We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Berlin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Ranked #274 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night. I chose this hotel after reading all good reviews about it on this site and dont regret about the choice. The hotel is located just off the main shopping street, safe neighborhood, hundred meters away from bus stops that go around the city and to the Tegel airport, the same distance to the excursion bus stop. The staff very helpful, sold ticket for the excursion bus, gave a free ticket for something at a Christmas market (which I didn't use), gave a card for a free drink in the bar, which i also didnt use, gave a map with pointing out central Christmas markets. I had a single room, which was regular small size, just enough for 1 person, everything was clean, shiny. The window faced back side, but to my mind, even facing the front, there isnt much noise. I asked for smoking room, to my surprise, it almost didnt smell like a smoking room. The restaurant of the hotel serves delicious food. Breakfast was choice of 4-5 sausages, fish, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, jams, joghurts, choce of bread, omlet... I am very glad with the hotel, its location, price (45euro incl. breakfast for single room) and the stay. Definately stay here during the next stay in Berlin. Perfect for exploring the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irenedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    217
    103
    29
    11
See reviews for
45
154
71
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

It's rare for me to write a review while I'm still at the hotel I'm reviewing but I'm making an exception as I'm on my third night in a row of not being able to sleep because there are doors slamming every 10-15 minutes in this place and every footstep in the floor above mine seems to reverberate as a loud thudding noise in my room. Even with earplugs in! Don't know if this is a problem particular to room 322 or not since few other reviews note a noise problem. It has made for a miserable stay, though, and has cast a bit of a pall over my first visit to Berlin as I've felt tired all the time. I don't consider myself a light sleeper and have never had a problem like this on any of my travels before. Maybe it's worse with all the groups of young adults who seem to be here for New Year's and keep popping in and out of each other's rooms.

It's a real shame, though, as I wanted to like this hotel. It was super-easy to get to, even late at night, the room was quite spacious for a single and the breakfast was plentiful. The free WiFi was useful, though I've come to realise that when continental hotels boast of satellite or cable tv, that just means they have BBC news. I've tried as a result to be fair in my scoring - except for the internal noise problem, this hotel would have suited me fine.

Ultimately, though, if I can't count on getting a good night's sleep, that's a deal-breaker. If I hadn't prepaid, I'd have checked out after the first night. As it is, I wish I'd sucked up the extra cost and stayed somewhere else for my last night so that I could get some rest before my early flight tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_is_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for three nights.
Is in a good location just off the main shopping street. Stunning Christmas lights with the whole street lit up.
With good access to the Metro and onto other parts of the city.
Room at the hotel was on the smaller side, but was clean and kept tidy.
When we went to exit the room to go down to breakfast on our first morning there, the cleaner has left two chocolate Santa's outside. It was first week in December and thought that this was a nice touch!
The restaurant next to the hotel and is also sort of part of the hotel can not be missed.
It gets busy quickly as its ownly small so may be best to book in advanced. We had lovely meal there, had more than enough food for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gütersloh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just spent seven days over Christmas and stayed in The Berlin Plaza. Two minutes from The küdamm and the shops, five minutes from the Gedächnis Kirche, Europa centre and the bus terminal. We booked the hotel Over Booking.com. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and good bathroom facilities. Anyway, in Berlin a person just needs aplace to have a good sleep after a hard day shopping,eating and having a Berlin Kindle. The price was 350€ including breakfast would stay there again in the future

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilspago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Berlin Plaza Hotel.
To deal with a few negatives first - our room was a little on the small side and the bathroom appeared to have been designed for one of Snow White's little helpers ! That said, it was functional and how much time do you want to spend in your hotel room on a visit to Berlin anyway ? The elevator was a good place to make friends - I don't recall ever being in a smaller one. It worked perfectly well but if you have claustrophic tendencies it may be better to request a room on a lower floor.

Of prime importance to us, wherever we stay, is the cleanliness of the room and the Plaza Hotel could not be faulted in this respect - our room really was spotless with nice, fresh laundry on the bed. The beds themselves were comfortable and although only one pillow per person was initially provided a word with the chambermaid quickly resulted in another two in our room.
The staff at reception were very helpfull and spoke excellent English.

Breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of hot and cold food and it was something we looked forward to each morning. There was no complementary tea or coffee in the room which would have been a nice touch so consider bringing a travel kettle with you if necessary.

Despite being close to one of the main shopping streets in Berlin our room was very quiet and we heard little street noise. The hotel itself is ideally located, being within easy walking distance of both the underground and the S-bahn which provides quick and easy transport to everywhere within the city.

If arriving at Tegel Airport, take the exit near the Information Desk and walk slightly to your left to bus-stop no. 4 where the 109 bus departs about every 10 minutes.. Get off the bus at Bleibtreustrasse (each stop is shown on a display inside the bus so you can't miss it) and it is then just a 100 metre walk to the hotel. Bus fare is 2.30 euros - far cheaper and just as convenient as a taxi.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would certainly stay there again. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Very good location only yards from the Kurfürstendamm. Very traditional German city hotel - all clean, well appointed nad good service, but lacking in atmosphere and you have this typical smell of German cleaning products! Good bathorroms - but ask for a room with a tub if you like to soak in - there are not that many of them.
Breafst buffet is extensive and good - sometimes difficult to find a table for breakfast, specially around 9 o'clock. Try on of the side rooms.
The restaurant (Knese) is actually very good, with typical Berlin waiters - very good at their job, and in a way very service-minded, but sometimes on the border to being rude - at least to those of us used to staying in other German cities!
Have stayed here many times and am happy to retrun, but still wait for that first time they have a room available at 9 in the morning after anm early flight into Berlin - I always have to wait till 1500 hrs before I can check in!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back yard givesyou the option of sleeping with an open window. Rooms facing the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Booked this hotel for its price, location and breakfast reviews! Was not disappointed on any count. Solid budget hotel, no frills but very clean, warm and excellent breakfast. A few steps to bus stop for Tegel airport, U Bahn only 100 metres away, and walking distance to S Bahn and trains.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannibalbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
#172 of 634 in Berlin
659 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#111 of 634 in Berlin
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
BEST WESTERN PLUS Amedia Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#252 of 634 in Berlin
252 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Plaza Hotel

Property: Berlin Plaza Hotel
Address: Knesebeckstr. 63 | Kurfuerstendamm, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berlin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Berlin Plaza Hotel. Just a stone's throw from the famous Kurfuerstendamm in one of the nicest areas of Berlin with its unique city flair, is the Berlin Plaza Hotel. Close by you will find boutiques, various shops, theatres, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berlin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing