We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Ranked #318 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September over the marathon period. The hotel is in a great location, with good transport connections. The staff are friendly and the lobby bar is a relaxing place to enjoy a drink and socialise.

The room we had faced the back of the hotel and it was a good size. The room was clean and comfortable with good size bed, but basic.

Unfortunately the walls and ceiling are paper-thin and very poorly sound insulated, the walls shook when next door shut their bathroom or room door and their TV sounded like it was playing inside our room. The room was also very hot. All resulting in not a great sleeping experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Beach Travellers,

thank you very much for your kind words and that you have taken the time to rate us.

Assessments are very important for us so we know where we stand.

For the annoying noises we apologize again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three days over the weekend. Bedroom very comfortable and quiet but sparsely furnished. Bathroom pokey. You can get free wifi for period but it's clunky to log into, had poor speed, a bad signal around most of the hotel and EVERY hotel now has free internet!. This has some free computers but people want their own computers. The whiskey is, like most Berlin Hotels, RIDICULOUSLY expensive. If you stay here, buy your own which is dirt cheap in Germany. The staff were very very pleasant and efficient. The bar was nice.
But bottom line. NOT worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gearoidmuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Gearoidmuar,

Thank you for your online review.

The constructive criticism of our guests is very important to us and helps us to see our weaknesses from the perspective of the guest in order to improve this and leave for the future.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The location is near trains and bus lines. Restaurants in the hotel are good and many nearby restaurants we found to be excellent. The rooms are very small and so is the bathroom. Each room is clean, lhowever, the hallway carpeting wasin need of attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvinandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Alvinandjune,

thank you for your honest words about your stay in our house
and that you have bewertetet us online

On the size of the room and the bath we can not change anything, but we are trying to constantly improve standards.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here 15/09/13-22/09/13 great hotel, large rooms, comfy beds, fab breakfast, friendly staff. No complaints at all as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Berlin is an amazing city. Also Filmbuhne restaurant next to hotel very nice we went twice, East chinese restaurant in savignyplatz was the best chinese meal weve ever had (5min walk from hotel). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms at the back and higher up had no outside noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayjay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Jayjay73,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Pleased we have noted that you were very satisfied with the offer, the services and location.

We would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, near the zoo garden railway station and very near to the bus station. Our hotel room was a good size and had everything we needed for our 5 night stay. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful (we had a problem with the safe in our room and it was sorted within 5 mins). The breakfast area was very pleasant and clean and they had a lot of variety - it could get really busy at times as there were a lot of guests staying at the hotel. I thought the hotel was excellent value for money an cannot fault it at all!

There is an airport express train from Schonfield that takes you to the Zoo Garten station, these trains run every 30 mins, but there are other trains that you can take. When you come into the station there is a large map showing all the rail links. Tickets can be purchased from the machines in the station, however there was no information desk where you could ask for advice (a couple of other travellers kindly helped us get our tickets and put us on the right train).

There is an excellent restaurant I would like to recommend - Filmbuhne - the food was delicious and excellent value for money - turn left out of the hotel and the restaurant is on the corner.

During our few days in Berlin we went to Checkpoint Charlie (the museum was very interesting), up the telephone tower with amazing views over the City. We also visited the Berlin dungeon, Madam Tussards & Sea World, all of which are worth a visit. The zoo is also a must do - we spent over 4 hours there and still did not see everything! We went to the concentration camp with the Original Berlin Walks tours - Ashleigh our guide asked us all to mention her on our review. It was well worth visiting, but I thought it was a bit rushed and that they should have started the tour earlier in the day and finished it later in the day, but it was good value for money.

There are plenty of shopping areas in Berlin and lots of places to eat & drink. Overall a fantastic place to visit with lots to see and do!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Helen,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Pleased we have noted that you were very satisfied with the offer, the services and location.

We would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although this hotel has a good location because it is close to the Zoo Station and Kurfurstendamm Avenue, the rooms are very very small. Ours was clean, but hot because of the unusually warm weather in Berlin. The AC cooled it off somewhat, but our room faced west and heated up during the day. We found the staff helpful. The internet in the lobby was free. Despite the room quality, the breakfast in the hotel was excellent with many choices offered. One would have to balance the ease of the location for that part of Berlin and the good choice of restaurants and attractions with the average rating of the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Joan 36806,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Pleased we have noted that you were satisfied with the offer, the services and location.

On the size of the room we can not change anything, because that is given to us like that.

We would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

In short, Wyndham should be ashamed of itself. We were booked into this hotel on a group tour and the entire group complained. The lobby area is very modern, spiffy, and clean. Just don't go upstairs. The hallway carpets were filthy, the rooms were tiny, and our bathroom had mold on the floor and around the tub. Others in our group also had mold. Apparently, Wyndham has done nothing to improve this property above the ground floor. Pros: very conveniently located to public transportation, with Zoo Station just a block away. Decent breakfast. Cons: its filthy upstairs, limited free wifi. In short, you can do better and so can Wyndham.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Jim,

thank you for your honest words and that you have taken the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We regret exceedingly that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the entire house, because we place especially at heart and was discussed in detail with our staff.

Throughout the hotel you are 30 minutes WI-FI free of charge. Behind the reception we have three more terminals where you can surf the internet for free.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Savoy Hotel Berlin
#73 of 633 in Berlin
1,000 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#378 of 633 in Berlin
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#118 of 633 in Berlin
773 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Berlin Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Address: Hardenbergstr. 14, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $66 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Berlin Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Berlin Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing