We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm
Ranked #441 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice and cool design. The restaurant and food, especially the bread was great. The room had a good size but the door out to hall way need some insolation as we could hear all what went on out there. The bathroom............well that was quite frankly bad. No air went so after a shower it was steamed up.. the handle on the window was removed so no chance of airing out in there. No storage/ shelfs so it was a balance act to hit the tooth brush without knocking down the deodorant and what I found strange no shower cap or any little gadget such as hair shampoo wich is impossible to bring in your suitcase for weekend trips due to strict 100 ml fluid regulations.
I shall look forward to my next trip to Berlin but think I will search for a Hotel with a proper bath room .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to describe the impressions of your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations.


With kind regards
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    160
    179
    80
    37
See reviews for
65
217
59
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my colleague as part of the ITB Berlin 2014 in a twin room (room 101). First the better things. The location is superb. Very central, just a few minutes away from the famous Ku'damm and public transportation. The room itself was spacious enough for 2 nights. Now the not so good things. The bathroom, even though good in size, seemed worn down and had no storage facilities whatsoever. Even worse, we got a towel with a hole in it. Considering that big part of the clientele during that time were professionals from the tourism industry I find that quite embarrassing for the hotel chain. Same goes for the Wi-fi. Very bad or rather no signal in the room so had to go down to the lobby every time I wanted to connect to it. The breakfast was tasty but the selection was very small and for the price (12,50€) they charge just not adequate. Overall bad price-performance ratio.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AneP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to describe the impressions of your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations. Of course, the bad state of affairs you have described is not the rule. I'm sorry to read that we were not able to convince you of our house. I would like to apologize and assure you that I have spoken immediately with our team.

With kind regards from Berlin
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I would describe the hotel as functional rather than basic. Had everything we needed as we spent most of the day & evening exploring the city. Service from all the staff was excellent, breakfast was the same each day but there was a big selection. Free wifi worked well, location was great (5mins from u-bahn & ku'damm) and overall provided a great base for our trip.
Only negative was a lack of soundproofing. I don't think the walls are thin, I think the doors are.
Great value, location and service

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyR1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review and your compliments and that in particular you found the staff very kind. We are happy about your recommendation and would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The room was ok, but the bathroom was pretty aged. It was clean though. The breakfast was nice and there was plenty. The staff was friendly and had some good advice on the restaurants in the neighbourhood.
On the negative side, there was no wifi signal in our room on the 2nd floor, though this was advertised. We had to walk down to the reception area every time we wanted to use the wifi. Furthermore the walls were really thin so we could hear everything that was said in the hallway and neighbouring rooms.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review. Your comments help us to improve our services constantly.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

With kind regards
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are not very happy with our choice. Terrible beds en small rooms(upgraded they said!?) breakfast was okay. Tv was not working, second dat it was! Location was okay nearby metro en god restaurants padre...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

With kind regards from Berlin
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The price was the main attraction of this hotel, it's a budget hotel but you certainly get more than you pay for.

On arrival we were given a twin room although we had booked a double bed, we couldn't push the beds together as the bathroom door was between the beds. When I asked reception to change the room she did, and very quickly. Our new room was quite small, but clean and had everything we needed. A 4th floor room meant less street noise, although as we slept with the window open a little as the room got quite warm, we were woken in the morning by staff and neighbours wheeling bins etc (our room was at the rear).

Good stuff include; The breakfast, lots of choice, and great coffee.The staff are all friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, 2 minute walk to Uhlandstrasse station, from there you can get anywhere around Berlin. Just imagine the London Underground, but more efficient! Also lots of films in English on the TV in our room. When we had an early night to give our legs a rest, this was particularly welcome!

Not so good stuff included the wifi, which of course is a good thing, but didn't reach us on the 4th floor, anytime we wanted to use it, had to get up and go down to reception. It might be better signal on lower floors, but the compromise might be street noise.

The hotel generally is clean and tidy, perhaps could do with some modernisation soon, but I don't really have anything bad to say. If we returned to Berlin, we would definitely stay here again. Great value for money, and a great location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift, as the noise of people coming in and out travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Receptionist at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate every advice given to us as we constantly try to improve our service and of course our hotel.

We wish you a pleasant christmas time and hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Steffanie Kutzner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was a bit worried what to expect but was pleased. The location is good, just cross over the road and up Uhlandstrasse and you are in the thick of it on Kurfurstendamm.
Room was OK, twin beds pushed together and only one pillow but we could have asked more more pillows.
Flat screen TV with some English though we were out most of the time. Reasonable storage though would have struggled if staying for a week.
BEWARE if you have young children, the large bathroom window opens inwards with nothing to stop it fully opening.
Breakfast choice reasonable no grumbles there.
There is no bar but there are vending machines with beer, wine and some spirits, water, soft drinks etc and because of its central location there are plently of places to eat and drink.
Perhaps we were lucky with our room on the 3rd floor at the front but for what we paid we were quite happy to spend a couple of nights there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaslongasican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Mark Apart Hotel
Mark Apart Hotel
#430 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#339 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Max Brown Hotel Ku'damm
#200 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Berlin Plaza Hotel
#255 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
art'otel berlin kudamm
#189 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm

Property: Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin AM KU Damm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing