We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in the circumstances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West
Ranked #305 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good in the circumstances”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here unexpectedly following multiple cancellations at Tegel Airport which led me to get in a taxi and say "nearest hotel" - and even then it's 3.5km from the airport or about €11.

The hotel is large and welcoming. The staff were friendly, and I got the impression they get a fair bit of trade from the airport. The hotel has a couple of wings and it's important to take the right set of lifts - do pay attention on checking in!

The room was comfortable enough though the chrome desk and chair was a bit dated. The bed was good, and the bathroom spacious and well-lit. There were tea and coffee-making facilities, something I don't often find in Germany, and an outrageously expensive mini-bar that I did not touch.

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed, but room service and bar snacks were available. The bar food was reasonably priced with generous portions, and the staff were efficient (only two people for an unexpected number of guests - well done to them). Didn't have breakfast.

We paid the rack rate of €84 and I think that's pretty good value. However, I wouldn't stay here as a base for tourism, as it's quite far from the city centre and getting into town requires a bus journey (or walk) to the nearest U-Bahn station (Rohrdamm on the U7).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibcw, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Darrenmcc,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Berlin City-West. It is with much appreciation that you have kindly recommended our services to other reviewers.

We are very proud of our employees and trainees who ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience. Please be assured that I have forwarded your compliment regarding the efficient room service to our restaurant manager.

We hope that your trip back to London went well and I do hope that we will have the future opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards from Berlin
Bart Beerkens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    242
    194
    71
    32
See reviews for
102
163
55
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Spent three nights here in September 2012 while visiting Berlin for a football match at the Olympic stadium and we decided to send a little more than we normally would when staying in Berlin (previously only stayed in hostels in and around Berlin all previously reviewed on here)

Hotel staff were excellent from checking in to checking out, room and public areas were clean.

Food served at breakfast was excellent, didn't drink in the hotel bar, as the hotel is within walking distance of the Europa centre shopping and entertainment complex,

If booking thought holiday inn website joint the priority loyalty scheme it's free and one the benefits is 2pm checkout ;)

Only negative was charging for wifi, given that virtually all people these days would make use of wifi, either on their phone, tablet or laptop, offering either free or wifi built in the price of the room would be better than charging by the hour !

Room Tip: Rooms on the back tend to be quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenose1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibcw, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear bluenose1981,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your first stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed a great experience and felt that our quality of product was to a high standard and this combined with a good city location made it a value for money experience.

Regarding the internet costs I would like to mention that we offer a free of charge internet possibility to all our guests in our Business Center beside our reception.

Thank you for recommending us to other reviewers and we look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards to Liverpool
Bart Beerkens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
205 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Due to a flight cancellation I was dropped here by KLM, as it's close to TXL airport. The hotel is fine, nothing special, bit old fashioned rooms (colours, closets etc.). I would not take a bath there. You have to pay for wifi, though you can use the computer downstairs for free. Surrounding area is not very nice (flats, looked a bit like the middle of nowhere).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibcw, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Beriha,

I am very sorry that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Regarding your comment about the interior of our hotel I would like to let you know that the architect of the Holiday Inn Berlin City-West had the idea to build a hotel in "Bauhaus style". All furniture matches that style and is maintained as new.

Dear Beriha, we hope that you had a safe trip back to Utrecht and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future visit and ask that you contact us directly so that we may ensure you are looked after.

Hartelijke Groeten
Bart Beerkens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked one night at this hotel—at the end of a 2-week Germany trip ending in Berlin—because its amenities included an airport shuttle.

Unfortunately, I didn't find out until check-in that the shuttle does not run before 6:30 a.m. It is also not free; it costs 4 Euro per person. So for 2 people, it's not much cheaper than a taxi.

Other than this disappointment (which was considerable, since I wouldn't have booked here otherwise), it was a typical hotel focused on the business traveler. All of the extras that are often free elsewhere—e.g., breakfast, wireless access—will cost you here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibcw, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear JaneFriedmann,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Our Shuttle to the Airport Tegel runs daily from 06:30 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. and costs 4 Euro per person. Unfortunately we are not able to provide a shuttle service before 06:30 a.m. due to personnel organization.

We hope you had a safe journey back home. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via b.beerkens@hibe.info in case of any further feedback or inquiries.

Kind regards from Berlin
Bart Beerkens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A group of colleagues and I stayed here for a night, due to a cancelled flight. Must say that the hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant and the staff stayed late in order to feed us. Overall, the staff were very helpful, booking taxis, and dealing with multiple requests from a large group of weary travellers.
When I got home,I realised I had left a jacket hanging in the wardrobe. I contacted the hotel, who found it and posted it back to me.
If I'm back in that part of Berlin again, I will definitely stay with HI Express and recommend it as a nice place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Augustine
Level Contributor
237 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Locate near Tegal airport we thought we had a shuttle, but if you need to leave before 06:30 you will have to get a cab at a cost of 12 euros. The room was very typical HI. They did not have shampoo in the bathroom, so if you want some, you better bring your own. Did not try breakfast as we had to leave before the restaurant opened at 06:30.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibcw, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. I would like to mention that we offer our guests a Body and hair shampoo in every bathroom of our guestrooms right beside the tub or shower. Unfortunately we are not able to provide a shuttle service before 06:30 a.m. due to personnel organisation. Our Shuttle to the Airport Tegel runs daily from 06:30 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.

We would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to have another chance of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Berlin.

Kind regards
Bart Beerkens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Been in that hotel for one night due to problems with my flight to get back to home. I must say that it is really near the airport which is big advantage but to get to the city and coming back if you are first time in Berlin is a nightmare. I advice to everyone to take a metro map from the room or ask in the reception, the stuff is very helpful and will tell you the best way to get to city center for a short sightseeing otherwise you can get lost. I did sadly.
About the hotel i liked the room it was spacious,nice and clean. The price also not too high. Stuff very kind and helpful. Didn't use hotel restaurant because of lack of the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibcw, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Loraine_12,

Thank you for your nice comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that in particular you found the staff very kind and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Berlin.

Kind regards to Paris,
Bart Beerkens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Spandau
Mercure Hotel Berlin City West
Days Inn Berlin West
#235 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Spandau
Centrovital Hotel Berlin
Centrovital Hotel Berlin
#166 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Central-Hotel Tegel
#508 of 634 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berlin City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berlin City-West

Property: Holiday Inn Berlin City-West
Address: Rohrdamm 80, 13629 Berlin, Germany (Formerly HI Berlin Esplanade)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Berlin City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the 4 star hotel HOLIDAY INN BERLIN CITY-WEST in Berlin. The hotel is located very close to the airport Tegel TXL, the fairground Messe Berlin and the ICC, the Kurfürstendamm in the city centre and castle Charlottenburg. Everything can be reached within 15 minutes by public transport. We also offer a shuttle service to the airport Tegel, daily from 06.30am until 10.00pm available on request. Just give us your flight details and we will pick you up. The modern 4-star-hotel - which is in close proximity to Siemens, BMW or Vattenfall headquarters - offers 336 comfortable double rooms and suites, including 247 non-smoking rooms. All rooms are equipped with LCD TV s, air conditioning, double-glazed windows, telephone, pay-TV, radio and WiFi & High Speed Internet Access.Relax in the indoor pool with sauna and our new fitness room. Our á la carte restaurant 'Il Faggio', the 'Kleene Kneipe', our little pub, or the 'Intermezzo' offer a wide range of regional and international specialities. 24h room service is available as well. Fourteen modern meeting rooms with natural daylight offer state of the art technical equipment - the best place to live your ideas hosting up to 900 delegates. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Berlin City-West ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Berlin City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West Hotel Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing