stops from the main railway station and good connections by underground and bus to the rest of the city. Private family run hotel. Lovely breakfast, gorgeous soft duvets and pillows. Nothing really fancy but clean, spacious room with showers. Free internet access from the reception area. Efficient service. Quite a few food choices in the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room towards the courtyard or side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyFrenchLarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    131
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
103
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Coveniently located hotel fairly close to main station and just 2 minutes from nearest underground station with links everywhere, and within walking distance of the main tourist attractions. The hotel is clean with friendly, helpful staff, but the bar area is almost non-existant, certainly not big enough to seat four people comfortably. The breakfasts are excellent. The room was fine, comfortable but with a very compact bathroom. All-in-all, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudgecat0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed as a family of two adults and two children aged 13 and 10 in a family room, which was enormous! A double and two singles which suited our needs to a tee.. The bathroom was poorly designed, with two basins but the toilet tucked in a little corner, but clean and suited our needs perfectly adequately. Breakfast was great, with plenty to choose from, the staff were particularly friendly and helpful. We had a room overlooking the Tiergarten which I must admit the first night did affect our sleep but by the secind night we were so tired from our sight seeing that nothing could keep us awake!!
So if you are really bothered ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, but if you want a view of the garden and accept that old buildings have character including the noise from the street then trust me you will soon get used to it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

What I remember most about our stay at this hotel were the courteous and helpful staff. For instance, at the large buffet breakfast each morning, they remember that I'd asked for a big mug for my tea and brought one to the table as soon as we sat down. The breakfast is generous. The hosts Stephan and son Benjamin are very friendly and informative and even when extremely busy, they are attentive and helpful. They have bicycles in their old and very cool cellar that you can rent for 10 euros a day. The rooms are basic with very high ceilings. They staff at the reception supply you with kettles or things you might need for your room.

I didn't like the tiny shower cubicle and the fact that there was not enough lights in the room. the pillows were too thin. But on the upside, everything was spotless and towels are changed everyday.

You can walk or ride to most major attractions from here. The biggest plus for us was the hotel's proximity to the gorgeous parklands. We took the TXL bus from the airport which dropped us a few meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJacob255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently placed with respect to public transport (bus, metro), with the direct bus to Tiegel airport stopping mere footsteps away. The room I stayed in was small, clean and more basic than I have seen anywhere for some time. It did not have modern climate contol and was warm for me. Wireless internet in the rooms is provided by an external supplier at 12.50 euro per 24 hrs. There is a free internet connected computer in the lobby. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast has the widest range of options I have ever seen in a hotel of that size, with an interesting range of classic German fare. The architecture is traditional, high ceilings, panelled doors, in an area wher most of the buildings are post war and not particularly interesting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel is owned by the manager, therefore it has great service and he takes pride in his establishment. He was always willing to help. In addition, one of the best things was the wonderful buffet breakfast, included in our stay. It had the biggest selection of any on our travels throughout Germany and central Europe. Pretty little dining room too. The rooms here are not large and there was no air conditioning. It was located in a very good area, though, to walk to many places. Park was nice across the street. Grocery store just a half block away along with restaurants. All in all, a very nice place, and great value. Would definately stay again, just not at the warmest time of the year.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room on the lower floors if you are traveling in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wandertheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Staff are more than willing to explain travel arrangements around the city, rooms are extremely comfortable and spotless with towels changed daily. The breakfast has a fantastic selection to choose from to set you up for the day. TOP TIP. Purchase 72 Hour travel ticket for use on trains buses and underground.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Hansablick Garni
Hotel Hansablick Garni
#202 of 634 in Berlin
183 reviews
Moabit
Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin
Moabit
Hotel Park Consul
Hotel Park Consul
#292 of 634 in Berlin
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Apple City Hotel
Apple City Hotel
#295 of 634 in Berlin
133 reviews
Moabit
Hotel Les Nations
Hotel Les Nations
#248 of 634 in Berlin
86 reviews
Moabit
ABION Villa
ABION Villa
#234 of 634 in Berlin
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiergarten

Property: Hotel Tiergarten
Address: Alt-Moabit 89, 10559 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Family Hotel in Berlin
#154 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tiergarten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 Hotel Tiergarten celebrates their 30th anniverary. The hotel is right opposite the park "Kleiner Tiergarten" and near the underground station "Turmstraße". From here you are just one step away from the famous shopping area Kurfürstendamm and the Brandenburg Gate. The private, family-run hotel provides spacious and comfortable rooms combined with modern life necessities. Start off you day with our large delicous breakfast buffet. For lunch or dinner you will find numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. You will also profit from Berlin's excellent puplic transportation. The shopping area "Kurfürstendamm" can be reached within 3 minutes by U-Bahn. The famous boulevard Unter den Linden incl. Brandenburg Gate, the museum island and the Friedrichstraße are reachable within 15 minutes by bus. The Hauptbahnhof, the central station here in Berlin, is only 1 bus stop away. The center or "Mitte" is very popular for all travellers interested in the city's history, architecture as well as the museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tiergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiergarten Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing