We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin
Ranked #133 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I was at Abion hotel only one night for business purposing but my experience was positively astonishing: at check-in there were no further single rooms available, they upgraded my room with the so-called "maisonette" (a room for 4 people on two floor)!
The room was very comfortable as well as the bathroom that was really spacious too. I had only a little issue with the lock of the door at first floor, but I utilized the door at second floor!
The breakfast maybe could be more various but it was really good. Also the staff appeared kind and careful to the customer.
It worths at all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    434
    136
    25
    9
See reviews for
160
333
60
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Positive:
- Very clean
- Large room
- Free, good Internet connection
- 10 minutes from Tegel airport, directly with the TXL bus

Negative:
- Overpriced food and drinks
- Far away from the U-bahn
- Dated furniture
- Two computers they have in the lobby are from the previous decade (very slow)

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank byilmazsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was placed in this hotel by a conference I attended last week and I had a great experience. I do not give five stars because there are a few quirks noticeable by someone used to US-type hotels, but I can see other people don't mind those. Since there is a lot to say about this hotel, I would place here the good and the not so good, but there is definitely nothing bad about this hotel and it is a great options when staying in Berlin:

Good:

- Location. Even though it is located in Alt-Moabit, next to a government ministry and not quite in the tourist area, it is very accessible by public transportation. The TXL bus stops just outside of the complex where the hotel is located. This bus goes to and from the Berlin Tegel Airport in one way and Alexanderplatz in the other. What this means is that you can take it back and forth to the airport or the main train station, and you can also use it to go to the main tourist sites, as it runs a route that covers the Brandenburger gate, the museum island and Alexanderplatz. It is also a block away from the S trains and three blocks away from the U train. The combination of these two gets your pretty much anywhere in berlin's remarkable subway system. I did not have to take a taxi at all during my stay. It is also in a very picturesque location, next to the river (you can actually get a lovely riverview room) and three blocks away from the Tiergarten, Berlín's gorgeous central park. All the services you will need are available next door (maybe except on Sunday when a lot is closed): a supermarket, a Paulaner beer pub, a little store. There is an array of bars, coffee shops and shops in Alt Moabit on a three block radius from the hotel.

- Breakfast. Get the room with breakfast if you can. It has an amazing breakfast buffet that features a bunch of juices (including make-your-own orange juice), a bar of preserves and honey to die for, an extensive selection of bread and toast, a bar of cheese, cold cuts and smoked salmon, a hot servie of eggs, sausage, meatballs, bacon, potatoes and lemon pancake, an impressive fruit and yogurt bar and unlimited coffee.

-Service. Everybody, from the desk to the restaurants to the cleaning staff, is wonderfully attentive. And everybody that I needed to speak to spoke English perfectly (since I am ashamed to say that I do not speak any German).

- Cleanliness. The place is spotless clean.

Some not-so-good things to consider:

All the following things are not criticisms of the hotel at all. The hotel is perfect in what it offers. But some travelers used to the American hospitality industry like myself need to take note about a few issues.

- I got a room with twin beds. I am tall and overweight and I fell off the bed once. In Germany people are far fitter than in America, so I guess twin beds work just fine for there. But if you need room, I strongly recommend you choose a room with an adequate bed.

- At night, the hotel restaurant is the only option. Everything else around this area closes early. The food is very good, but not as good as the price would indicate. So if you would not want to eat at the hotel, make sure you have dinner before coming back. Also, the list of liquors at the bar is not updated. I tried to order three different things and they were out of the three.

- This hotel does not provide toiletries. The only thing you get is a dispenser of a ver questionable liquid handsoap and another one in the shower that I would assume is shampoo. Bring your own.

- The Internet is VERY slow, although it is free and functional.

- The TV only has two channels in English (BBC and CNN), which can get repetitive. German networks available in the hotel dub all movies and series. They do have a channel in French, one in Spanish and one in Arabic. But it would be nice to have a couple of stations with English programming other than news, as I would assume that many visitors do not speak German.

As I said, all of these are quirks of mine and do not take away from how clean, beautiful and attentive the hotel is. You should definitely consider it when traveling to Berlin.

Room Tip: Get a river view. Also make sure that the bed size is what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very pleasant place by the riverside. Excellent walks, cruises and dining facilities. It has a gym and fitness centre too. Good place for a short break!
Sunsets along the river are enchanting. If you walk into the parks close by you can even see rabbits hopping around!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manju2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We were transferred to the Abion hotel Spreebogen, as the hotel that we had booked through our agency was overbooked.
Arrived at the reception, you could easily notice that this place has its act together.
Very friendly, customer focused and efficiënt. With respect to the surpises. You have an expectation of a good operated 4 star hotel. Every day that we stayed over there, they exceeded our expectations.
We already know what our hotel will be next time we will visit Berlin.
Thanks to the Abion team for a wonderfull stay !!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is well-located in a green and quiet area near the Spree river. Incorporated in the old milk-factory Bolle (lots of vintage pics in the hotel). Bellevue S-Bahn station - on the main line - at 3 min. walk, Tiergarten at 5 min., Brandenburger gate at 10 min., Tegel airport at 15 min. by bus/taxi. Hotel never overcrowded. Spacious rooms, very clean. Very friendly staff. The breaffast buffet is of superb quality! 3th booking within 5 years .... and I will go back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the south wing are quiter and have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
ABION Villa
ABION Villa
#232 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Moabit
Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Ku' Damm 101
#100 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin

Property: Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin
Address: Alt-Moabit 99, 10559 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen is located in Berlin Mitte / Tiergarten. It is built on the premises of the former dairy farm Bolle - a place where popularity has been increasing since 1860. On the following pages we have summarized the long history of this site. Furthermore, you will find your direct contacts and a detailed description on how to get to our business hotel in the city center of Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ameron Hotel ABION Spreebogen Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing