We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West
Ranked #314 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying I'm not that person who vents and complains on social forums. This is my only exception to date! Holiday Inn Berlin City-west is by far the worst hotel I've ever visited. On route from Oslo to San Diego, my flight was delayed, so the airline sent me to their parter, Holiday Inn, telling me that they would provide me with a dinner and breakfast voucher. Upon arrival, the unwelcoming, inattentive receptionist says that I only had a voucher for breakfast. When I asked her if she could call the airline she refused. When I asked if I could call the hotel's partner airline from her line, she refused. She did, however, tell me I could call from my room. When I reached my room to call the airline, the phone didn't work. Turns out you have to pay for outgoing local calls. So I went back down to reception to pay for an internet voucher and finally found the only competent receptionist who helped me call the airline. Note, if you ever get stuck with Airberlin in Berlin on an involuntary, unforeseen layover, do not call their local line. They will tell you to fix their mistake by submitting a complaint online. Call the international number, which is what I did at dinner. 20 minutes on the phone via Skype and10 euros later on the cost of internet later I finally got the problem resolved. After a few more interactions with the same service standard as the first receptionist, it's clear to see that this hotel is poorly managed and well stocked with teenagers with no sense of customer service. I understand people making mistakes but companies with partnerships should take responsibility and not put it on their customers who are already spending over 1,500 dollars on their service, especially those of us who are dealing with the stress that hours of international travel creates. Do not go to this hotel. If you need to stay near the airport, go to Mercury. Their service and food is of much better quality.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank H.m. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear H.m. R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    243
    198
    73
    33
See reviews for
102
165
57
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel was some 50 minutes from Shonefeld Airport which was a shock as we thought we were staying in the city centre. . . but as pointed out by our very friendly taxi driver, most of the Holiday Inn's in Berlin have the same name with only a slight difference.

Having never been to Berlin before my initial gut reaction was that it was going to be a long 3 days. But after half an hour sitting with the guide books, and after a brief chat with reception, we found we were a five minute walk away from an underground station, so off we set. For around €7 you can get a 24 hour travel ticket which you can use on trains, underground and buses and we found that the policing of tickets is so very relaxed you can just hop on and off.

So with tube map in hand off we set, and it was so easy. After 3 days we had seen so much more than we ever would have done by staying in the city.

In the end we found ourselves getting off at random tube stops just to see what was around and then getting back on.

We had booked a trip to see some Christmas markets but at the second market we just asked the guide for the location of the other markets then took ourselves off to see them at our leisure , as the guide gives you only 30 minutes at each market.

Returned home feeling very festive and very relaxed.

This hotel turned out to be perfect. The breakfast was more than ample, the bar food was also ample, the room was larger than expected and very clean.

Staff were friendly in a German no nonsense kind of way but they were always willing to help.

During our visit the hotel was holding numerous conferences, so be prepared for this as I think this is a main attraction at the hotel. We shared the restaurant at breakfast with the candidates for Miss Intercontinental (wow - these girls are fully made up with heals very early! making me feel very frumpy), some Japanese business people (who wanted to eat ALL of the food), and a Ballroom dance conference. If you like people watching then this element of a hotel stay is well worth it.

Ditch the British stiff upper lip, find some adventure and you will be amazed at what you see.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_93, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear "Foghornleghorn24",

Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn Berlin City - West and giving such a positive and detailed feedback.

We are really happy that we could satisfy all your needs with our hospitality and that you liked our breakfast, our bar food and your room a lot. Your recommendation is highly appreciated.

Hopefully, we may welcome you soon again in Berlin.

Kind regards to Birmingham,
Jan Bitterlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, North Dakota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was stuck in Berlin due to a missed flight with Air Berlin. They were very nice and put me up in this hotel for the night. I found everyone to be very warm and inviting at the Holiday Inn. Wifi was not free, so I asked the front desk if they knew a business that had free WiFi. They were very nice and pointed to a location down the street about a 5 minute walk away. The breakfast buffet was AMAZING as well. My coffee cup was never less than half full. Very attentive staff.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to be on the higher floors. Most inside rooms look over the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkeytec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_93, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear "Rkeytec",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Berlin City - West and writing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that all of our staff was attentive to your needs and wishes. Certainly we have shared your comments with our staff.

Dear "Rkeytec", we would be very delighted to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Berlin
Jan Bitterlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My friend and I have just got back from a trip to the Christmas markets. The hotel is a long way from Shonefeld Airport 50 Mins by bus & train and although easy, it's daunting. We arrived late in the evening about 11 pm and arriving at the underground station in Rohrdamm there are no signs on the road to point you in the right direction of the hotel? it's on a side turning which looks residential and not a likely hotel location. We wandered around totally deserted streets eventually finding someone to help us. The walk is short when you know where your going! Wouldn't recommend this location but the hotel was very good. Spotlessly clean and very quiet. The staff were very friendly helpful. The room was very comfortable but the TV only has one English Channel which is CNN news. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and if you don't mind a train journey everyday about 20/30 minutes into the centre it's a relaxing spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_93, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear “Gina B”,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us your detailed and important feedback regarding your recent stay.

We do apologize that your visit was not to your satisfaction. We know about the problem regarding finding our hotel from the underground Station “Rohrdamm”. Therefore we are already in contact with the Berlin Public Transportation to get a permission for signing out properly the way to the hotel directly from the underground. We hope this process is soon finished.

Thank you very much for mentioning our staff as very helpful. Be assured that we have shared your nice comment with the whole team.

Dear “Gina B”, should your travel bring you back this way, we hope that you would stay with us again.

Kind regards to Brentwood
Jan Bitterlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel as part of a Groupon deal, and if I'm honest we were both quite worried reading previous reviews on this site. The way some people whine on here would suggest it impossible to get to the centre of Berlin from this hotel but efficient German transport makes it so easy! Granted, it would have been easier to fly to Tegel airport but Schoenefeld still wasn't that hard to get to the hotel from (X7 bus from Schoenefeld-very frequent, to Rudow, then jump on the U7 underground to Rohrdamm)- that's it!
Hotel is in a lovely location and we were greeted by such a kind receptionist who spoke Denglisch to me when I was half asleep and gave a really great first impression of the hotel. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. Obviously the mini bar was expensive but every hotel has that same issue so isn't worth complaining about.
Breakfast was lovely and the Intermezzo Bar is such an impressive bar when you first enter the hotel. We had expected a continental breakfast but were also surprised to discover an omelette station where you could choose your fillings, and about 5 or 6 hot food options- lovely way to start the day!
We didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast but it really is a lovely hotel with great staff. My advice would be to buy a Tageskarte from the U-Bahn station which is something like 6.20 Euro for the day for zones A and B and allows you on all public transports to explore the city. Don't be put off by other comments on here about it being miles away because if you actually make the effort to jump on a train it's really not that far! Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_93, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear "Jo R",

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. It is a pleasure to host guests like you.

We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time at the Holiday Inn Berlin City - West to the fullest. Your review certainly will help other guests to get a detailed impression of our Hotel with its location, our breakfast and our helpful and friendly staff. Be assured that we have forwarded your compliment regarding your mentioned receptionist to the team.

Dear "Jo R", it is a great to hear that you will visit us again. Your promise to return is our greatest compliment.

Kind regards to Bridgend
Jan Bitterlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel with few expectations as this came as a Groupon deal budget package through Broadway Travel.

For the price we paid for our stay this hotel far exceeded our expectations.
The staff were friendly and extremely efficient and helpful.
The room we stayed in was clean, well appointed and even had a fridge/minibar. We were also suprised to see such good quality fittings in the bathroom. Something you would expect to see in a pricier hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinscott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_93, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear “Robinscott13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, it is a pleasure to host guests like you.

We are glad to read that we have satisfied your needs with our Holiday Inn service quality. Certainly we have shared those compliments with our team.

Hopefully you will visit Berlin soon again and we may welcome you in our hotel.

Kind regards to Glasgow
Jan Bitterlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, staff in reception_ very helpful and made our days out easier especially with the trains, unlike the staff at the airport who sent us to the wrong hotel and wrong end of the city.
Cleanliness- good
Food - faultless
bar and restaurant - nice, staff have good spoken english
A bit of a trek from the Airport via underground over an hour to Schönefeld airport,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreigntraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_93, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear „foreigntraveller69“,

Thank you for providing us your personal feedback after visiting the Holiday Inn Berlin City - West.

We are very happy that you liked our hotel, specially our Bar “Intermezzo”, our Restaurant “Il Faggio” and our Reception.

We hope to see you soon again, it would be a great to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards to Luton
Jan Bitterlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Spandau
Mercure Hotel Berlin City West
Days Inn Berlin West
#249 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Spandau
Centrovital Hotel Berlin
Centrovital Hotel Berlin
#164 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Central-Hotel Tegel
#517 of 634 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berlin City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berlin City-West

Property: Holiday Inn Berlin City-West
Address: Rohrdamm 80, 13629 Berlin, Germany (Formerly HI Berlin Esplanade)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Berlin City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the 4 star hotel HOLIDAY INN BERLIN CITY-WEST in Berlin. The hotel is located very close to the airport Tegel TXL, the fairground Messe Berlin and the ICC, the Kurfürstendamm in the city centre and castle Charlottenburg. Everything can be reached within 15 minutes by public transport. We also offer a shuttle service to the airport Tegel, daily from 06.30am until 10.00pm available on request. Just give us your flight details and we will pick you up. The modern 4-star-hotel - which is in close proximity to Siemens, BMW or Vattenfall headquarters - offers 336 comfortable double rooms and suites, including 247 non-smoking rooms. All rooms are equipped with LCD TV s, air conditioning, double-glazed windows, telephone, pay-TV, radio and WiFi & High Speed Internet Access.Relax in the indoor pool with sauna and our new fitness room. Our á la carte restaurant 'Il Faggio', the 'Kleene Kneipe', our little pub, or the 'Intermezzo' offer a wide range of regional and international specialities. 24h room service is available as well. Fourteen modern meeting rooms with natural daylight offer state of the art technical equipment - the best place to live your ideas hosting up to 900 delegates. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Berlin City-West ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Berlin City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West Hotel Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing