We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to like it more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim proArte Hotel
Ranked #181 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I spent 3 nights at the Maritim Hotel attending a conference that was held in the hotel and I really wanted to like it more than I did but small irritants accumulated. Firstly, it was off putting to arrive and find that the lobby was completely taken over with preparation for a reception - possibly for a conference - but not the one that I was attending. There were no seats left just lots of tables and the whole area was roped off. I had trouble finding the elevators which were completely obscured.

My room when I finally got to it, was a pretty standard, modern hotel room. Very clean, nice bedding, marble bathroom, minibar and a well placed power outlet set into the desk area. It was only a single power outlet but so many hotels forget that the gadgets need plugging in and it is good to see a place that has given it some thought. I was almost ready to forgive the crowded lobby but....

I then went to lunch in the lobby restaurant along with what seemed like half of Berlin. It was absolute chaos when 2 conferences converged on the restaurant at the same time. So much so that people were actually shoving each other out of the way in an effort to get to the very cramped buffet area. Breakfast the next morning was a similar scene and in that case there were no free tables either so I left without bothering to try getting near the food. Surely they knew how many guests there would be and could reconfigure the buffet and the timings to make it less disordered.

I have left the truly irritating items until last. Firstly the gym is a disgrace for a modern hotel. A room hardly larger than my bathroom with 2 (count them!) machines, 1 treadmill and 1 elliptical. When I grumbled to one of the staff he suggested that I use the pool instead but I had packed gym gear not a bathing suit assuming that a hotel costing US$190/night would have a gym to match its prices. They also nickel and dime you with small extra charges which is even more irritating than the absurd gym. There are a few free TV channels and others that have an extra charge - a first for me in any hotel for non-porn offerings. If I didn't want to watch the news on 1 of 3 English language channels (CNN, Sky, Bloomberg) then I would have to pay for additional English channels. And to cap it off the internet was also charged. It wasn't expensive at $6-7/day, but there is no justification for having an additional cost with a tariff that high.

Overall, it seems that they are aiming at being a business hotel of choice but with practices ana amenities that are likely to discourage business clientele. Not good enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BPA, Manager at Maritim proArte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review at TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry, that your residence was not as pleasant as expected. According to your evaluation there were several things that made you upset.

In 11th February there was an big reception in our hotel which also held in the hotel lobby. This takes place once a year. We tried very hard to make it as comfortable as possible for our hotel guests but unfortunately we could so that they are not disturbed by this event but unfortunately it seems that we were not successful. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Referring to the chaotic situation you described at lunch and breakfast time in restaurant Galerie we will talk to our restaurant manager to plan an additional room when too many guests are expected.

Furthermore you criticized that our fitness area is not as big as other hotels offer it but the majority of our guests are ok with that. We are sorry that you did not think so.

Nevertheless we can understand that you are not satisfied with the service you received but we hope you give us another chance to prove our generally excellent service performance.
We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards
Maritim proArte Hotel



Roberto Klimsch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

staying there for 4 nights, the location is awusome!! its easy to get anywhere by foot, the train station in 1 walking from the hotem, the breakfast cost is high, but you have lot of thing to buy outside (dunkin dunats, starbakus and more)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BPA, General Manager at Maritim proArte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Mr. Eyal T.,

Thank you very much for your feedback at TripAdvisor, which makes us very happy.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim proArte Hotel Berlin maybe as regular guest soon.

With kind regards
Maritim proArte Hotel

Roberto Klimsch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay here. The rooms were fine and there were no issues at all. Overall the hotel needs refurbishing, this was last year, and the staff were very good in all areas, especially at breakfast which was very busy as there was a conference on at the time in the city. Good value and very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TutinsPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel had a great location on Friedrichstrasse, a short walk from the railway station and from the TXL bus from Tegel airport. Some of the main sights, such as the Brandenburg Gate, were within easy walking distance.

The room was a little on the small side, but not uncomfortably small, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was good, but could have done better on the toiletries and accessories. The only thing provided was a poor quality shower gel.

The staff were very welcoming, checking-in and checking out were very efficient.

The buffet breakfast offered a good choice, although you may have to go to the Starbucks opposite to get a decent cup of coffee.

The decor of the hotel in the reception and entrance areas was, as you might guess from the name, a brilliantly designed art gallery. However, the decor in the rooms was somewhat plain.

Overall the hotel offered reasonable value for money in a great central location.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BPA, Manager at Maritim proArte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear guest,

we are very happy about your review in Trip Advisor as well as for pointing out our advantages.
Thank you very much!
We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards
Maritim proArte Hotel



Roberto Klimsch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, near to train station. Train direct from Schoenefield airport. Room comfortable very light and airy. Checking in took no time at all and staff very helpful during entire stay. Lots of places to sit in order to relax after a day of touring. No hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. Did not have breakfast at hotel so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilianne610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BPA, Manager at Maritim proArte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear guest,

many thanks for your evaluation on trip advisor.
We are very content that you liked our hotel and the surrounding.

Concerning the costs for internet we will bring that into discussion with our headquarters.
The price for breakfast is equal to our competitors nearby and consequently market average.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again some day here in Berlin.

With kind regards
Maritim proArte Hotel



Roberto Klimsch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice hotel in a very good location. Very convenient to most of the attractions. Great for shopping. Good restaurants nearby. Good service. Nice rooms. Great value. Will stay again.
The negatives: breakfast is very expensive but plenty of places in the area where you can have excellent breakfast at a reasonable price. Also, no free wifi.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BPA, Manager at Maritim proArte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we thank you very much for your evaluation at Trip Advisor and your positive impression of our location.

Unfortunately you had a reason for complain about the fact of charging internet fees at all. Referring to your advice that the internet is overpriced as well as breakfast and beverages we have to comment that our prices are in conformity with the hotel market. Nevertheless we will review and compare.

Nevertheless we are very happy that you were satisfied with our service and rooms and we thank you for recommending us.

We hope you had a save and pleasant trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you back at the MARITIM proArte Hotel, whenever your next travel brings you to Berlin.

With kind regards
Maritim proArte Hotel



Roberto Klimsch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good location, but a few things to be aware of:
Firstly, although the web site claims there is a fitness centre...it's two cardio machines - so if the gym is important, avoid this hotel, or be prepared to walk 400 meters and pay €10/visit at fitness and friends (excellent facilities)
The breakfast is an all or nothing affair. If you only want a light bite - you still pay for full breakfast. There is a club room, but the 'free food' is so miserable (and stale) that it was empty both times I went in
The rooms have NO coffee making facilities and NO iron and iron board, irritating if you need either.
The rooms are too hot, (stayed in winter) and you may need to sleep with the windows open - so try to get a high floor to avoid the road noise.

Over all, the best I can say is it's not terrible, but equally, it's not very good!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Selltech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BPA, Manager at Maritim proArte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we thank you very much for your feedback at Trip Advisor.

Unfortunately our fitness area is not as big as other hotels offer it but the majority of our guests are ok with that. We are sorry that you did not think so.

Furthermore we offer our guests coffee making facilities as well as ironing equipment on request.

Nevertheless we hope you had a save and pleasant trip back home.

With kind regards
Maritim proArte Hotel



Roberto Klimsch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#64 of 634 in Berlin
1,995 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#117 of 634 in Berlin
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 634 in Berlin
5,337 reviews
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#75 of 634 in Berlin
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim proArte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim proArte Hotel

Address: Friedrichstr. 151 | Haupteingang Von Der Dorotheenstrasse, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#121 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#154 Business Hotel in Berlin
#168 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $87 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim proArte Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of Berlin, between the Brandenburg Gate and the Gendarmenmarkt, is a 4-star superior design hotel that is waiting to welcome you in Friedrichstrasse. Its modern architecture, harmonious design and expressive art create a unique environment. The splendid avenue "Unter den Linden" with its elegant shops is just a stone's throw away. Explore the "genuine" Berlin on foot, with its traditional pubs, fashionable restaurants and cultural highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim proArte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Proarte Berlin
Hotel Maritim Proarte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing