We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Belle Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #44 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“La Belle Sofitel”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was really awesome staying at the Sofitel Gendarmenmarkt. We were at first anxious as this was our first time in Berlin and didn't know what to expect. Furthermore, previous posts mentioned of small-ish rooms. However, we were pleased that our Luxury Room turned out to be of perfect size, with enough room for two of us and our huge suitcases.

Reservations was not a problem though the website could perhaps work on providing more pictures that reflect the different rooms available. Our worries on having to wait long for the official check-in time were allayed upon arrival (at 7am!). We got our rooms immediately and we were even given a room facing the cathedral where the Christmas Market was which was very nice. We were greeted by friendly frontdesk staff and they were also very helpful in providing specific information on places we wanted to go.

Location-wise, the Sofitel was an excellent choice as it's pretty central to everything in Berlin (Stadmitte) unless you want to get to Ku'Damm everyday but then, the Metro is just a very short walking distance anyway. Awesome restaurants scattered around the hotel for us to choose from and the sites (Brandenburg Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel, Memorials, University etc) are all a lovely stroll away.

The bed was as comfy as ever which made it difficult for us to get up and explore the city each day! We especially loved the Nespresso machine with three choices of espressos each morning apart from tea. The bathroom had Hermes amenities for our room category. Otherwise, we reckon you'd get L'Occitane (because when we asked for an extra shampoo, they had asked us which brand we had) if that is at all important to you. The shower had strong water pressure which is always a plus with us. Each evening, we had turn down service and it was a treat to receive different flavored Ritter chocolates to savor every night! The servicing team were equally friendly and very efficient and our rooms were kept clean and amenities replenished diligently every day.

We didn't try the spa nor had breakfast but we enjoyed the gym which was literally ours alone for the entire week! Access to WiFi is free in the room and connection was excellent on all our devices.

If there is anything at all that the hotel may perhaps want to look into is to provide additional bottles of water as we only "officially" receive one bottle of Evian per day. Nevertheless, having said that though, they had no problems providing us additional bottles upon request. All in, a wonderful stay and the Sofitel had capped off our visit to Berlin as memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbraCaBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I highly appreciate your comments and I would like to personally thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences from your recent stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern Luxury room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    411
    120
    29
    9
See reviews for
147
652
138
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Staying at Sofitel Berlin was a great pleasure. Good size room, very clean and nicely designed. Hotel is situated in the heart of Berlin just 10 minutes by walk to Brandenburg gate and Museum Island. Staff is very kind and helpful. The only minus is that air in the room was very dry.
I would return there with pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location, minutes from all sights. Loved the Ka De We department store, Christmas markets and Gendemenmarket square. Staff at hotel welcoming and helpful. Cosy stay at the Sofitel would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was very impressed by the friendly staff, their charm and great eagerness to offer help. This seems to be the work ethics of the hotel as it extents from the from the front desk right to the girl who turns your bed, diligently in the evening. I have been to 5 star hotels where turning of the beds in the evening are at best, ad hoc and a rushed through job. Not at the Sofitel Gendermenmarkt.

The concierge, Joey deserves special mention for having everything at his finger tips, providing service with a great smile. I don't remember the names of all the girls at the front desk but they were great too.

The hotel is strategically located in Stadmitte, small and cosy. Works for me.The cleanliness of the room is impeccable. Check out the Great Spa area. Wish it has its own bar over looking the Gendermenmarkt though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hashim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
I am particularly proud to read that our ambassadors exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The Sofitel is a wonderful hotel in an excellent location. Take the TXL bus from Tegal (€2.60) and get off towards the end, with only a 10 min walk to the hotel. Just perfect, so nice and easy.

The hotel entrance isn't as extravagant as say, the Westin - which is fine by me. Service is faultless and the rooms are great. Decent size, everything you need and I found nothing to complain about.

The hotel overlooks the Christmas market, which is especially handy for a mulled wine or two!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JodieYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A great hotel made even better by both the location and the staff. The staff will do anything to assist and the barman in particular makes a great whiskey sour!
Rooms are very modern and the bathrooms have an excellent rain shower .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fareasttraveller515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I highly appreciate your comments and I would like to personally thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences from your recent stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern Luxury room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in late november, after finding a great rate at an online site. The hotel is 2 blocks from the TXL bus stop, but the nearby construction made the short walk a bit confusing on arrival. Nevertheless, once we got the location, it was an easy walk to 2 U stops and S Friederichstrasse station.

The hotel is at Gendarmenmarket, which hosts a great Christmas market.

The room was of a decent size. As described before, the bathroom has one glass wall which connects to the room. For privacy, just slide down the wood panel that holds the mirror by the faucet.

Staff was very pleasant and attentive. They helped us with bag storage, calls to restaurants and directions.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
1,492 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#101 of 634 in Berlin
2,652 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 634 in Berlin
1,156 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#53 of 634 in Berlin
4,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Property: Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#30 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing