We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A dream in Berlín” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel
Ranked #10 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream in Berlín”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Such a wonderful place! I hope to go back everytime I go back to Berlin! I just adore the main hall, the bar with the cigar cave, those high cealings, that beautiful staircase. The service is just perfect, and the food delicious. Our Room was beautifully decorated... We really had a great time, a place to relax...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    73
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
79
184
28
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I visited here on a trip to Berlin and spent two nights. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood, so it's very quiet. It is not far to Kurfurstendam Strasse and the shopping areas. To say the building is magnificent is an understatement. It's a 1913 house that has been operated as a hotel for many years. The wood paneled great room with its staircase and paneled ceiling is beautiful. The common rooms are all decorated classically with antique paintings, but modern comfortable furniture. The staff is quite attentive and nothing is a problem for them. I found it interesting that everybody in the hotel knew my room number, so when I ordered a drink at the bar, I didn't even have to sign a ticket, it was automatically charged to my room. The breakfast area was pleasant, being in a sun room at the rear of the house. It's a little pricey at 22 Euro each, but has a great selection and they'll cook your eggs the way you like them. The restaurant was reserved on the only evening I could have dinner there, so we ordered and were served in the library. The braised veal cheeks are tasty. The hotel has a smoky odor from the fireplaces, but it actually is quite homey in the cool weather. The only demerit I can give them is that they still allow smoking in the bar, and the cigarette/cigar smoke permeates the rooms adjacent as well. On my second night, the guest in the adjacent room (which had a connecting door) smoked and the smell came into my room, so I had to stuff some towels under the door. The pool/spa area in the basement (former bunker) is excellent with all the amenities you could wish for. The pool is kept at the perfect temperature as is the hot tub. The sauna was very warm, 75°C. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend this place to anyone visiting Berlin.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking area if that's a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkoonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eksjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a short break visiting Berlin in order to hear some good concerts and relax. I choose the Schlosshotel because it provides the calm and quietness I wanted. From the beginning I experienced outstanding service, I had help in booking several (not so easy to get) concert tickets. The level of service was outstanding throughout my visit.
The hotel has magnificent interiors, being a private palace from the beginning. The lobby is a great hall with tall windows and there are several large rooms adjacent where you can just sit and relax and have a drink.
The bar is everything you can ask for with a fireplace and comfortable furniture. It is not big but extremely cosy. It is the finest bar I've seen. There is also a beautiful restaurang. There is a spa with a good size swimmingpool and nice surroundings. Throughout my visit I felt I could ask for and get any help I needed with all arrangments and bookings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed with colleagues while on a four-day trip to Berlin, and was certainly not disappointed. The staff were courteous, paying attention to every little detail, and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is beautiful and spacious, the location is quiet and peaceful, and the overall experience was second to none. Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeFarmHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I came to Berlin for a short break. Fantastic surroundings, amazing food and this beautiful hotel didn't disappoint, the staff were all very friendly and service was excellent. to top it off the mini bar was free. great place to stay would defiantly return when in Berlin.

Room Tip: Had a beautiful corner suite, very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was by far the best experience i have ever had staying in any Hotel, and i have stayed in many hotels around the world. The service,hospitality and restaurant are all sublime. And the building itself is truly stunning. We will not stay anywhere else when visiting Berlin.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymundo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

this hotel is pretentious, grand and unsafe. the rooms on the top floor are overheated and make it difficult to sleep in. i complained about this in my stay there last WE and the staff moved my stuff from the room i had to another and then installed some one else in my original room without giving me the option of emptying the safe before the newcomers got in...

when i came back the combination of the safe did not work any longer, the evening manager opened the safe with a master key and to my surprise the 5000 US$ i had put there were gone. this in front of the new occupants of the room.

he then told me that the safes were not to store anything of value !!

that maybe i was lying and that maybe the guests they had put in there had cracked the combination. all in all they offered to give me two nights for free (350 Euros/night) and refused to take responsibility.

one does expect a luxury hotel to take responsibility for this kind of thing and when they don't it is completely chocking. so all travelers beware and avoid this hotel where thieves are better protected than guests. the police is now investigating this matter and i believe that nothing will come of it as the hotel does not have electronic keys to track the people who enter and leave bedrooms.

it is to be noted that letting new customers into a room before the previous guests have cleared is a breach of procedure and should not be done.

i will take a lawyer to make sure that fellow travelers are protected from this very reckless approach by a hotel that claims to be top notch.

Room Tip: stay away and if you do have to go there do not uses the safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank guyclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almahotels, Director General at Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guyclaret,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Schlosshotel im Grunewald with us.

Please be assured that we estimate every comment and, as you can see, most of our authentic valuations on TripAdvisor are more than positive which reflects our high quality standards. The last three years we were in the TOP 10 list of Berlin hotels and have received many awards.

As you have shared your comment, we have now the opportunity to respond with our point of view.

We continuously strove to meet your needs and expectations. As soon as your discomfort due to the high temperatures you reported in your room, and in general on the third floor, was communicated to us, and even though we had received no complaints from other guests staying on the same floor, we were happy to upgrade you from a standard room to one of our grand suites (normal rate 1500€ per night).

We would like to clarify that it was you who did not want to call the police when you first realized the money was missing – for us this felt strange and unusual. Only at our urging the police were involved.

We want to set the record straight that a theft has never occurred before at our hotel and our regular guests can confirm this. Also, the guests who were unfortunately present to witness this delicate affair have given us their most sincere and unconditional support. Furthermore, we would like to express that you were the one who left the hotel without paying the rest of your hotel bill.

Every guest has his own opinion and is totally free to transmit it to other travelers. Our aim is to give the best personalized service we can to everyone and to find the best solution for any query we receive. However, we are not willing to be accused of having “thieves on board” in our hotel and we strongly deny these allegations.

I remain at your disposal for any further comments you would like to make.

Kind regards,



Sara Torralvo Castro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#4 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#2 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel

Property: Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel
Address: Brahmsstr. 10 | Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14193 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Schlosshotel Im Grunewald)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#11 Business Hotel in Berlin
#47 Family Hotel in Berlin
#86 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personality, intimacy and privacy of PATRICK HELLMANN SCHLOSSHOTEL, is a 5-Star Superior Design Hotel is an exeptional historical building of the German capital. The estate is a mirror of centuries and dates back as a safe castle existing 100 years. Located minutes nearby to the Grunewald forrest and beautiful Berlin lakes. The hotel is like Central Park New York located only minutes closed by to the heart of one of Berlin’s shopping and entertainment Boulevards, the famous Kurfuerstendamm. The hotel is simply captivating. It is our number one priority to provide our guests with a first class service, tailor-made to their wishes. Each of our 43 elegant rooms and 10 suites in the 100-year-old historical villa surrounded by park-like private gardens, stylish interiors designed by Karl Lagerfeld, and 15 new built in 2016, Premium rooms/suites designed by Patrick Hellmann. Our personal service is creating a heaven for you in Berlin. Our restaurants, cigar lounge and elegant lobby with its stunning chandelier and exquisite oil paintings provide an ideal atmosphere in which to unwind. In the SPA & Wellness area you can take in the view of the pine forest whilst enjoying a dip in the pool, or indulge in a first class massage treatment and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Berlin
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing