We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price for a Capital City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Gallery Berlin Hotel
Ranked #361 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
New Hampshire/Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Price for a Capital City”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When a single room in a hostel in Berlin can cost more than 50 Euro, it was great to have the tourist office book me a room in this hotel for 40 Euro/night. Breakfast would have been 9.50 Euro more, so I didn't add that on. Down the street just one block, on the way to the U Bahn, is a nice bakery where I got breakfast for less than 2 Euro. The room has been fine: good lighting, electric plug right at the desk, adequate shower - though I wish the water were hotter, fully controllable heat.

I needed some special help. I had to print out a document from the States, sign it, scan it, and send it back by e-mail. The front desk helped out with the printing and scanning without asking for any service fee.

Room Tip: I was given Room 5, a single, facing the back of the hotel. No street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewHampshireNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
34
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights, in a double room. The room was very clean, quiet, exactly what we were looking for. Breakfast was good, with a variety of dishes.
It's located in a residential area, so you have to take the U-Bahn to get to the animated places, there's no bars or (good) restaurants around. But it was fine for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrien53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a quiet hotel tucked away on a leafy street, just minutes away from the U Bahn so perfect for exploring Berlin. Reception staff were friendly. Room was a bit on the small side but it was clean and very comfortable. Excellent value and would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySudworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked the hotel about 2 moths before check in time. I had a good bargain for 138€ with breakfast for two nights and two persons. I called the receptionnist that i arrived at midnite, he told me there will be nobdoy at the reception but i could get my key in the box with the code that they gave me.
Traaallaaaa, magic! i found the box and opened it easily and enter my room on the 5th floor as i requested. Clean, new designed fournitures, with plasma tv, large the bath room. The next morning, i had an excellent breakfast, so much better than the breakfast in 3 stars hotel in Paris.
I may not be a difficult person, but i have no complain. Everything is perfect with its price, the location is not in the center of the city next to Ubahn Berliner's station. it is a Quietarea, there are 1 supermarket and 1 bar open late in the neighborhood. Yound crazy people is note recommended here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceane789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. It is located in a suburb, only 3 blocks away from to the subwaystation. For only €6,80 you get a dayticket for all of the Berlin public transportation, so no need to go by car. The hotel offers free parking space for their guests.
The area surrounding the hotel is very quiet and with good local ammenities. There is a little supermarket just round the corner. The hotel was a bit dated but spacious and clean . The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent.
The only thing that bothered me was the beds, they are of poor quality, so if you have backproblem dont sleep here.
I booked online and paid €150 for 3 nights which I felt was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumparound65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

When we booked the hotel on a special sale we were a bit scared as to what to expect as the price we paid per night was our lowest ever. Therefore we were pleasantly surprised! Spaceous rooms well equiped, good beds, nice bathroom, fabulous breakfast etc. Furthermore the location was excellent for our city trip. A quiet neighbourhood but 5 minutes walking from the U bahn station. In the end decided to add another day as we enjoyed the city and hotel so much! We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Ahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I stayed for 3 nights in the hotel Hanse. Although it is situated in a suburb it is only 3 blocks walk to the underground (5 mins). 3 stops on the underground and you are in central Berlin.The area is very quiet and quite affluent with good local ammenities. However not the place to stay if you are looking for a buzz or to be in the heart of things. The apartment was a bit dated but spacious and clean . The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. I booked online and paid £145 for 3 nights which i felt was very good value for money in Berlin.

Helpful?
3 Thank Garry05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Hotel Britzer Tor
Hotel Britzer Tor
#434 of 634 in Berlin
31 reviews
Citylight Hotel
#220 of 634 in Berlin
250 reviews
Hotel Carolinenhof
#336 of 634 in Berlin
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aga's Hotel
#480 of 634 in Berlin
126 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Stuttgarter Eck
Pension Stuttgarter Eck
#550 of 634 in Berlin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gallery Berlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gallery Berlin Hotel

Property: City Gallery Berlin Hotel
Address: Jenaer Str. 2, 10717 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gallery Berlin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Gallery Berlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanse City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing