We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Breakfast is perfect but will not come back for the breakfast !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm
Ranked #350 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast is perfect but will not come back for the breakfast !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel is not OK, rooms are so, so ! The breakfast is perfect, but too much and better to have breakfast at one of the local breakfast shops close by. Tons of good food places around for super quality/price balance.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    139
    141
    62
    27
See reviews for
55
170
52
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My first trip to Berlin and this was a great standard of hotel. Nice large bed, spacious bathroom (there was even a bath which seems to be a rarity in hotels these days). Everything clean and just as you would hope to expect. Immaculate decor. Lots of choices at buffet style continental breakfast and only a ten minute walk from Zooligische Garten train station which is very handy. You can get a bus to the hotel as well but we preferred walking. Lots of cheap eateries nearby.

One word of warning though for non German speakers: this hotel seems to go by three different names which is very confusing when trying to get a taxi back late at night. German taxi drivers have the patience of angels but they are not psychic. Write the address down or get a card to take with you as you are never going to remember 'Lietzenburger Strasse' let alone pronounce it after a few refreshments!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the lift. I was as far away as possible but heard it during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1967Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards
Monika Piesker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My first trip to Berlin and i was particularly pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of the Hotel staff.The restaurant was imacculately clean and the waiting staff efficient and magnanimous.The Hotel has a great location just off the Ku'damm which should suit shopaholics,there is also a plethora of bars/restaurants on hand too.

The rooms were very clean and warm and i experienced little problem sleeping,though as has been observed in other reviews it may be advisable to avoid rooms directly opposite the lift shaft.

There are two underground stations a short walk away in Uhlandstrasse and the 'City Cicrle Sightseeing Tours' also start in the nearby Ku'damm.

Check-in is from 3pm and Check-out at midday,however there is a luggage room available in which to deposit your bags should your flight times prove awkward.

Altogether the Hotel offered very pleasing value for money,i would happily (and plan to,) use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room opposite the lift shaft as there can be some noise from the doors opening and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Jason,
Thanks a lot for your great review and your efforts. We are very happy about your recommendation and would be pleased to welcome you again!.

Best regards from Berlin
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was a guite cheap hotel but had many good things.The personal was very kind and helpful.We could print the check in to our flight easy,it was very easy to go everywhere-bus 109 direkt to airport! Many good cafees and restaurangs nearby and a little supermarket.And a nice sauna too.I will come and stay next time too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Visiting Berlin near Christmas time is a fantastic experience and should be a must at least once in everyone's lifetime. However, where you stay could affect your visit.
On our annual Christmas long weekend stay in Berlin, we decided to swap hotels only for a change of scenery.
The Grand City Hotel Berlin Kudamm looked to be a decent choice.
I was booked into a single room on the third floor, my friend on the fifth. Not a problem at first until I went to bed. As my room was opposite the doors to the lift, i heard EVERY single person who used the lift, ALL NIGHT!!
When I asked to change rooms, as they were almost at capacity, they had to do some changing but was done. Up to the sixth floor (lift only goes to fifth) I went and I thought all problems were over. Well, my new room was opposite the large motor that operated the lift so, although not as loud, there was a constant rumble every time anyone used the lift.
The rooms were clean and tidy and staff were always friendly. It became very obvious quickly that all the staff's English was better than my German so any problems were solved easily.
I would recomend the hotel, just avoid rooms away from the lift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Da-Reeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On a recent 'City Break': Berlin, I had a 'single room on the sixth floor, at the rear of this hotel.
Proving 'single' rooms: single person/ bed rooms still exist in 'serviced (hotel) accommodation'..
View from the hotel room window was 'quiet': adjacent streets buildings roofs, church steeple?
In contrast to a 'view' of the street on which the hotel was from a hotel room window at the front?
Or what could see of the street, from a ;front' window in the stairs: other hotels,buildings, traffic.
The hotel has no 'in house' bar,nor needs one with various on street 'bar's in close proximity?
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, is one of the Berlin landmarks' on the hotel corridors carpets,
It shows what the church looked like, but cannot now be seen as it is 'cocooned' for restoration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Mark Apart Hotel
Mark Apart Hotel
#337 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Domus Hotel Berlin Ku'Damm
#335 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
#257 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#280 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Neukolln
Days Inn Berlin City South
Days Inn Berlin City South
#148 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm
Address: Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'Damm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing