We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Georghof Hotel Berlin
Ranked #434 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the worst hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

1. the first night there was no hot shower till mid night.
2. the reception desk stuff was rude and impatient.
3. the water heater in the room is disgusting, old and dirty. i asked for replacement but they couldnt offer a new or cleaner one. very poor.
4. the lady at the reception desk on sunday morning was the worst hotel crew i have ever seen. She somehow misunderstood the other stranger having breakfast was with me and ordered me to pay for it upon checking out. Very rude and disrespectful. She didnt apologize for this neither.
5.noisy at night cause the traffic on the street next to the window is nonstopping.
DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU DONT NEED ANY HELP FROM THE CREW.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nekorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    50
    49
    14
    21
See reviews for
9
44
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oppegard
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel was dirt cheap and I had no great expectations.However I find it quite nice.The girls in the reception were sympathetic.Breakfast was OK.The trains didn't bother me although they drove by just outside the window. Typically East-Berlin neighborhood but not bad at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjelloslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Pluses: I stayed at Georghof hostel, nearby Georghof hotel, because there wasn't free rooms at hotel. It is old-fashioned, but cozy. Room was not big, but there were enough space for big luggage, putting and hanging other stuff or clothes. There wasn't sink in the room, but clean and warm dush and wc room was only few steps from the room. There were 2 clean towels and small shampoo. The U and S-bahn station Frankfurter Allee is only 5 minutes away, it is near big shopping center Ring.
You must pay 15 euros deposite for the key, but it is returned without problems during check-out. You must not leave the key at reception - very good. There is a lift, very convinient. Stuff is very kind and helpful.

Minuses: the photos of hostel, published online, in reality are taken in hotel. No internet acsess in hostel, despite it is written it is. Very noisy outside, because S-bahn line goes only few metres from hostel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saulejanusonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

12 trains an hour, day and night so i cannot recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2008

The hotel was really nice!
I had read the reviews here and to be frank I expected worse.

Concerning the noisy S-bahn, I'd like to say that we were put on the 2nd floor (that is in the same height as the S-bahn train), but our room was in the front side of the building, and so the noise was negligible. My guess is that rooms in the back of the building have some more amount of noise because the S-bahn line is behind the hotel. But my experience in a few words: no problem with the S-bahn.

The rooms were very clean, and not small at all!
The breakfast was very nice.

Disadvantages for me:
a) I'd prefer the room was a little bit more warm (wasn't cold but I come from a warmer country),
b) The flow of water in the shower was a bit low.
c) While the bed was double like we ordered, the mattress wasn't one double, but 2 singles!!!

I stayed 5 nights at the hotel in room 209 and I got to say that it is excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Clean-ness
  • Disliked — would like it a bit warmer
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lefteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Only for railway fans. Stayed on first floor. Trains passing your window - room shakes - till late at night and then first thing in morning. Sleep almost impossible. Luckily staying only one night otherwise would have ended up a gibbering wreck.

Complained and asked for reduction, Response was short and to the point - tough!.

Not to be repeated.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Orielpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I enjoyed my stay a lot. The trasport links were excellent, the area was good(near a good commercial centre)..It was easy to get to the centre and tha staff was really kind!Good also rooms and food..at a very convenient price!And then,Berlin is a wonderful city..

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#128 of 634 in Berlin
366 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Friedrichshain
BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#345 of 634 in Berlin
34 reviews
Friedrichshain
Almodovar Hotel
Almodovar Hotel
#145 of 634 in Berlin
545 reviews
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#250 of 634 in Berlin
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georghof Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georghof Hotel Berlin

Property: Georghof Hotel Berlin
Address: Guertelstr. 40- 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #434 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georghof Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel in Berlin perfect for staying overnight whether for business or pleasure on vacation or any other reason for visiting berlin and its many congresses and attractions. With 60 single and double rooms very accomodating in the attractive style of 19th century Biedemeier. Located centrally in the Gürtelstrasse 41, 10247 Berlin, next to the Frankfurter Allee train station it is a short distance to the many attraction such as the brandenburger tor, the east side gallery or the berghain for party people. With a lift, wireless lan, hotel parking, fitness lounge, as well as a very complete breakfast buffet a stay at the Georghof Hotel is always a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georghof Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Georghof And Hostel
Berlin Georghof Hotel Berlin
Tulip Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing