We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, inattentive service, Expensive Wifi.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Ranked #291 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small rooms, inattentive service, Expensive Wifi.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The public areas of the Wyndham are fairly well appointed, but this is where the luxury ends, The restaurant is closed on Sunday evening. Wifi cost 12 Euro a night ( after a free half hour - why do hotels still do this?). The rooms are small. There was no kettle in our room - it took two days of requests to get one - then it became apparent that there was not really room for it. The air conditioning was broken ( the thermostat was disconnected - I fixed it myself with a screwdriver I bought, as the housekeeping took so long to respond). Service in the bar was disinterested. The hotel is in a great location, near the zoo and S-Bahn, and U-Bahn. Fortunately there was a supermarket nearby too (for screwdriver and Sunday evening meal). Not good enough for an international hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calv2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Calv2002,

Thanks for the feedback on TripAdvisor.

The constructive criticism of our guests is very important to us and helps us from the perspective of the guest to see our weaknesses in order to improve this and leave for the future.

We are very sorry that you had trouble during your stay and that you were not satisfied with the fixtures of the room and the friendliness of our staff.

Regarding the cost of the WI-FI we cannot give better rates as the system is rented.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    743
    600
    218
    135
See reviews for
272
868
120
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was great! Everything was clean, the beds were the best ones I've ever slept in and the room was also great, even if it was small. The toilet was a much better experience than in many other places in central Europe - clean and fresh. The staff was friendly too, and there were some computers to use for free in the lobby. I recmmend you to try the restaurant - I've never been eating that good food! Especially the "Baby Burger Trio" was excellent ;)

The location was good and everytheing was close. Even if it's not in the middle of the most tourist attractions you can get to for example Brandenburger Tor, Alexandersplatz und Potsdamer Platz directly by the metro. A great experience over all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniKakadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Annikakadu,

Thanks for the positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the services and the location of our house and that you enjoyed Berlin so much.

We would like to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location, few blocks away from a good metro station. Good service, spacious rooms, all clean and very comfortable. Walk to kanstrasse and you'll find tons of restaurants to have a mice dinner. Convinient to get easily to berlin Hauptbanhof. Wifi is only free for 3 hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank Refugio L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Refugio L.,

Thanks for the positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the services and the location of our house and that you enjoyed Berlin so much.

We would like to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located close to excellent tourists areas and shopping. When large groups the elevators are not enough. Rooms does not accommodate two people with the neccesary space two move around. Breakfast is included and does not have such a big variety of food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isuarezh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Isuarezh,

Thanks for the feedback on TripAdvisor.

The constructive criticism of our guests is very important to us and helps us from the perspective of the guest to see our weaknesses in order to improve this and leave for the future.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is overall good. The only problem I faced is that it does not have free internet for personal devices. You have to pay EUR12 for a one-day pass for internet applicable to only one device. I had laptop from work ad had to check my e-mails regularly. I was unable to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Emmanouil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Emmanouil P.,

Thanks for the positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the services and the location of our house and that you enjoyed Berlin so much.

Throughout the hotel you are 30 minutes WI-FI free of charge. Behind the reception we have three more terminals where you can surf the internet for free.

We would like to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Next to metro & train. Steps from zoo . Just a great location.From airport a Bus ride away. Some communication barriers in terms of signaling in airport etc. Ask if in doubt to any airport attendant. Courteous .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamonPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ramon PR,

Thanks for the positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the services and the location of our house and that you enjoyed Berlin so much.

We would like to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We can NOT fault this hotel! It's luxurious, immaculately clean and decorated in a modern way but still to all tastes.

The breakfast was delious with SO much to chose from. The staff were all friendly. The location was perfect. The beds were the most comfy beds EVER - did not make getting up easier! Only negative would be you only get 30mins free WiFi per day but hey, the rest of the hotel makes up for it.

Anyone who rates their stay as terrible must be overly snobby and spoilt. Thank you Wyndham!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25Jess6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear 25 Jess6,

Thanks for the positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the services and the location of our house and that you enjoyed Berlin so much.

We would like to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely yours
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#348 of 634 in Berlin
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Savoy Hotel Berlin
#73 of 634 in Berlin
849 reviews
Charlottenburg
arcona LIVING GOETHE87
arcona LIVING GOETHE87
#240 of 634 in Berlin
178 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
#153 of 634 in Berlin
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Berlin Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Property: Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Address: Hardenbergstr. 14, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Berlin Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Berlin Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing