We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Ranked #293 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Chicago
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The location is near trains and bus lines. Restaurants in the hotel are good and many nearby restaurants we found to be excellent. The rooms are very small and so is the bathroom. Each room is clean, lhowever, the hallway carpeting wasin need of attention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvinandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Alvinandjune,

thank you for your honest words about your stay in our house
and that you have bewertetet us online

On the size of the room and the bath we can not change anything, but we are trying to constantly improve standards.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    743
    600
    219
    136
See reviews for
272
869
120
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galston, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here 15/09/13-22/09/13 great hotel, large rooms, comfy beds, fab breakfast, friendly staff. No complaints at all as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Berlin is an amazing city. Also Filmbuhne restaurant next to hotel very nice we went twice, East chinese restaurant in savignyplatz was the best chinese meal weve ever had (5min walk from hotel). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms at the back and higher up had no outside noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Jayjay73,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Pleased we have noted that you were very satisfied with the offer, the services and location.

We would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, near the zoo garden railway station and very near to the bus station. Our hotel room was a good size and had everything we needed for our 5 night stay. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful (we had a problem with the safe in our room and it was sorted within 5 mins). The breakfast area was very pleasant and clean and they had a lot of variety - it could get really busy at times as there were a lot of guests staying at the hotel. I thought the hotel was excellent value for money an cannot fault it at all!

There is an airport express train from Schonfield that takes you to the Zoo Garten station, these trains run every 30 mins, but there are other trains that you can take. When you come into the station there is a large map showing all the rail links. Tickets can be purchased from the machines in the station, however there was no information desk where you could ask for advice (a couple of other travellers kindly helped us get our tickets and put us on the right train).

There is an excellent restaurant I would like to recommend - Filmbuhne - the food was delicious and excellent value for money - turn left out of the hotel and the restaurant is on the corner.

During our few days in Berlin we went to Checkpoint Charlie (the museum was very interesting), up the telephone tower with amazing views over the City. We also visited the Berlin dungeon, Madam Tussards & Sea World, all of which are worth a visit. The zoo is also a must do - we spent over 4 hours there and still did not see everything! We went to the concentration camp with the Original Berlin Walks tours - Ashleigh our guide asked us all to mention her on our review. It was well worth visiting, but I thought it was a bit rushed and that they should have started the tour earlier in the day and finished it later in the day, but it was good value for money.

There are plenty of shopping areas in Berlin and lots of places to eat & drink. Overall a fantastic place to visit with lots to see and do!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Helen,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Pleased we have noted that you were very satisfied with the offer, the services and location.

We would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although this hotel has a good location because it is close to the Zoo Station and Kurfurstendamm Avenue, the rooms are very very small. Ours was clean, but hot because of the unusually warm weather in Berlin. The AC cooled it off somewhat, but our room faced west and heated up during the day. We found the staff helpful. The internet in the lobby was free. Despite the room quality, the breakfast in the hotel was excellent with many choices offered. One would have to balance the ease of the location for that part of Berlin and the good choice of restaurants and attractions with the average rating of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Joan 36806,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Pleased we have noted that you were satisfied with the offer, the services and location.

On the size of the room we can not change anything, because that is given to us like that.

We would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

In short, Wyndham should be ashamed of itself. We were booked into this hotel on a group tour and the entire group complained. The lobby area is very modern, spiffy, and clean. Just don't go upstairs. The hallway carpets were filthy, the rooms were tiny, and our bathroom had mold on the floor and around the tub. Others in our group also had mold. Apparently, Wyndham has done nothing to improve this property above the ground floor. Pros: very conveniently located to public transportation, with Zoo Station just a block away. Decent breakfast. Cons: its filthy upstairs, limited free wifi. In short, you can do better and so can Wyndham.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Jim,

thank you for your honest words and that you have taken the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We regret exceedingly that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the entire house, because we place especially at heart and was discussed in detail with our staff.

Throughout the hotel you are 30 minutes WI-FI free of charge. Behind the reception we have three more terminals where you can surf the internet for free.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Excelsior was a great experience. We arrived a lot earlier than check-in and fortunately they had a room available. The staff was really great :)! They were so helpful, and they were always smiling. No matter what time we went to the reception they were always there to help us. We have also visited the bar and we really enjoyed our time there as well. The bartender was also very friendly and made great drinks for us.
The hotel was a in a great location. It was really easy to get there from the airport. We just needed to take one train and it took not more than 35 minutes to get there. And you can get anywhere from the hotel very easily.
Our room was really nice. Perfectly enough for the two of us. It was really clean and smelled good.
I am sure we will visit them again in the future.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a pleasant and relaxing time in Berlin.

Room Tip: Great location, friendly staff, nice rooms and cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetKundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear JanetKundi,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Pleased we have noted that you were satisfied with the offer, the services and location.

We would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is what you need in Berlin. breakfast its reach and you do not need lunch. Big comfortable room. The no smoking room smell good. close to trains, shops in boulevard Kurfürstendamm . free wi fi. for 65 euros its good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Chaim B.,

thanks for the positive feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you were very satisfied with the offer, the services and location and would be happy if we can soon welcome you again.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#347 of 634 in Berlin
1,981 reviews
Charlottenburg
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Savoy Hotel Berlin
#72 of 634 in Berlin
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
arcona LIVING GOETHE87
arcona LIVING GOETHE87
#238 of 634 in Berlin
178 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
#152 of 634 in Berlin
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Berlin Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Property: Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Address: Hardenbergstr. 14, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Berlin Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Berlin Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing