We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Castor / Small and Compact.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Ranked #221 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Its location is very good in Berlin, generally a quiet area with plenty of Bar's , Restaurants and specialized shops around. We booked the superior room for 4 days with breakfast. It is rated as a 4 star but it is certainly not. I would deem it 3 star+. Staff all over were most pleasant and accommodating. Downstairs the bar / breakfast area is comfortable. Breakfast is more than adequate and selection is good. However they overcook the scrambled eggs all the time. All the upstairs rooms are certainly on the small side. The superior room has a more modern bathroom but the shower area is far to small. Toiletries are scarce and € 5.50 for a small bottle of still water in the room is far too overpriced. Beds might require upgrading soon. No in-house movies which is a shame as English speaking channels total 2. Room rate was reasonable and my overall experience was good . I will recommend and return.

Room Tip: Select a superior room for that little bit more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dromod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorBerlin, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your feedback.

hopefully you join us next time again

many regards

Your Hotel Castor the Vine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 629 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were very pleased with the quality and cleanliness of the room, but I don't think it is a four-star hotel because typically there was only one person at the front desk. It was a very busy hotel and often there was a line of two or three customers waiting at the desk for help.

The hotel is also an 8 to 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippy406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in a superior room for six nights. There was not much difference from the standard room rate. Nice room with air conditioner and good sized bathroom with good shower.. Staff at the front desk and restaurant were also very good. The beds I did find to be hard, and the duvet would have been good for a room where the temperature was below freezing. We removed the duvets from their slip covers and slept under just the slip covers. I still much prefer a bed with regular sheets, blanket and bedspread

Room Tip: Would recommend the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesco1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorBerlin, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your feedback.

hopefully you join us next time again

many regards

Your Hotel Castor the Vine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Now second visit at this place, and still its far above average! For the price you pay - its almost unreal. Of course not everything is perfect. Elevator is slow and sometimes also the breakfast staff. But service and attitude is great! rooms tidy and well maintained. All in all - this place is a bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyLubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had selected this hotel as it was located off the Main road, as we did not wanted to be disturbed by the street noise. Since there are no special parking area for the guests. We were lucky to get a free space belonging to one of the residential buildings in the vicinity of the hotel. Our check - in was not quite smooth as the staff couldn't find our reservation initially. However it was understandable, as we used a third party for the booking. The room given to us was very small, not very airy and quite congested. Our 2 hand baggage took up the little available walking space that the room could offer. Breakfast was fine! and the staff was very polite and courteous. I would say its not meant for long stays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valenie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last moment to attend an event in the area and was one of the only one's in the area that was available so we were a little concerned as to what it would be like!
We were very pleasantly surprised. It was clean / friendly and in the perfect location. The rooms were cleaned every single day! free wifi for the length of our stay and a free safe to use in the room. The mini bar was a little over priced but with a store moments away there was no need to use it! The only very small criticism i would have is the room wasn't the biggest but then i didn't choose a "Superior" room. Overall Very happy and will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12MRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and the hotel has seen many improvements. The staff are friendly, helpful and polite.
The majority of rooms are on the small side so not ideal for long stays and there is no air conditioning so it can get a bit stuff. That said sure we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altrincham15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Mitte
Schoneberg
Quentin Design hotel
Quentin Design hotel
#320 of 633 in Berlin
491 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Ibis Berlin City West
#197 of 633 in Berlin
595 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum

Address: Fuggerstr. 8, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Castor)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Berlin
#166 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $68 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes by foot from the department store KaDeWe, Bikini Berlin and the famous Kurfurstendamm, our exceptionally friendly hotel is located rigth in the centre of the German capital. Berlin`s City West district, with its trade fair ground and numerous tourist attractions, is close at hand, as is the eastern part of the centre, where the famous Potsdamer Platz and the government buildings are located. Our 3-star hotel offers you 78 non-smoking rooms. Whether Standard, Superior or Privilege, all of our rooms are equipped with a flat screen TV, a free coffee/tea station and free Wi-Fi. Our extensive breakfast buffet has something for every taste. Visit our bar The Vine, open from 6pm to 1am, where you can take a break from shopping or get yourself in the mood for a night out with friends over a drink. We also serve snacks! Our friendly and competent hotel team is happy to help you 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandotel Castor Hotel Berlin
Scandotel Castor Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing