We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but not consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel
Ranked #17 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK, but not consistent”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed her as a solo traveller in early September (was in Berlin to meet up with a friend to eat and drink).

Liked the public areas, and service in reception upon check in was also good. The room was nice enough too(stayed in one of the small suites there).

Breakfast was not good. Poor service, not much choice, very pricey. If this place wasn't yonks away from anything like a café I'd have cancelled all my breakfasts and eaten outside.

The pool, sauna etc. I would say is pretty decent for a place of this size.

The bar and public areas are really nice, but I couldn't stay in the bar since it's a smoking zone (didn't think German law allowed for that). You also have to go to reception to ask for someone to turn up and serve you a drink.

Don't know about eating here other than breakfast as I ate all meals except for breakfast in Berlin.

Location is in the middle of the woods. A couple of taxi drivers needed directions to find the way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltcreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara T, Manager at Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Saltcreep,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Schlosshotel im Grunewald. It is only through your valuable comments that we are able to continuously improve our service.

At the Schlosshotel im Grunewald, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Of course we are taking the appropriate measures to address all matters brought up by our guests and prevent any future occurrences.

We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay to the fullest.
It is correct that our breakfast buffet is quite restrained but over that it is more exquisite. Everything which you can’t find on the buffet e.g. hot dishes will be prepared freshly.
Of course we apologize if you did not felt best served. Regarding the problem with smoke at the Bar, I would like to explain that the law in Germany, still allow to smoke at this kind of Bars, I understand for sure, that for non-smokers, this is not so nice but we have many others public areas, like the Lobby, the Mirror Room, the Music Room and of course our restaurants, were is not allow to smoke and there you the non-smokers, can also enjoy a drink without being disturbing by the smokers.

I remain at your disposal for any further questions or wishes and please address me directly if you wish to travel to Berlin again. I will be more than happy to give you my personal attention during your next stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    93
    17
    10
    12
See reviews for
97
220
31
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you've ever wondered what it's like to live like royalty, Schlosshotel Im Grunewald is your chance. It's no wonder this tucked away palace in a posh Berlin neighborhood is frequented by celebrities. It's a treasure.

Yes, there is some wear showing, but it is a beautifully maintained vintage property. It was fun prowling around the various sitting rooms amidst the public spaces to read, sip tea or enjoy a glass of wine. You can even use the hotel computer in a charming drawing room. Bring a swimsuit because the indoor pool is surprisingly lovely, as well.

The breakfast room is a cheery greenhouse with delectable offerings...at a price, but you're on vacation. The cozy bar area with an evening crackling fire, does allow smoking. But lucky for us, no one did.

The staff could not be more cordial or accommodating!! It's a walk to the nearest tram, but the royals would call for a car...or use the hotel bikes that are provided.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms in the main house. There is also an annexed building with a connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOCazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose this hotel to be close to the airport and easy to get off on the Autobahn to Dresden. It's hidden away near the Grunewald Park but well worth finding. We arrived too late for the restaurant but they served a very good meal in the bar area.
The experience is like going to a very substantial 19th century private house - but with 21st century facilities.

The breakfast on a Sunday morning was terrific. We were just sorry we could only stay one night.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in an annex which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonUKjohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This has to be my favourite hotel of all! Three times in the last three years I've been pampered by the super friendly people working there, who remember your name and face from one year to another. Excellent breakfast, lovely warm and cosy rooms, bulgary toiletries and interior design by Karl Lagerfeld-beat that! Free transfer provided and your morning paper printed out for your breakfast. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hildur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CAlifornia, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Is when traveling to Berlin, I think it's a wonderful experience to stay away from the bustling middle of the city and experience the beauty of the forested Grunewald. We arrived by rental car (free parking!) and used our car for trips that weren't to the middle of the city. We used taxis and public transportation when in the center of the city. However, if you don't have a car public transportation is nearby. The hotel is a total gem. Formerly a palace, it has retained the grandeur and grace of of it's roots. We splurged a bit and booked an Executive Suite. Gorgeous! Their restaurant Vivaldi is unbelievable as well. If you want to experience the grandeur of pre-war Berlin, this is where you should stay.

Room Tip: All are beautiful, but ask for a Garden view, and if you can, splurge and go for an executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

First off, the staff elevates the experience. They are the best I've seen in some time.
The hotel is very comfortable...a bit like an old sweater. You feel secure in a serene environment. The pool is great , as is the sauna/steam room, complete with a cold plunge (when I was there about half the pool users were 'sans suits'...fairly rare in German hotel pools, unlike sauna's which always are. Both are fine with me). The restaurant is excellent and worth booking a dinner in.
There are some things you need to consider when booking this hotel. Remember, it is located in Grunewald, in an area of fine old homes. It is outside the ring road that surrounds central Berlin and is a cab ride, or long walk to anywhere. There is nothing outside it's grounds within a 15 minute walk except big homes.The S Bahn is a 15 minute walk away.
There are also some room issues you need to consider when booking. First, many top floor rooms are large, but there is no view unless you're among the world's tallest people. Even then it will be through a small gable window, with most of the view blocked by the roof. My room was on the 3rd floor and had no view, which was OK for us. In my room the safe, a typical hotel style safe normally found rooms, was actually bolted to the floor of the walk in closet beneath a luggage shelf. To use it I had to lie on my stomach and shinny beneath the shelf with a flashlight (my body blocked all light on the face of the safe). I finally gave up and we stored our valuables in the hotel safe.
All things considered, I found this to be a good hotel, made much better by the exceptional staff, restaurant, sauna and pool. For a relaxing experience I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If a view is important, do not book a room on the 3rd floor (see photo). Ask where the safe is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend three wonderful days at this beautiful hotel. The rooms are lovely, the hotel itself is so beautiful and the staff were excellent. The service levels were always high, and despite the hotel being very bust due to a wedding, we still had great service. The location is a little out of centre, but the walk to the Sbann was about 10 minutes and then an easy ride into Berlin centre. Its definitely worth the effort. I hope we are able to return here some time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,435 reviews
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#6 of 634 in Berlin
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 634 in Berlin
3,207 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
2,000 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel

Property: Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel
Address: Brahmsstr. 10 | Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14193 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Schlosshotel Im Grunewald)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#11 Business Hotel in Berlin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#47 Family Hotel in Berlin
#86 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personality, intimacy and privacy of PATRICK HELLMANN SCHLOSSHOTEL, is a 5-Star Superior Design Hotel is an exeptional historical building of the German capital. The estate is a mirror of centuries and dates back as a safe castle existing 100 years. Located minutes nearby to the Grunewald forrest and beautiful Berlin lakes. The hotel is like Central Park New York located only minutes closed by to the heart of one of Berlin’s shopping and entertainment Boulevards, the famous Kurfuerstendamm. The hotel is simply captivating. It is our number one priority to provide our guests with a first class service, tailor-made to their wishes. Each of our 43 elegant rooms and 10 suites in the 100-year-old historical villa is surrounded by park-like private gardens, stylishly designed interiors. Since 2016 the first Premium rooms & suites designed by Patrick Hellmann have been refurbished. Experience unmatched personal service - one of our top priorities. Our restaurants, cigar lounge and elegant lobby with its stunning chandelier and exquisite oil paintings provide an ideal atmosphere in which you unwind. In the SPA & Wellness area enjoy the view of the pine forest whilst taking a dip in the pool, or indulge in a first class massage treatment and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patrick Hellmann Schlosshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Berlin
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing